Berkeley School of Theology
Berkeley, CA 94704-3029
About Berkeley School of Theology
Berkeley School of Theology is a private trade and vocational school in Berkeley, California, enrolling about 17 students. Programs focus on certificates and workforce credentials that prepare students for skilled trades and technical careers. Published tuition for full-time study starts near $2,856 before fees and financial aid. Student demographics in federal data include Hispanic or Latino (52.9%) and Black or African American (23.5%) among the largest enrollment groups.
Key findings
- Versus the California median, sticker tuition is about 0.4×.
Cost benchmarks
| Benchmark | Median Tuition | Median Net Price | Count |
|---|---|---|---|
| Berkeley School of Theology | $2,856 | — | 1 |
| Private Non-profit (national median) | $29,325 | — | 1,444 |
| California (state median) | $8,093 | $8,343 | 287 |
| Suburban (locale median) | $13,135 | $18,048 | 684 |
| United States (national median) | $11,900 | $17,156 | — |
Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.
How expensive is Berkeley School of Theology really?
Key findings
- Berkeley School of Theology charges about 0.1× the national private non-profit median tuition ($2,856).
- Versus the California median, sticker tuition is about 0.4×.
Berkeley School of Theology tuition
Published undergraduate tuition $2,856
Finding Berkeley School of Theology charges about 0.1× the national private non-profit median tuition.
Evidence Published tuition is $2,856. That is about 0.1× the national private non-profit median ($29,325). Versus the California median ($8,093), sticker tuition is about 0.4×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 0.2×.
Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.
Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to private non-profit and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.
Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.
Evidence: published tuition at Berkeley School of Theology versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.
Berkeley School of Theology: research record
Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Berkeley School of Theology—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.
Research findings
Interpretation
Selectivity describes competition for seats—not outcomes for enrolled students.
Financial profile
Annual tuition
$2,856
Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $11,424. See cost investigation.
What Berkeley School of Theology is known for
Top program completions
- Christian Studies6
- Theology/Theological Studies6
- Divinity/Ministry5
- Theology and Religious Vocations, Other2
See earnings & programs for more.
Admissions landscape
- Broad access — most applicants are admitted.
- Yield: 59% of admitted students enrolled.
See Admissions for the full funnel.
Is Berkeley School of Theology a good school?
Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.
Berkeley School of Theology is a good school for those looking at admissions access patterns in Scorecard data—outcomes still depend on completion, earnings, and cost.
EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.
More from the data
Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Berkeley School of Theology.
Campus
Location
Berkeley, CA
City / state
- ZIP
- 94704-3029
- NCES locale
- Suburb
Compared with Suburban campuses nationally, tuition is about 0.2× the median for Suburban campuses.
Control
Institution type
Private Non-profit
Control
- Region
- Far West
- Carnegie
- Special Focus Four-Year: Other Health Professions Schools
Size
Enrollment
17
Total enrollment
- Undergraduate
- 65
- Graduate
- 91
- Full-time share
- 0%
Student aid
Debt & aid
- Pell grant share
- 0.00%
Total Cost, Aid & Default
Total Cost of Attendance
Tuition vs average net price after aid for Berkeley School of Theology.
Financial Aid by Income Level
Financial aid distribution by income level.
Student Loan Default Rate
The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Berkeley School of Theology was 0.00%.
Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.
Tuition tracker
Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Berkeley School of Theology in that year.
Reporting years in the table below: 2022–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).
| Year | In-state tuition & fees | Out-of-state tuition & fees | Average net price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022 | $2,896 | $2,896 | — |
| 2023 | $2,896 | $2,896 | — |
Sticker tuition and net price over time
Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.
College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).
Net price by family income
Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).
Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.
How difficult is it to get in?
Acceptance Rate
This institution has a moderate acceptance rate, accepting most qualified applicants.
Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.
Test Scores
Test score data is not available for this institution.
Score distribution is not available for this institution.
Academic Requirements
GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.
Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.
Enrollment & Student Demographics
Berkeley School of Theology reported total enrollment of about 17 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 47% male and 53% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes Hispanic or Latino (52.9%), Black or African American (23.5%), and Asian (11.8%).
Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment
0.0% Full-Time Enrollment
The total enrollment at Berkeley School of Theology in 2024 is 17 students.
Undergraduate enrollment is about 65 students. Graduate enrollment is about 91 students.
Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.
Retention Rate over Time
N/A%
2024 Retention Rate
Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.
Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.
Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity
Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.
College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).
Do students complete their programs?
Time to Complete
0.00% 100% Completion Time
0.00% 150% Completion Time
In 2024, 0.00% of students graduating from Berkeley School of Theology completed their program within 100% "normal time".
Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.
