Community College of Vermont
Montpelier, VT 05602
About Community College of Vermont
Community College of Vermont is a public community college in Montpelier, Vermont, serving roughly 2,841 students. The college offers associate degrees, career certificates, and transfer pathways to four-year universities. Typical net price after grant aid is about $13,696 for students who receive it, compared with published tuition near $6,920. Student demographics in federal data include White (79.4%) and Two or More Races (4.9%) among the largest enrollment groups.
Key findings
- Community College of Vermont charges 26% above the national public median tuition ($6,920).
- Versus the Vermont median, sticker tuition is about 0.1×.
- Completion within 150% of normal time is 19.63%.
- Median earnings 10 years after entry are $36,234.
Research findings
Finding
Modeled return on investment at Community College of Vermont is strong.
Estimated ROI reaches about 561% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.
Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.
Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.
Cost benchmarks
| Benchmark | Median Tuition | Median Net Price | Count |
|---|---|---|---|
| Community College of Vermont | $6,920 | $13,696 | 1 |
| Public (national median) | $5,512 | — | 1,688 |
| Vermont (state median) | $48,795 | — | 10 |
| United States (national median) | $11,900 | $17,156 | — |
Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.
How expensive is Community College of Vermont really?
Key findings
- Community College of Vermont charges 26% above the national public median tuition ($6,920).
- Versus the Vermont median, sticker tuition is about 0.1×.
Community College of Vermont tuition
Published undergraduate tuition $6,920
Finding Community College of Vermont charges 26% above the national public median tuition.
Evidence Published tuition is $6,920. That is 26% above the national public median ($5,512). Versus the Vermont median ($48,795), sticker tuition is about 0.1×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 0.6×.
Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.
Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.
Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.
Evidence: published tuition at Community College of Vermont versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.
Evidence: average net price at Community College of Vermont versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.
What undergraduates typically pay
Finding Average net price at Community College of Vermont is $13,696.
Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $13,696 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates).
Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.
Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.
Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.
Key takeaway At Community College of Vermont, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.
Community College of Vermont: research record
Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Community College of Vermont—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.
Research findings
Interpretation
The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.
Financial profile
In-state tuition
$6,920
Out-of-state tuition
$13,640
Avg. net price
$13,696
Net price by family income
| Income bracket | Avg. annual net price |
|---|---|
| $0–$30,000 | $12,373 |
| $30,001–$48,000 | $12,719 |
| $48,001–$75,000 | $14,430 |
| $75,001–$110,000 | $18,658 |
| $110,001+ | $20,373 |
Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $27,680. See cost investigation.
Student outcomes
Share of first-year students returning the following fall.
Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.
What Community College of Vermont is known for
Top program completions
- Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal Studies114
- Early Childhood Education & Teaching90
- Business/Commerce, General57
- Health Professions and Related Programs55
- Public Administration and Social Service54
See earnings & programs for more.
Is Community College of Vermont a good school?
Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.
Community College of Vermont is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.
EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.
More from the data
Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Community College of Vermont.
Campus
Location
Montpelier, VT
City / state
- ZIP
- 05602
Control
Institution type
Public
Control
- Region
- New England
- Carnegie
- Associate's Colleges: Mixed Transfer/Vocational & Technical-High Nontraditional
Size
Enrollment
2,841
Total enrollment
- Undergraduate
- 9,056
- Full-time share
- 20%
Student aid
Debt & aid
$10,491
Median federal loan debt
- Pell grant share
- 29.50%
Total Cost, Aid & Default
Total Cost of Attendance
Tuition vs average net price after aid for Community College of Vermont.
Financial Aid by Income Level
Financial aid distribution by income level.
Student Loan Default Rate
The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Community College of Vermont was 0.00%.
Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.
Tuition tracker
Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Community College of Vermont in that year.
Reporting years in the table below: 2013–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).
| Year | In-state tuition & fees | Out-of-state tuition & fees | Average net price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2013 | $5,668 | $11,236 | $10,159 |
| 2014 | $5,886 | $11,622 | $10,856 |
| 2015 | $6,054 | $11,958 | $11,028 |
| 2016 | $6,222 | $12,294 | $10,929 |
| 2017 | $6,414 | $12,678 | $11,012 |
| 2018 | $7,120 | $14,090 | $10,873 |
| 2019 | $6,654 | $13,398 | $10,798 |
| 2020 | $6,920 | $13,640 | $10,061 |
| 2021 | $6,920 | $13,640 | $10,113 |
| 2022 | $6,920 | $13,600 | $9,734 |
| 2023 | $3,560 | $13,640 | $10,599 |
Sticker tuition and net price over time
Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.
College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).
Net price by family income
Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).
Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.
How difficult is it to get in?
