University of the Pacific
Stockton, CA 95211-0197
About University of the Pacific
University of the Pacific is a private research university in Stockton, California, serving roughly 3,204 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 71.32% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $78,445 among students who received federal aid.
Key findings
- University of the Pacific charges about 1.9× the national private non-profit median tuition ($57,080).
- Versus the California median, sticker tuition is about 7.1×.
- Completion within 150% of normal time is 69.05%.
- Median earnings 10 years after entry are $78,445.
Research findings
Finding
Average net price at University of the Pacific is about 55% below published tuition.
Published tuition is $57,080; average net price is $25,447 in the latest Scorecard extract.
Interpretation: Institutional aid and grants compress sticker price into a substantially lower typical undergraduate cost signal.
Limitation: Average net price masks variation by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the campus average.
Finding
Modeled return on investment at University of the Pacific is strong.
Estimated ROI reaches about 671% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.
Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.
Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.
Finding
University of the Pacific awards credentials across a wide program mix.
IPEDS completions cover more than 83 distinct degree programs at this campus.
Interpretation: Institutional averages blend very different fields; program-level completions and earnings matter more than the campus mean alone.
Limitation: Completions counts are not enrollment demand and do not measure program quality.
Cost benchmarks
| Benchmark | Median Tuition | Median Net Price | Count |
|---|---|---|---|
| University of the Pacific | $57,080 | $25,447 | 1 |
| Private Non-profit (national median) | $29,325 | — | 1,444 |
| California (state median) | $8,093 | $8,343 | 287 |
| Urban (City) (locale median) | $15,200 | $20,053 | 1,346 |
| United States (national median) | $11,900 | $17,156 | — |
Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.
Average net price is 55% below published tuition at University of the Pacific
Key findings
- University of the Pacific's average net price ($25,447) is 55% below published tuition ($57,080).
- University of the Pacific charges about 1.9× the national private non-profit median tuition ($57,080).
- Versus the California median, sticker tuition is about 7.1×.
University of the Pacific tuition
Published undergraduate tuition $57,080
Finding University of the Pacific charges about 1.9× the national private non-profit median tuition.
Evidence Published tuition is $57,080. That is about 1.9× the national private non-profit median ($29,325). Versus the California median ($8,093), sticker tuition is about 7.1×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 4.8×.
Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.
Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to private non-profit and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.
Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.
Evidence: published tuition at University of the Pacific versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.
Evidence: average net price at University of the Pacific versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.
What undergraduates typically pay
Finding Average net price at University of the Pacific is $25,447.
Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $25,447 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $17,104 above the California median net price. Versus urban (city) campuses, net price runs $5,394 above the locale median.
Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.
Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.
Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.
Key takeaway University of the Pacific’s published tuition substantially overstates typical undergraduate cost: average net price is about 55% lower after grants and scholarships.
University of the Pacific: research record
Canonical EDsmart Data findings for University of the Pacific—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.
Research findings
Interpretation
Completion, earnings, and net price together describe a campus where sticker price overstates typical undergraduate cost while outcomes remain at the high end of Scorecard distributions.
Financial profile
Annual tuition
$57,080
Avg. net price
$25,447
Net price by family income
| Income bracket | Avg. annual net price |
|---|---|
| $0–$30,000 | $17,004 |
| $30,001–$48,000 | $18,152 |
| $48,001–$75,000 | $19,209 |
| $75,001–$110,000 | $24,323 |
| $110,001+ | $38,662 |
Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $228,320. See cost investigation.
Student outcomes
Share of first-year students returning the following fall.
Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.
What University of the Pacific is known for
Top program completions
- Dentistry174
- Pharmacy169
- Law144
- Biology/Biological Sciences, General135
- Multi-/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other99
See earnings & programs for more.
Admissions landscape
- Broad access — most applicants are admitted.
- Yield: 14% of admitted students enrolled.
- Average SAT: 1346
- Midpoint ACT: 28
See Admissions for the full funnel.
Is University of the Pacific a good school?
Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.
