Active Report Report ID: EDU-230816-2026

Bennington College

Bennington, VT 05201-6003

Acceptance rate44.53%Selective
Tuition$66,262Published sticker
Avg. net price$30,947After aid
Graduation rate71.21%150% time
Median salary$38,28910yr post-entry

About Bennington College

Bennington College is a private research university in Bennington, Vermont, enrolling about 780 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 44.53% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $38,289 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • Bennington College charges about 2.3× the national private non-profit median tuition ($66,262).
  • Versus the Vermont median, sticker tuition is 36% above.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 71.21%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $38,289.

Research findings

01

Finding

Average net price at Bennington College is about 53% below published tuition.

Published tuition is $66,262; average net price is $30,947 in the latest Scorecard extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: Institutional aid and grants compress sticker price into a substantially lower typical undergraduate cost signal.

Limitation: Average net price masks variation by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the campus average.

02

Finding

Modeled return on investment at Bennington College is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 209% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

03

Finding

Bennington College awards credentials across a wide program mix.

IPEDS completions cover more than 54 distinct degree programs at this campus.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: Institutional averages blend very different fields; program-level completions and earnings matter more than the campus mean alone.

Limitation: Completions counts are not enrollment demand and do not measure program quality.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Bennington College$66,262$30,9471
Private Non-profit (national median)$29,3251,444
Vermont (state median)$48,79510
Town (locale median)$9,600$14,9711,517
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

Average net price is 53% below published tuition at Bennington College

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • Bennington College's average net price ($30,947) is 53% below published tuition ($66,262).
  • Bennington College charges about 2.3× the national private non-profit median tuition ($66,262).
  • Versus the Vermont median, sticker tuition is 36% above.
Published sticker

Bennington College tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $66,262

Finding Bennington College charges about 2.3× the national private non-profit median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $66,262. That is about 2.3× the national private non-profit median ($29,325). Versus the Vermont median ($48,795), sticker tuition is 36% above. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 5.6×.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to private non-profit and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at Bennington College versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at Bennington College versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at Bennington College is $30,947.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $30,947 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). Versus town campuses, net price runs $15,976 above the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway Bennington College’s published tuition substantially overstates typical undergraduate cost: average net price is about 53% lower after grants and scholarships.

School guide

Bennington College: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Bennington College—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

Completion, earnings, and net price together describe a campus where sticker price overstates typical undergraduate cost while outcomes remain at the high end of Scorecard distributions.

Financial profile

Annual tuition

$66,262

Avg. net price

$30,947

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$18,480
$30,001–$48,000$18,012
$48,001–$75,000$22,336
$75,001–$110,000$25,508
$110,001+$44,625

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $265,048. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention82.0%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$24,711Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Admissions landscape

  • Selective — about half of applicants (or fewer) are admitted.
  • Yield: 16% of admitted students enrolled.
  • Average SAT: 1364

See Admissions for the full funnel.

Is Bennington College a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Bennington College is a good school for those looking for strong completion and solid mid-career earnings—especially where average net price sits well below published tuition (about 53% lower in this extract).

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Strong completionEarnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Bennington College.

Campus

Location

Bennington, VT

City / state

ZIP
05201-6003
NCES locale
Town distant

Compared with Town campuses nationally, net price is about 2.1× the median for Town campuses ($14,971 median).

Control

Institution type

Private Non-profit

Control

Region
New England
Carnegie
Baccalaureate Colleges: Diverse Fields

Size

Enrollment

780

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
857
Graduate
130
Full-time share
98%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$26,000

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
25.27%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$123,788Estimated 4-year total cost
$30,947Average annual net price (after aid)
$265,0484-year tuition
$19,108Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$2,000Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$87,370Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$349,480Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Bennington College.

Financial Aid by Income Level

25.27% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
50.40% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Bennington College was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Bennington College in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$45,080$45,080$29,960
2014$46,667$46,667$27,901
2015$48,220$48,220$31,774
2016$50,100$50,100$32,451
2017$51,920$51,920$29,815
2018$53,860$53,860$29,386
2019$55,950$55,950$29,325
2020$58,124$58,124$30,741
2021$59,638$59,638$28,502
2022$61,448$61,448$29,787
2023$64,644$64,644$31,918

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

44.53%Acceptance rate
2,825Total applicants
1,357Students admitted
216First-time students enrolled
15.92%Yield (enrolled ÷ admitted)

This institution is selective, accepting about half of all applicants.

Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.

Test Scores

1364SAT average

Scores for enrollees who submitted tests (College Scorecard).

Academic Requirements

3.60Estimated median GPA
3.5–3.7Estimated GPA range

Estimated from admission selectivity and test scores. Scorecard does not publish admitted-student GPA for most institutions.

