California State University-Los Angeles
Los Angeles, CA 90032-8506
About California State University-Los Angeles
California State University-Los Angeles is a public research university in Los Angeles, California, with about 19,562 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 91.25% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $59,211 among students who received federal aid.
Key findings
- California State University-Los Angeles charges 30% above the national public median tuition ($7,160).
- Versus the California median, sticker tuition is 12% below.
- Average net price runs below the California median net price.
- Completion within 150% of normal time is 52.98%.
- Median earnings 10 years after entry are $59,211.
Research findings
Finding
Modeled return on investment at California State University-Los Angeles is strong.
Estimated ROI reaches about 3631% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.
Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.
Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.
Finding
California State University-Los Angeles awards credentials across a wide program mix.
IPEDS completions cover more than 80 distinct degree programs at this campus.
Interpretation: Institutional averages blend very different fields; program-level completions and earnings matter more than the campus mean alone.
Limitation: Completions counts are not enrollment demand and do not measure program quality.
Cost benchmarks
| Benchmark | Median Tuition | Median Net Price | Count |
|---|---|---|---|
| California State University-Los Angeles | $7,160 | $3,967 | 1 |
| Public (national median) | $5,512 | — | 1,688 |
| California (state median) | $8,093 | $8,343 | 287 |
| Urban (City) (locale median) | $15,200 | $20,053 | 1,346 |
| United States (national median) | $11,900 | $17,156 | — |
Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.
Average net price is 45% below published tuition at California State University-Los Angeles
Key findings
- California State University-Los Angeles's average net price ($3,967) is 45% below published tuition ($7,160).
- California State University-Los Angeles charges 30% above the national public median tuition ($7,160).
- Versus the California median, sticker tuition is 12% below.
- Average net price runs below the California median net price.
California State University-Los Angeles tuition
Published undergraduate tuition $7,160
Finding California State University-Los Angeles charges 30% above the national public median tuition.
Evidence Published tuition is $7,160. That is 30% above the national public median ($5,512). Versus the California median ($8,093), sticker tuition is 12% below. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is 40% below.
Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.
Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.
Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.
Evidence: published tuition at California State University-Los Angeles versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.
Evidence: average net price at California State University-Los Angeles versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.
What undergraduates typically pay
Finding Average net price at California State University-Los Angeles is $3,967.
Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $3,967 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $4,376 below the California median net price. Versus urban (city) campuses, net price runs $16,086 below the locale median.
Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.
Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.
Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.
Key takeaway California State University-Los Angeles’s published tuition substantially overstates typical undergraduate cost: average net price is about 45% lower after grants and scholarships.
California State University-Los Angeles: research record
Canonical EDsmart Data findings for California State University-Los Angeles—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.
Research findings
Interpretation
The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.
Financial profile
In-state tuition
$7,160
Out-of-state tuition
$19,760
Avg. net price
$3,967
Net price by family income
| Income bracket | Avg. annual net price |
|---|---|
| $0–$30,000 | $2,877 |
| $30,001–$48,000 | $2,974 |
| $48,001–$75,000 | $5,002 |
| $75,001–$110,000 | $7,355 |
| $110,001+ | $13,578 |
Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $28,640. See cost investigation.
Student outcomes
Share of first-year students returning the following fall.
Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.
What California State University-Los Angeles is known for
Top program completions
- Business Administration and Management, General1,004
- Psychology, General435
- Criminal Justice/Safety Studies385
- Social Work377
- Early Childhood Education & Teaching370
See earnings & programs for more.
Admissions landscape
- Broad access — most applicants are admitted.
- Yield: 12% of admitted students enrolled.
See Admissions for the full funnel.
Is California State University-Los Angeles a good school?
Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.
California State University-Los Angeles is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.
EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.
More from the data
Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for California State University-Los Angeles.
Campus
Location
Los Angeles, CA
City / state
- ZIP
- 90032-8506
- NCES locale
- City
Compared with Urban (City) campuses nationally, net price is about 0.2× the median for Urban (City) campuses ($20,053 median).
