Active Report Report ID: EDU-450377-2026

Strayer University-Alabama

Birmingham, AL 35203

Tuition$13,920Published sticker
Avg. net price$22,923After aid
Median salary$40,09210yr post-entry
ROI337%10yr vs net cost

About Strayer University-Alabama

Strayer University-Alabama is a private for-profit university in Birmingham, Alabama, enrolling about 1,196 students. Strayer University-Alabama awards degrees and certificates tracked in federal College Scorecard and IPEDS reporting. Published tuition for full-time study is about $13,920 per year before aid; net price varies by family income. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $40,092 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • Strayer University-Alabama charges 16% below the national private for-profit median tuition ($13,920).
  • Versus the Alabama median, sticker tuition is 39% above.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $40,092.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at Strayer University-Alabama is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 337% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Strayer University-Alabama$13,920$22,9231
Private For-profit (national median)$16,637477
Alabama (state median)$10,024$10,72163
Suburban (locale median)$13,135$18,048684
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

How expensive is Strayer University-Alabama really?

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • Strayer University-Alabama charges 16% below the national private for-profit median tuition ($13,920).
  • Versus the Alabama median, sticker tuition is 39% above.
Published sticker

Strayer University-Alabama tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $13,920

Finding Strayer University-Alabama charges 16% below the national private for-profit median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $13,920. That is 16% below the national private for-profit median ($16,637). Versus the Alabama median ($10,024), sticker tuition is 39% above. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is 17% above.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to private for-profit and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at Strayer University-Alabama versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at Strayer University-Alabama versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at Strayer University-Alabama is $22,923.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $22,923 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $12,202 above the Alabama median net price. Versus suburban campuses, net price runs $4,875 above the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway At Strayer University-Alabama, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.

School guide

Strayer University-Alabama: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Strayer University-Alabama—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

Median earnings should be read with net price, debt, and completion—not as a standalone quality score.

Financial profile

Annual tuition

$13,920

Avg. net price

$22,923

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $55,680. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

$36,582Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Is Strayer University-Alabama a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Strayer University-Alabama is a good school for those looking for strong graduate earnings outcomes in College Scorecard data.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Strayer University-Alabama.

Campus

Location

Birmingham, AL

City / state

ZIP
35203
NCES locale
Suburb

Compared with Suburban campuses nationally, net price is 27% above the median for Suburban campuses ($18,048 median).

Control

Institution type

Private For-profit

Control

Region
Southeast
Carnegie
Baccalaureate Colleges: Arts & Sciences Focus

Size

Enrollment

1,196

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
1,664
Graduate
133
Full-time share
3%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$40,621

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
85.20%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$91,692Estimated 4-year total cost
$22,923Average annual net price (after aid)
$55,6804-year tuition
$9,438Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$675Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$24,033Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$96,132Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Strayer University-Alabama.

Financial Aid by Income Level

85.20% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
90.97% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Strayer University-Alabama was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Strayer University-Alabama in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$15,495$15,495$29,771
2014$12,975$12,975$31,499
2015$12,975$12,975$28,979
2016$12,975$12,975
2017$13,857$13,857$24,836
2018$13,380$13,380$22,452
2019$13,515$13,515$24,593
2020$13,515$13,515$23,379
2021$13,515$13,515$21,339
2022$13,515$13,515
2023$13,920$13,920$22,923

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.

Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.

Test Scores

Test score data is not available for this institution.

Score distribution is not available for this institution.