Completions by Sex (Top Programs)
- Christian Studies: 67% male / 33% female
- Theology/Theological Studies: 50% male / 50% female
- Divinity/Ministry: 80% male / 20% female
IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).
Completions by Race & Ethnicity
Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.
Summed across program completion records in our extract.
What do Berkeley School of Theology graduates earn—and in which programs?
Financial value and program completions for Berkeley School of Theology from College Scorecard and IPEDS extracts.
Return on Investment
ROI data is not available for this institution.
Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Berkeley School of Theology.
Top Programs by Completions
Largest 4 programs by IPEDS completions (5 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).
IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Berkeley School of Theology.
Employment Outcomes
Employment outcome data is not available for this institution.
Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Berkeley School of Theology graduates.
How financially powerful is this institution?
Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Berkeley School of Theology—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.
Institutional endowment
$8.7M
End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023
- California median 0.44× the median ($19.7M)
- Far West median 0.52× the median ($16.8M)
- U.S. median 0.33× the median ($26.4M)
- California median 32× the median ($7,407)
- Far West median 32× the median ($7,260)
- U.S. median 19× the median ($12,100)
Instructional Resources
- Full-time faculty share: 38.1%
- California median 1.2 pp below median (39.3%)
- Far West median 7.6 pp below median (45.7%)
- U.S. median 19.9 pp below median (58.0%)
- Average faculty salary (monthly): $7,479
- California median 0.74× the median ($10,166)
- Far West median 0.78× the median ($9,635)
- U.S. median near the median ($7,615)
- Instructional expenditure per FTE: $31,845
- California median 4.9× the median ($6,474)
- Far West median 4.5× the median ($7,030)
- U.S. median 4.4× the median ($7,288)
Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.
Berkeley School of Theology at a glance
Berkeley School of Theology
Berkeley School of Theology is a private non-profit institution in Berkeley, CA, classified as Special Focus Four-Year: Other Health Professions Schools.
- Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
- Christian StudiesTheology/Theological StudiesDivinity/Ministry
- Largest enrollment groups
- Hispanic or Latino52.9%Black or African American23.5%Asian11.8%
Schools near Berkeley School of Theology
Other campuses in Berkeley, CA when available, plus nearby institutions in California.
Similar schools
Peers with the closest outcomes profile within California (completion, retention, and earnings).
Frequently Asked Questions
Where is Berkeley School of Theology located?
Berkeley School of Theology is located in Berkeley, CA.
What is Berkeley School of Theology's acceptance rate?
The acceptance rate at Berkeley School of Theology is 88.9% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 27 applicants and 17 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.
What is Berkeley School of Theology's tuition?
Berkeley School of Theology tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $2,856 in the latest College Scorecard data.
How much does Berkeley School of Theology cost?
Reported tuition is $2,856 and average net price is N/A in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $15,744 annually.
What is the student body demographics at Berkeley School of Theology?
Berkeley School of Theology reports undergraduate enrollment of about 65 students, Hispanic or Latino (52.9%), Black or African American (23.5%) in federal College Scorecard data.
Is Berkeley School of Theology public or private?
Berkeley School of Theology is a private nonprofit institution located in Berkeley, CA.
Is Berkeley School of Theology an HBCU?
No. Berkeley School of Theology is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.
Is Berkeley School of Theology a tribal college?
No. Berkeley School of Theology is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.
Is Berkeley School of Theology a Hispanic-serving institution (HSI)?
By the common federal eligibility proxy used here (≥25% Hispanic enrollment in College Scorecard), yes—Berkeley School of Theology reports 52.9% Hispanic enrollment share.
Is Berkeley School of Theology religiously affiliated?
Yes. IPEDS reports a religious affiliation for Berkeley School of Theology: American Baptist.
Data Sources
This page uses data from the following sources:
- College Scorecard - U.S. Department of Education
- Institutional characteristics, costs, completion rates, and earnings data
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)
- Employment and wage data by occupation
- Latest data: May 2024
- Source: bls.gov/oes
- O*NET Online - U.S. Department of Labor
- Occupational skills, knowledge, abilities, and work activities
- Database version: 28.0 (August 2023)
- Source: onetcenter.org
- IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) - National Center for Education Statistics
- Institutional data, completions, enrollment, and financial aid
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: nces.ed.gov/ipeds
- Census Bureau American Community Survey (ACS)
- Demographic and workforce data
- Latest data: 2023 ACS 5-Year Estimates
- Source: census.gov/acs
- Related geography & profiles
- California college profile
- California college costs
- California colleges by ROI
- California trade schools profile
- Berkeley, California city profile
- Far West regional profile
- Suburban college profile
- Campus-setting profiles
- All state profiles
- Regional profiles
- National benchmarks
- School directory
- All schools in California
Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.
Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.
Methodology & Data Scope
This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.
Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.