Control
Institution type
Public
Control
- Region
- Far West
- Carnegie
- Master's Colleges and Universities: Medium Programs
Size
Enrollment
19,562
Total enrollment
- Undergraduate
- 21,524
- Graduate
- 3,577
- Full-time share
- 82%
Student aid
Debt & aid
$13,000
Median federal loan debt
- Pell grant share
- 66.30%
Total Cost, Aid & Default
Total Cost of Attendance
Tuition vs average net price after aid for California State University-Los Angeles.
Financial Aid by Income Level
Financial aid distribution by income level.
Student Loan Default Rate
The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at California State University-Los Angeles was 0.00%.
Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.
Tuition tracker
Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for California State University-Los Angeles in that year.
Reporting years in the table below: 2013–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).
| Year | In-state tuition & fees | Out-of-state tuition & fees | Average net price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2013 | $6,344 | $17,504 | $5,431 |
| 2014 | $6,348 | $17,508 | $3,287 |
| 2015 | $6,355 | $17,515 | $3,227 |
| 2016 | $6,383 | $17,543 | $3,996 |
| 2017 | $6,639 | $18,519 | $3,792 |
| 2018 | $6,749 | $18,629 | $4,175 |
| 2019 | $6,768 | $18,648 | $2,768 |
| 2020 | $6,781 | $18,661 | $3,302 |
| 2021 | $6,785 | $18,665 | $2,037 |
| 2022 | $6,805 | $18,685 | $5,385 |
| 2023 | $6,813 | $18,698 | $4,113 |
Sticker tuition and net price over time
Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.
College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).
Net price by family income
Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).
Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.
How difficult is it to get in?
Acceptance Rate
This institution has a moderate acceptance rate, accepting most qualified applicants.
Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.
Test Scores
Test score data is not available for this institution.
Score distribution is not available for this institution.
Academic Requirements
GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.
Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.
Enrollment & Student Demographics
California State University-Los Angeles reported total enrollment of about 19,562 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 44% male and 56% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes Hispanic or Latino (77.6%), Asian (9.8%), and Black or African American (4.3%). About 66.30% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 61.5% of students are first-generation college students.
Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment
82.4% Full-Time Enrollment
The total enrollment at California State University-Los Angeles in 2024 is 19,562 students.
Undergraduate enrollment is about 21,524 students. Graduate enrollment is about 3,577 students.
Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.
Retention Rate over Time
71.9%
2024 Retention Rate
Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.
Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.
Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity
Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.
College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).
Do students complete their programs?
Time to Complete
25.41% 100% Completion Time
52.98% 150% Completion Time
In 2024, 25.41% of students graduating from California State University-Los Angeles completed their program within 100% "normal time".
Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.
Completions by Sex (Top Programs)
- Business Administration and Management, General: 53% male / 47% female
- Psychology, General: 21% male / 79% female
- Criminal Justice/Safety Studies: 34% male / 66% female
IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).
Completions by Race & Ethnicity
Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.
Summed across program completion records in our extract.
California State University-Los Angeles graduates earn a median of $59,211 ten years after entry
Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of California State University-Los Angeles.
Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $59,211. Median federal loan debt: $13,000. Average net price used in cost models: $3,967.
Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.
Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.
Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.
Key takeaway California State University-Los Angeles graduates report median earnings of $59,211 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.
Return on Investment
Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for California State University-Los Angeles.
Top Programs by Completions
Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (80 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).
IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at California State University-Los Angeles.
Employment Outcomes
Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for California State University-Los Angeles graduates.
How financially powerful is this institution?
Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for California State University-Los Angeles—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.