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Strayer University-Alabama reported total enrollment of about 1,196 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 19% male and 81% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes Black or African American (69.1%), White (25.2%), and Two or More Races (2.6%). About 85.20% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 53.7% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

2.9% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Strayer University-Alabama in 2024 is 1,196 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 1,664 students. Graduate enrollment is about 133 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

N/A%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

69.1%Black or African American
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • Black or African American69.1%
  • White or Caucasian25.2%
  • Two or More Races2.6%
  • Hispanic or Latino1.2%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.8%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown0.8%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.2%
  • Asian0.1%
  • Non-Resident Alien0.0%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

0.00% 100% Completion Time

0.00% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 0.00% of students graduating from Strayer University-Alabama completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Business/Commerce, General: 17% male / 83% female
  • Information Technology: 65% male / 35% female
  • Criminal Justice/Law Enforcement Administration: 33% male / 67% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

139Black or African American
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • Black or African American139
  • White or Caucasian50
  • Hispanic or Latino6
  • American Indian or Alaska Native6
  • Two or More Races6
  • Asian0
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

Strayer University-Alabama graduates earn a median of $40,092 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Strayer University-Alabama.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $40,092. Median federal loan debt: $40,621. Average net price used in cost models: $22,923.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway Strayer University-Alabama graduates report median earnings of $40,092 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

337%Modeled return on investment
$40,621Median student debt
$40,092Median annual earnings (10 years)
101.32%Debt-to-earnings ratio
10.1 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Strayer University-Alabama.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (17 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Educational Administration and Supervision, Other 4

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Strayer University-Alabama.

Employment Outcomes

$40,092Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$36,582Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$37,064Median earnings (8 years after entry)
81.09%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Strayer University-Alabama graduates.

Institutional resources

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Strayer University-Alabama—instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 14.8%
    • Alabama median 34.4 pp below median (49.2%)
    • Southeast median 44.6 pp below median (59.4%)
    • U.S. median 43.1 pp below median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $8,381
    • Alabama median 1.1× the median ($7,502)
    • Southeast median 1.2× the median ($6,825)
    • U.S. median 1.1× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $1,748
    • Alabama median 0.24× the median ($7,192)
    • Southeast median 0.26× the median ($6,602)
    • U.S. median 0.24× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Scorecard instructional metrics where reported.

Strayer University-Alabama at a glance

Institution snapshot

Strayer University-Alabama

Birmingham, AL 35203 · Private For-profit · Southeast

Strayer University-Alabama is a private for-profit institution in Birmingham, AL, classified as Baccalaureate Colleges: Arts & Sciences Focus.

Tuition$13,920
Avg. net price$22,923
Enrollment1,196
Pell Grant share85.20%
First-generation53.7%
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Business/Commerce, GeneralInformation TechnologyCriminal Justice/Law Enforcement Administration
Largest enrollment groups
Black or African American69.1%
White or Caucasian25.2%
Two or More Races2.6%
Opportunity College (2025)
Higher access & higher earnings · Browse OCU directory
Nearby

Schools near Strayer University-Alabama

Other campuses in Birmingham, AL when available, plus nearby institutions in Alabama.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade D) within Alabama, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Strayer University-Alabama located?

Strayer University-Alabama is located in Birmingham, AL.

What is Strayer University-Alabama's tuition?

Strayer University-Alabama tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $13,920 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $22,923 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does Strayer University-Alabama cost?

Reported tuition is $13,920 and average net price is $22,923 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $9,438 annually.

What is the student body demographics at Strayer University-Alabama?

Strayer University-Alabama reports undergraduate enrollment of about 1,664 students, Black or African American (69.1%), White (25.2%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend Strayer University-Alabama?

About 53.7% of students at Strayer University-Alabama are first-generation college students.

What do graduates of Strayer University-Alabama earn?

Median earnings are $36,582 six years after entry and $40,092 ten years after entry.

How much debt do Strayer University-Alabama students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $40,621.

Is Strayer University-Alabama public or private?

Strayer University-Alabama is a private for-profit institution located in Birmingham, AL.

Is Strayer University-Alabama an HBCU?

No. Strayer University-Alabama is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.

Is Strayer University-Alabama a tribal college?

No. Strayer University-Alabama is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.

Is Strayer University-Alabama a Hispanic-serving institution (HSI)?

Using a 25% Hispanic enrollment threshold on College Scorecard demographics, Strayer University-Alabama does not meet that proxy (reported share 1.2%).

Is Strayer University-Alabama religiously affiliated?

No religious affiliation is reported for Strayer University-Alabama in IPEDS institutional characteristics.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.