Acceptance Rate
Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.
Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.
Test Scores
Test score data is not available for this institution.
Score distribution is not available for this institution.
Academic Requirements
GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.
Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.
Enrollment & Student Demographics
Community College of Vermont reported total enrollment of about 2,841 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 27% male and 73% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (79.4%), Two or More Races (4.9%), and Black or African American (4.5%). About 29.50% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 50.7% of students are first-generation college students.
Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment
19.8% Full-Time Enrollment
The total enrollment at Community College of Vermont in 2024 is 2,841 students.
Undergraduate enrollment is about 9,056 students.
Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.
Retention Rate over Time
49.0%
2024 Retention Rate
Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.
Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.
Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity
Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.
College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).
Do students complete their programs?
Time to Complete
11.68% 100% Completion Time
19.63% 150% Completion Time
In 2024, 11.68% of students graduating from Community College of Vermont completed their program within 100% "normal time".
Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.
Completions by Sex (Top Programs)
- Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal Studies: 37% male / 63% female
- Early Childhood Education & Teaching: 3% male / 97% female
- Business/Commerce, General: 39% male / 61% female
IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).
Completions by Race & Ethnicity
Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.
Summed across program completion records in our extract.
Community College of Vermont graduates earn a median of $36,234 ten years after entry
Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Community College of Vermont.
Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $36,234. Median federal loan debt: $10,491. Average net price used in cost models: $13,696.
Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.
Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.
Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.
Key takeaway Community College of Vermont graduates report median earnings of $36,234 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.
Return on Investment
Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Community College of Vermont.
Top Programs by Completions
Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (34 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).
IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Community College of Vermont.
Employment Outcomes
Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Community College of Vermont graduates.
Institutional resources
Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Community College of Vermont—instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.
Instructional Resources
- Instructional expenditure per FTE: $3,529
- Vermont median 0.24× the median ($14,634)
- New England median 0.35× the median ($10,182)
- U.S. median 0.48× the median ($7,288)
Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.
Scorecard instructional metrics where reported.
Community College of Vermont at a glance
Community College of Vermont
Community College of Vermont is a public institution in Montpelier, VT, classified as Associate's Colleges: Mixed Transfer/Vocational & Technical-High Nontraditional.
- Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
- Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal StudiesEarly Childhood Education & TeachingBusiness/Commerce, General
- Largest enrollment groups
- White or Caucasian79.4%Two or More Races4.9%Black or African American4.5%
Schools near Community College of Vermont
Other campuses in Montpelier, VT when available, plus nearby institutions in Vermont.
Similar schools
Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade F) within Vermont, then by similar ownership and admissions.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where is Community College of Vermont located?
Community College of Vermont is located in Montpelier, VT.
What is Community College of Vermont's tuition?
Community College of Vermont tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $6,920 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $13,696 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.
How much does Community College of Vermont cost?
Reported tuition is $6,920 and average net price is $13,696 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $14,247 annually.
What explains Community College of Vermont's return on investment in EDsmart Data?
EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($13,696), completion (19.6% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($36,234). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.
What is the student body demographics at Community College of Vermont?
Community College of Vermont reports undergraduate enrollment of about 9,056 students, White (79.4%), Two or More Races (4.9%) in federal College Scorecard data.
How many first-generation students attend Community College of Vermont?
About 50.7% of students at Community College of Vermont are first-generation college students.
What do graduates of Community College of Vermont earn?
Median earnings are $37,362 six years after entry and $36,234 ten years after entry.
What is the graduation rate at Community College of Vermont?
The 150%-time completion rate is 19.6% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.
How much debt do Community College of Vermont students have?
Median federal loan debt among completers is $10,491.
Is Community College of Vermont public or private?
Community College of Vermont is a public institution located in Montpelier, VT.
Is Community College of Vermont an HBCU?
No. Community College of Vermont is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.
Is Community College of Vermont a tribal college?
No. Community College of Vermont is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.
Data Sources
This page uses data from the following sources:
- College Scorecard - U.S. Department of Education
- Institutional characteristics, costs, completion rates, and earnings data
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)
- Employment and wage data by occupation
- Latest data: May 2024
- Source: bls.gov/oes
- O*NET Online - U.S. Department of Labor
- Occupational skills, knowledge, abilities, and work activities
- Database version: 28.0 (August 2023)
- Source: onetcenter.org
- IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) - National Center for Education Statistics
- Institutional data, completions, enrollment, and financial aid
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: nces.ed.gov/ipeds
- Census Bureau American Community Survey (ACS)
- Demographic and workforce data
- Latest data: 2023 ACS 5-Year Estimates
- Source: census.gov/acs
- Related geography & profiles
Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.
Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.
Methodology & Data Scope
This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.
Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.