Institutional endowment
$58.1M
End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023
- California median 2.9× the median ($19.7M)
- Far West median 3.5× the median ($16.8M)
- U.S. median 2.2× the median ($26.4M)
- California median 0.35× the median ($7,407)
- Far West median 0.36× the median ($7,260)
- U.S. median 0.22× the median ($12,100)
Instructional Resources
- Full-time faculty share: 41.6%
- California median 2.2 pp above median (39.3%)
- Far West median 4.1 pp below median (45.7%)
- U.S. median 16.4 pp below median (58.0%)
- Average faculty salary (monthly): $12,690
- California median 1.2× the median ($10,166)
- Far West median 1.3× the median ($9,635)
- U.S. median 1.7× the median ($7,615)
- Instructional expenditure per FTE: $9,018
- California median 1.4× the median ($6,474)
- Far West median 1.3× the median ($7,030)
- U.S. median 1.2× the median ($7,288)
Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.
California State University-Los Angeles at a glance
California State University-Los Angeles
California State University-Los Angeles is a public institution in Los Angeles, CA, classified as Master's Colleges and Universities: Medium Programs.
- Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
- Business Administration and Management, GeneralPsychology, GeneralCriminal Justice/Safety Studies
- Largest enrollment groups
- Hispanic or Latino77.6%Asian9.8%Black or African American4.3%
- Opportunity College (2025)
- Higher access & higher earnings · Browse OCU directory
Schools near California State University-Los Angeles
Other campuses in Los Angeles, CA when available, plus nearby institutions in California.
Similar schools
Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade C-) within California, then by similar ownership and admissions.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where is California State University-Los Angeles located?
California State University-Los Angeles is located in Los Angeles, CA.
What is California State University-Los Angeles's acceptance rate?
The acceptance rate at California State University-Los Angeles is 91.2% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 32,748 applicants and 30,106 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.
What is California State University-Los Angeles's tuition?
California State University-Los Angeles tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $7,160 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $3,967 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.
How much does California State University-Los Angeles cost?
Reported tuition is $7,160 and average net price is $3,967 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $19,696 annually.
Why is California State University-Los Angeles's net price so much lower than tuition?
At California State University-Los Angeles, published tuition is $7,160 while average net price is $3,967—about 45% lower. Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid (College Scorecard). Institutional aid therefore compresses sticker price into a lower typical undergraduate cost signal. The campus average still masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average. EDsmart Data treats the sticker–net gap as an analytical finding, not advice about individual aid offers.
What explains California State University-Los Angeles's return on investment in EDsmart Data?
EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($3,967), completion (53.0% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($59,211). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.
What is the student body demographics at California State University-Los Angeles?
California State University-Los Angeles reports undergraduate enrollment of about 21,524 students, Hispanic or Latino (77.6%), Asian (9.8%) in federal College Scorecard data.
How many first-generation students attend California State University-Los Angeles?
About 61.5% of students at California State University-Los Angeles are first-generation college students.
What do graduates of California State University-Los Angeles earn?
Median earnings are $45,702 six years after entry and $59,211 ten years after entry.
What is the graduation rate at California State University-Los Angeles?
The 150%-time completion rate is 53.0% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.
How much debt do California State University-Los Angeles students have?
Median federal loan debt among completers is $13,000.
Is California State University-Los Angeles public or private?
California State University-Los Angeles is a public institution located in Los Angeles, CA.
Data Sources
This page uses data from the following sources:
- College Scorecard - U.S. Department of Education
- Institutional characteristics, costs, completion rates, and earnings data
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)
- Employment and wage data by occupation
- Latest data: May 2024
- Source: bls.gov/oes
- O*NET Online - U.S. Department of Labor
- Occupational skills, knowledge, abilities, and work activities
- Database version: 28.0 (August 2023)
- Source: onetcenter.org
- IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) - National Center for Education Statistics
- Institutional data, completions, enrollment, and financial aid
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: nces.ed.gov/ipeds
- Census Bureau American Community Survey (ACS)
- Demographic and workforce data
- Latest data: 2023 ACS 5-Year Estimates
- Source: census.gov/acs
- Related geography & profiles
Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.
Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.
Methodology & Data Scope
This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.
Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.