California Northstate University
Elk Grove, CA 95757-3001
About California Northstate University
California Northstate University is a private for-profit university in Elk Grove, California, enrolling about 37 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 92.47% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Student demographics in federal data include Asian (51.3%) and White (18.9%) among the largest enrollment groups.
Key findings
- Versus the California median, sticker tuition is about 7.1×.
- Completion within 150% of normal time is 100.00%.
Cost benchmarks
| Benchmark | Median Tuition | Median Net Price | Count |
|---|---|---|---|
| California Northstate University | $57,463 | — | 1 |
| Private For-profit (national median) | $16,637 | — | 477 |
| California (state median) | $8,093 | $8,343 | 287 |
| Rural (locale median) | $14,160 | $18,700 | 1,649 |
| United States (national median) | $11,900 | $17,156 | — |
Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.
How expensive is California Northstate University really?
Key findings
- California Northstate University charges about 3.5× the national private for-profit median tuition ($57,463).
- Versus the California median, sticker tuition is about 7.1×.
California Northstate University tuition
Published undergraduate tuition $57,463
Finding California Northstate University charges about 3.5× the national private for-profit median tuition.
Evidence Published tuition is $57,463. That is about 3.5× the national private for-profit median ($16,637). Versus the California median ($8,093), sticker tuition is about 7.1×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 4.8×.
Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.
Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to private for-profit and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.
Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.
Evidence: published tuition at California Northstate University versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.
California Northstate University: research record
Canonical EDsmart Data findings for California Northstate University—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.
Research findings
Interpretation
High completion indicates students finish programs at scale; it does not alone measure instructional quality or labor-market fit.
Financial profile
Annual tuition
$57,463
Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $229,852. See cost investigation.
Student outcomes
Share of first-year students returning the following fall.
Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.
What California Northstate University is known for
Top program completions
- Medicine91
- Pharmacy81
- Health Professions and Related Programs34
- 05.120123
- Health/Health Care Administration/Management9
See earnings & programs for more.
Admissions landscape
- Broad access — most applicants are admitted.
- Yield: 8% of admitted students enrolled.
See Admissions for the full funnel.
Is California Northstate University a good school?
Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.
California Northstate University is a good school for those looking for high program completion rates.
EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.
More from the data
Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for California Northstate University.
Campus
Location
Elk Grove, CA
City / state
- ZIP
- 95757-3001
- NCES locale
- Rural fringe
Compared with Rural campuses nationally, tuition is about 4.1× the median for Rural campuses.
Control
Institution type
Private For-profit
Control
- Region
- Far West
Size
Enrollment
37
Total enrollment
- Undergraduate
- 54
- Graduate
- 944
- Full-time share
- 100%
Student aid
Debt & aid
- Pell grant share
- 0.00%
Total Cost, Aid & Default
Total Cost of Attendance
Tuition vs average net price after aid for California Northstate University.
Financial Aid by Income Level
Financial aid distribution by income level.
Student Loan Default Rate
The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at California Northstate University was not reported in the College Scorecard extract for this institution.
Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.
Tuition tracker
Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for California Northstate University in that year.
Reporting years in the table below: 2021–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).
| Year | In-state tuition & fees | Out-of-state tuition & fees | Average net price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | $49,793 | $49,793 | — |
| 2022 | $52,685 | $52,685 | — |
| 2023 | $56,501 | $56,501 | — |
Sticker tuition and net price over time
Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.
College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).
Net price by family income
Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).
Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.
How difficult is it to get in?
Acceptance Rate
This institution has a moderate acceptance rate, accepting most qualified applicants.
Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.
Test Scores
Test score data is not available for this institution.
Score distribution is not available for this institution.
Academic Requirements
GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.
Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.
Enrollment & Student Demographics
California Northstate University reported total enrollment of about 37 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 43% male and 57% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes Asian (51.3%), White (18.9%), and Race/ethnicity unknown (13.5%).
Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment
100.0% Full-Time Enrollment
The total enrollment at California Northstate University in 2024 is 37 students.
Undergraduate enrollment is about 54 students. Graduate enrollment is about 944 students.
Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.
Retention Rate over Time
85.7%
2024 Retention Rate
Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.
Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.
Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity
Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.
College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).
Do students complete their programs?
Time to Complete
100.00% 100% Completion Time
100.00% 150% Completion Time
In 2024, 100.00% of students graduating from California Northstate University completed their program within 100% "normal time".
Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.
Completions by Sex (Top Programs)
- Medicine: 67% male / 33% female
- Pharmacy: 36% male / 64% female
- Health Professions and Related Programs: 38% male / 62% female
IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).
Completions by Race & Ethnicity
Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.
Summed across program completion records in our extract.
What do California Northstate University graduates earn—and in which programs?
Financial value and program completions for California Northstate University from College Scorecard and IPEDS extracts.
Return on Investment
ROI data is not available for this institution.
Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for California Northstate University.
Top Programs by Completions
Largest 6 programs by IPEDS completions (7 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).
IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at California Northstate University.
Employment Outcomes
Employment outcome data is not available for this institution.
Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for California Northstate University graduates.
Institutional resources
Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for California Northstate University—instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.
Instructional Resources
- Full-time faculty share: 48.3%
- California median 9.0 pp above median (39.3%)
- Far West median 2.7 pp above median (45.7%)
- U.S. median 9.6 pp below median (58.0%)
- Average faculty salary (monthly): $11,611
- California median 1.1× the median ($10,166)
- Far West median 1.2× the median ($9,635)
- U.S. median 1.5× the median ($7,615)
- Instructional expenditure per FTE: $25,946
- California median 4.0× the median ($6,474)
- Far West median 3.7× the median ($7,030)
- U.S. median 3.6× the median ($7,288)
Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.
Scorecard instructional metrics where reported.
California Northstate University at a glance
California Northstate University
California Northstate University is a private for-profit institution in Elk Grove, CA.
- Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
- MedicinePharmacyHealth Professions and Related Programs
- Largest enrollment groups
- Asian51.3%White or Caucasian18.9%Race/ethnicity unknown13.5%
Schools near California Northstate University
Other campuses in Elk Grove, CA when available, plus nearby institutions in California.
Similar schools
Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade A) within California, then by similar ownership and admissions.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where is California Northstate University located?
California Northstate University is located in Elk Grove, CA.
What is California Northstate University's acceptance rate?
The acceptance rate at California Northstate University is 92.5% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 99 applicants and 84 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.
What is California Northstate University's tuition?
California Northstate University tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $57,463 in the latest College Scorecard data.
How much does California Northstate University cost?
Reported tuition is $57,463 and average net price is N/A in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $28,152 annually.
What is the student body demographics at California Northstate University?
California Northstate University reports undergraduate enrollment of about 54 students, Asian (51.3%), White (18.9%) in federal College Scorecard data.
What is the graduation rate at California Northstate University?
The 150%-time completion rate is 100.0% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.
Is California Northstate University public or private?
California Northstate University is a private for-profit institution located in Elk Grove, CA.
Is California Northstate University an HBCU?
No. California Northstate University is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.
Is California Northstate University a tribal college?
No. California Northstate University is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.
Is California Northstate University a Hispanic-serving institution (HSI)?
Using a 25% Hispanic enrollment threshold on College Scorecard demographics, California Northstate University does not meet that proxy (reported share 2.7%).
Is California Northstate University religiously affiliated?
No religious affiliation is reported for California Northstate University in IPEDS institutional characteristics.
Data Sources
This page uses data from the following sources:
- College Scorecard - U.S. Department of Education
- Institutional characteristics, costs, completion rates, and earnings data
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)
- Employment and wage data by occupation
- Latest data: May 2024
- Source: bls.gov/oes
- O*NET Online - U.S. Department of Labor
- Occupational skills, knowledge, abilities, and work activities
- Database version: 28.0 (August 2023)
- Source: onetcenter.org
- IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) - National Center for Education Statistics
- Institutional data, completions, enrollment, and financial aid
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: nces.ed.gov/ipeds
- Census Bureau American Community Survey (ACS)
- Demographic and workforce data
- Latest data: 2023 ACS 5-Year Estimates
- Source: census.gov/acs
- Related geography & profiles
Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.
Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.
Methodology & Data Scope
This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.
Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.