Active Report Report ID: EDU-122658-2026

San Joaquin Delta College

Stockton, CA 95207

Tuition$1,180Published sticker
Avg. net price$2,407After aid
Graduation rate34.52%150% time
Median salary$43,21210yr post-entry
ROI4,388%10yr vs net cost

About San Joaquin Delta College

San Joaquin Delta College is a public community college in Stockton, California, with about 15,781 students. The college offers associate degrees, career certificates, and transfer pathways to four-year universities. Typical net price after grant aid is about $2,407 for students who receive it, compared with published tuition near $1,180. Student demographics in federal data include Hispanic or Latino (52.7%) and Asian (17.5%) among the largest enrollment groups.

Key findings

  • San Joaquin Delta College charges about 0.2× the national public median tuition ($1,180).
  • Versus the California median, sticker tuition is about 0.1×.
  • Average net price runs below the California median net price.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 34.52%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $43,212.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at San Joaquin Delta College is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 4388% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

02

Finding

San Joaquin Delta College awards credentials across a wide program mix.

IPEDS completions cover more than 89 distinct degree programs at this campus.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: Institutional averages blend very different fields; program-level completions and earnings matter more than the campus mean alone.

Limitation: Completions counts are not enrollment demand and do not measure program quality.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
San Joaquin Delta College$1,180$2,4071
Public (national median)$5,5121,688
California (state median)$8,093$8,343287
Urban (City) (locale median)$15,200$20,0531,346
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

How expensive is San Joaquin Delta College really?

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • San Joaquin Delta College charges about 0.2× the national public median tuition ($1,180).
  • Versus the California median, sticker tuition is about 0.1×.
  • Average net price runs below the California median net price.
Published sticker

San Joaquin Delta College tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $1,180

Finding San Joaquin Delta College charges about 0.2× the national public median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $1,180. That is about 0.2× the national public median ($5,512). Versus the California median ($8,093), sticker tuition is about 0.1×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 0.1×.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at San Joaquin Delta College versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at San Joaquin Delta College versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at San Joaquin Delta College is $2,407.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $2,407 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $5,936 below the California median net price. Versus urban (city) campuses, net price runs $17,646 below the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway At San Joaquin Delta College, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.

School guide

San Joaquin Delta College: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for San Joaquin Delta College—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

In-state tuition

$1,180

Out-of-state tuition

$9,772

Avg. net price

$2,407

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$1,291
$30,001–$48,000$1,589
$48,001–$75,000$3,996
$75,001–$110,000$6,942
$110,001+$7,087

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $4,720. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention68.4%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$33,920Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Is San Joaquin Delta College a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

San Joaquin Delta College is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for San Joaquin Delta College.

Campus

Location

Stockton, CA

City / state

ZIP
95207
NCES locale
City

Compared with Urban (City) campuses nationally, net price is about 0.1× the median for Urban (City) campuses ($20,053 median).

Control

Institution type

Public

Control

Region
Far West
Carnegie
Associate's Colleges: Mixed Transfer/Vocational & Technical-High Traditional

Size

Enrollment

15,781

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
30,087
Full-time share
57%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$7,500

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
25.22%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$9,628Estimated 4-year total cost
$2,407Average annual net price (after aid)
$4,7204-year in-state tuition
$39,0884-year out-of-state tuition
$21,600Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$2,000Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$24,780Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$99,120Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for San Joaquin Delta College.

Financial Aid by Income Level

25.22% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
1.03% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at San Joaquin Delta College was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for San Joaquin Delta College in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$1,104$6,432$8,630
2014$1,104$6,432$8,994
2015$1,104$6,312$9,586
2016$1,104$6,168$9,445
2017$1,104$6,720$10,066
2018$1,288$8,848$10,788
2019$1,288$8,708$10,599
2020$1,288$9,072$14,779
2021$1,288$9,072$13,760
2022$1,288$9,072$1,238
2023$1,288$9,072$8,508

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.

Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.

Test Scores

Test score data is not available for this institution.

Score distribution is not available for this institution.