Estimated GPA band from selectivity and test scores — not an official requirement.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Bennington College reported total enrollment of about 780 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 27% male and 73% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (64.5%), Non-Resident Alien (11.8%), and Hispanic or Latino (9.0%). About 25.27% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 12.6% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

97.6% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Bennington College in 2024 is 780 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 857 students. Graduate enrollment is about 130 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

82.0%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

64.5%White or Caucasian
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • White or Caucasian64.5%
  • Non-Resident Alien11.8%
  • Hispanic or Latino9.0%
  • Two or More Races6.0%
  • Black or African American4.1%
  • Asian2.3%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown2.1%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.3%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.0%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

60.61% 100% Completion Time

71.21% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 60.61% of students graduating from Bennington College completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • English Language and Literature/Letters, Other: 20% male / 80% female
  • Visual and Performing Arts, General: 33% male / 67% female
  • General Literature: 33% male / 67% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

155White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian155
  • Hispanic or Latino21
  • Two or More Races6
  • Black or African American4
  • Asian4
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

Bennington College graduates earn a median of $38,289 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Bennington College.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $38,289. Median federal loan debt: $26,000. Average net price used in cost models: $30,947.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway Bennington College graduates report median earnings of $38,289 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

209%Modeled return on investment
$26,000Median student debt
$38,289Median annual earnings (10 years)
67.90%Debt-to-earnings ratio
6.8 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Bennington College.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (54 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. English Language and Literature/Letters, Other 40
  2. Visual and Performing Arts, General 27
  3. General Literature 18
  4. Creative Writing 10
  5. Community Organization and Advocacy 8
  6. Dance, General 8

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Bennington College.

Employment Outcomes

$38,289Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$24,711Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$39,270Median earnings (8 years after entry)
56.28%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Bennington College graduates.

How financially powerful is this institution?

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Bennington College—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Institutional endowment

$40.7M

End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023

Start of year: $36M

Year change: $4.7M

  • Vermont median near the median ($40.7M)
  • New England median 0.95× the median ($42.9M)
  • U.S. median 1.5× the median ($26.4M)

Per FTE: $45,378

  • Vermont median 0.75× the median ($60,300)
  • New England median 2.0× the median ($23,268)
  • U.S. median 3.8× the median ($12,100)

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 41.2%
    • Vermont median 48.3 pp below median (89.5%)
    • New England median 12.0 pp below median (53.3%)
    • U.S. median 16.7 pp below median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $10,055
    • Vermont median 1.1× the median ($9,285)
    • New England median 1.1× the median ($9,262)
    • U.S. median 1.3× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $23,573
    • Vermont median 1.6× the median ($14,634)
    • New England median 2.3× the median ($10,182)
    • U.S. median 3.2× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Bennington College at a glance

Institution snapshot

Bennington College

Bennington, VT 05201-6003 · Private Non-profit · New England

Bennington College is a private non-profit institution in Bennington, VT, classified as Baccalaureate Colleges: Diverse Fields.

Tuition$66,262
Avg. net price$30,947
Enrollment780
Acceptance rate44.53%
Completion (150%)71.21%
Average SAT1364
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
English Language and Literature/Letters, OtherVisual and Performing Arts, GeneralGeneral Literature
Largest enrollment groups
White or Caucasian64.5%
Non-Resident Alien11.8%
Hispanic or Latino9.0%
Nearby

Schools near Bennington College

Other campuses in Bennington, VT when available, plus nearby institutions in Vermont.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade C) within Vermont, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Bennington College located?

Bennington College is located in Bennington, VT.

What is Bennington College's acceptance rate?

The acceptance rate at Bennington College is 44.5% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 2,825 applicants and 1,357 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.

What is Bennington College's tuition?

Bennington College tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $66,262 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $30,947 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does Bennington College cost?

Reported tuition is $66,262 and average net price is $30,947 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $19,108 annually.

Why is Bennington College's net price so much lower than tuition?

At Bennington College, published tuition is $66,262 while average net price is $30,947—about 53% lower. Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid (College Scorecard). Institutional aid therefore compresses sticker price into a lower typical undergraduate cost signal. The campus average still masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average. EDsmart Data treats the sticker–net gap as an analytical finding, not advice about individual aid offers.

What explains Bennington College's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($30,947), completion (71.2% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($38,289). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at Bennington College?

Bennington College reports undergraduate enrollment of about 857 students, White (64.5%), Non-Resident Alien (11.8%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend Bennington College?

About 12.6% of students at Bennington College are first-generation college students.

What test scores do students need for Bennington College?

Among enrolled students who submitted scores, Bennington College reports midpoint SAT about 1364.

What do graduates of Bennington College earn?

Median earnings are $24,711 six years after entry and $38,289 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at Bennington College?

The 150%-time completion rate is 71.2% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do Bennington College students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $26,000.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.