University of the Pacific is a good school for those looking for strong completion and solid mid-career earnings—especially where average net price sits well below published tuition (about 55% lower in this extract).
EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.
More from the data
Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for University of the Pacific.
Campus
Location
Stockton, CA
City / state
- ZIP
- 95211-0197
- NCES locale
- City
Compared with Urban (City) campuses nationally, net price is 27% above the median for Urban (City) campuses ($20,053 median).
Control
Institution type
Private Non-profit
Control
- Region
- Far West
- Carnegie
- Doctoral/Professional Universities
Size
Enrollment
3,204
Total enrollment
- Undergraduate
- 3,452
- Graduate
- 3,695
- Full-time share
- 98%
Student aid
Debt & aid
$19,500
Median federal loan debt
- Pell grant share
- 36.12%
Total Cost, Aid & Default
Total Cost of Attendance
Tuition vs average net price after aid for University of the Pacific.
Financial Aid by Income Level
Financial aid distribution by income level.
Student Loan Default Rate
The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at University of the Pacific was 0.00%.
Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.
Tuition tracker
Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for University of the Pacific in that year.
Reporting years in the table below: 2013–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).
| Year | In-state tuition & fees | Out-of-state tuition & fees | Average net price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2013 | $39,810 | $39,810 | $30,318 |
| 2014 | $41,342 | $41,342 | $30,202 |
| 2015 | $42,934 | $42,934 | $30,108 |
| 2016 | $44,588 | $44,588 | $30,829 |
| 2017 | $46,346 | $46,346 | $29,171 |
| 2018 | $48,164 | $48,164 | $25,973 |
| 2019 | $49,588 | $49,588 | $28,929 |
| 2020 | $51,094 | $51,094 | $28,380 |
| 2021 | $52,352 | $52,352 | $17,874 |
| 2022 | $53,682 | $53,682 | $23,800 |
| 2023 | $55,340 | $55,340 | $25,926 |
Sticker tuition and net price over time
Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.
College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).
Net price by family income
Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).
Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.
How difficult is it to get in?
Acceptance Rate
This institution has a moderate acceptance rate, accepting most qualified applicants.
Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.
Test Scores
Average 1346 (middle 50% not reported)
Midpoint 28 (middle 50% not reported)
Scores for enrollees who submitted tests (College Scorecard).
Academic Requirements
Estimated from admission selectivity and test scores. Scorecard does not publish admitted-student GPA for most institutions.
Estimated range · median 3.60
Estimated GPA band from selectivity and test scores — not an official requirement.
Enrollment & Student Demographics
University of the Pacific reported total enrollment of about 3,204 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 45% male and 55% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes Asian (33.7%), Hispanic or Latino (28.5%), and White (14.2%). About 36.12% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 35.0% of students are first-generation college students.
Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment
97.5% Full-Time Enrollment
The total enrollment at University of the Pacific in 2024 is 3,204 students.
Undergraduate enrollment is about 3,452 students. Graduate enrollment is about 3,695 students.
Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.
Retention Rate over Time
88.5%
2024 Retention Rate
Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.
Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.
Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity
Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.
College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).
Do students complete their programs?
Time to Complete
43.65% 100% Completion Time
69.05% 150% Completion Time
In 2024, 43.65% of students graduating from University of the Pacific completed their program within 100% "normal time".
Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.
Completions by Sex (Top Programs)
- Dentistry: 47% male / 53% female
- Pharmacy: 33% male / 67% female
- Law: 38% male / 62% female
IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).
Completions by Race & Ethnicity
Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.
Summed across program completion records in our extract.
University of the Pacific graduates earn a median of $78,445 ten years after entry
Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of University of the Pacific.
Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $78,445. Median federal loan debt: $19,500. Average net price used in cost models: $25,447.
Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.
Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.
Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.
Key takeaway University of the Pacific graduates report median earnings of $78,445 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.
Return on Investment
Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for University of the Pacific.
Top Programs by Completions
Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (83 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).
IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at University of the Pacific.
Employment Outcomes
Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for University of the Pacific graduates.
How financially powerful is this institution?
Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for University of the Pacific—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.
Institutional endowment
$598.7M
End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023
- California median 30× the median ($19.7M)
- Far West median 36× the median ($16.8M)
- U.S. median 23× the median ($26.4M)
- California median 11× the median ($7,407)
- Far West median 11× the median ($7,260)
- U.S. median 6.7× the median ($12,100)
Instructional Resources
- Full-time faculty share: 54.7%
- California median 15.4 pp above median (39.3%)
- Far West median 9.0 pp above median (45.7%)
- U.S. median 3.2 pp below median (58.0%)
- Average faculty salary (monthly): $11,952
- California median 1.2× the median ($10,166)
- Far West median 1.2× the median ($9,635)
- U.S. median 1.6× the median ($7,615)
- Instructional expenditure per FTE: $22,165
- California median 3.4× the median ($6,474)
- Far West median 3.2× the median ($7,030)
- U.S. median 3.0× the median ($7,288)
Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.
University of the Pacific at a glance
University of the Pacific
University of the Pacific is a private non-profit institution in Stockton, CA, classified as Doctoral/Professional Universities.
- Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
- DentistryPharmacyLaw
- Largest enrollment groups
- Asian33.7%Hispanic or Latino28.5%White or Caucasian14.2%
- Opportunity College (2025)
- Higher access & higher earnings · Browse OCU directory
Schools near University of the Pacific
Other campuses in Stockton, CA when available, plus nearby institutions in California.
Similar schools
Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade B) within California, then by similar ownership and admissions.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where is University of the Pacific located?
University of the Pacific is located in Stockton, CA.
What is University of the Pacific's acceptance rate?
The acceptance rate at University of the Pacific is 71.3% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 5,763 applicants and 5,467 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.
What is University of the Pacific's tuition?
University of the Pacific tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $57,080 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $25,447 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.
How much does University of the Pacific cost?
Reported tuition is $57,080 and average net price is $25,447 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $17,190 annually.
Why is University of the Pacific's net price so much lower than tuition?
At University of the Pacific, published tuition is $57,080 while average net price is $25,447—about 55% lower. Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid (College Scorecard). Institutional aid therefore compresses sticker price into a lower typical undergraduate cost signal. The campus average still masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average. EDsmart Data treats the sticker–net gap as an analytical finding, not advice about individual aid offers.
What explains University of the Pacific's return on investment in EDsmart Data?
EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($25,447), completion (69.0% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($78,445). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.
What is the student body demographics at University of the Pacific?
University of the Pacific reports undergraduate enrollment of about 3,452 students, Asian (33.7%), Hispanic or Latino (28.5%) in federal College Scorecard data.
How many first-generation students attend University of the Pacific?
About 35.0% of students at University of the Pacific are first-generation college students.
What test scores do students need for University of the Pacific?
Among enrolled students who submitted scores, University of the Pacific reports midpoint SAT about 1346 and midpoint ACT about 28.
What do graduates of University of the Pacific earn?
Median earnings are $62,672 six years after entry and $78,445 ten years after entry.
What is the graduation rate at University of the Pacific?
The 150%-time completion rate is 69.0% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.
How much debt do University of the Pacific students have?
Median federal loan debt among completers is $19,500.
Data Sources
This page uses data from the following sources:
- College Scorecard - U.S. Department of Education
- Institutional characteristics, costs, completion rates, and earnings data
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)
- Employment and wage data by occupation
- Latest data: May 2024
- Source: bls.gov/oes
- O*NET Online - U.S. Department of Labor
- Occupational skills, knowledge, abilities, and work activities
- Database version: 28.0 (August 2023)
- Source: onetcenter.org
- IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) - National Center for Education Statistics
- Institutional data, completions, enrollment, and financial aid
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: nces.ed.gov/ipeds
- Census Bureau American Community Survey (ACS)
- Demographic and workforce data
- Latest data: 2023 ACS 5-Year Estimates
- Source: census.gov/acs
- Related geography & profiles
Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.
Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.
Methodology & Data Scope
This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.
Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.