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

San Joaquin Delta College reported total enrollment of about 15,781 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 40% male and 60% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes Hispanic or Latino (52.7%), Asian (17.5%), and White (14.0%). About 25.22% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 56.4% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

56.7% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at San Joaquin Delta College in 2024 is 15,781 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 30,087 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

68.4%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

52.7%Hispanic or Latino
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • Hispanic or Latino52.7%
  • Asian17.5%
  • White or Caucasian14.0%
  • Black or African American8.3%
  • Two or More Races5.9%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.7%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown0.5%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.3%
  • Non-Resident Alien0.1%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

9.09% 100% Completion Time

34.52% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 9.09% of students graduating from San Joaquin Delta College completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Humanities/Humanistic Studies: 33% male / 67% female
  • Biological and Physical Sciences: 37% male / 63% female
  • Psychology, General: 15% male / 85% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

1,763Hispanic or Latino
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • Hispanic or Latino1,763
  • Asian923
  • White or Caucasian613
  • Two or More Races191
  • Black or African American186
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander24
  • American Indian or Alaska Native13

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

San Joaquin Delta College graduates earn a median of $43,212 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of San Joaquin Delta College.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $43,212. Median federal loan debt: $7,500. Average net price used in cost models: $2,407.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway San Joaquin Delta College graduates report median earnings of $43,212 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

4,388%Modeled return on investment
$7,500Median student debt
$43,212Median annual earnings (10 years)
17.36%Debt-to-earnings ratio
1.7 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for San Joaquin Delta College.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (89 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Health Professions and Related Programs 96

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at San Joaquin Delta College.

Employment Outcomes

$43,212Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$33,920Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$37,831Median earnings (8 years after entry)
81.30%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for San Joaquin Delta College graduates.

Institutional resources

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for San Joaquin Delta College—instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 46.7%
    • California median 7.4 pp above median (39.3%)
    • Far West median 1.1 pp above median (45.7%)
    • U.S. median 11.2 pp below median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $10,209
    • California median near the median ($10,166)
    • Far West median 1.1× the median ($9,635)
    • U.S. median 1.3× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $4,495
    • California median 0.69× the median ($6,474)
    • Far West median 0.64× the median ($7,030)
    • U.S. median 0.62× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Scorecard instructional metrics where reported.

San Joaquin Delta College at a glance

Institution snapshot

San Joaquin Delta College

Stockton, CA 95207 · Public · Far West

San Joaquin Delta College is a public institution in Stockton, CA, classified as Associate's Colleges: Mixed Transfer/Vocational & Technical-High Traditional.

Tuition$1,180
Avg. net price$2,407
Enrollment15,781
Completion (150%)34.52%
Pell Grant share25.22%
First-generation56.4%
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Humanities/Humanistic StudiesBiological and Physical SciencesPsychology, General
Largest enrollment groups
Hispanic or Latino52.7%
Asian17.5%
White or Caucasian14.0%
Nearby

Schools near San Joaquin Delta College

Other campuses in Stockton, CA when available, plus nearby institutions in California.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade D) within California, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is San Joaquin Delta College located?

San Joaquin Delta College is located in Stockton, CA.

What is San Joaquin Delta College's tuition?

San Joaquin Delta College tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $1,180 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $2,407 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does San Joaquin Delta College cost?

Reported tuition is $1,180 and average net price is $2,407 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $21,600 annually.

What explains San Joaquin Delta College's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($2,407), completion (34.5% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($43,212). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at San Joaquin Delta College?

San Joaquin Delta College reports undergraduate enrollment of about 30,087 students, Hispanic or Latino (52.7%), Asian (17.5%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend San Joaquin Delta College?

About 56.4% of students at San Joaquin Delta College are first-generation college students.

What do graduates of San Joaquin Delta College earn?

Median earnings are $33,920 six years after entry and $43,212 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at San Joaquin Delta College?

The 150%-time completion rate is 34.5% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do San Joaquin Delta College students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $7,500.

Is San Joaquin Delta College public or private?

San Joaquin Delta College is a public institution located in Stockton, CA.

Is San Joaquin Delta College an HBCU?

No. San Joaquin Delta College is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.

Is San Joaquin Delta College a tribal college?

No. San Joaquin Delta College is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.