Dallas College
Dallas, TX 75215-3604
About Dallas College
Dallas College is a public community college in Dallas, Texas, enrolling about 43,869 students. The college offers associate degrees, career certificates, and transfer pathways to four-year universities. Typical net price after grant aid is about $3,214 for students who receive it, compared with published tuition near $2,730. Student demographics in federal data include Hispanic or Latino (49.3%) and Black or African American (20.3%) among the largest enrollment groups.
Key findings
- Dallas College charges about 0.5× the national public median tuition ($2,730).
- Versus the Texas median, sticker tuition is about 0.3×.
- Average net price runs below the Texas median net price.
- Completion within 150% of normal time is 32.32%.
- Median earnings 10 years after entry are $41,714.
Research findings
Finding
Modeled return on investment at Dallas College is strong.
Estimated ROI reaches about 3145% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.
Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.
Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.
Finding
Dallas College awards credentials across a wide program mix.
IPEDS completions cover more than 91 distinct degree programs at this campus.
Interpretation: Institutional averages blend very different fields; program-level completions and earnings matter more than the campus mean alone.
Limitation: Completions counts are not enrollment demand and do not measure program quality.
Cost benchmarks
| Benchmark | Median Tuition | Median Net Price | Count |
|---|---|---|---|
| Dallas College | $2,730 | $3,214 | 1 |
| Public (national median) | $5,512 | — | 1,688 |
| Texas (state median) | $9,940 | $8,031 | 184 |
| Urban (City) (locale median) | $15,200 | $20,053 | 1,346 |
| United States (national median) | $11,900 | $17,156 | — |
Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.
How expensive is Dallas College really?
Key findings
- Dallas College charges about 0.5× the national public median tuition ($2,730).
- Versus the Texas median, sticker tuition is about 0.3×.
- Average net price runs below the Texas median net price.
Dallas College tuition
Published undergraduate tuition $2,730
Finding Dallas College charges about 0.5× the national public median tuition.
Evidence Published tuition is $2,730. That is about 0.5× the national public median ($5,512). Versus the Texas median ($9,940), sticker tuition is about 0.3×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 0.2×.
Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.
Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.
Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.
Evidence: published tuition at Dallas College versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.
Evidence: average net price at Dallas College versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.
What undergraduates typically pay
Finding Average net price at Dallas College is $3,214.
Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $3,214 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $4,817 below the Texas median net price. Versus urban (city) campuses, net price runs $16,839 below the locale median.
Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.
Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.
Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.
Key takeaway At Dallas College, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.
Dallas College: research record
Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Dallas College—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.
Research findings
Interpretation
The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.
Financial profile
In-state tuition
$2,730
Out-of-state tuition
$6,900
Avg. net price
$3,214
Net price by family income
| Income bracket | Avg. annual net price |
|---|---|
| $0–$30,000 | $2,120 |
| $30,001–$48,000 | $2,530 |
| $48,001–$75,000 | $5,023 |
| $75,001–$110,000 | $7,185 |
| $110,001+ | $9,504 |
Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $10,920. See cost investigation.
Student outcomes
Share of first-year students returning the following fall.
Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.
What Dallas College is known for
Top program completions
- General Studies5,426
- Automobile/Automotive Mechanics Technology/Technician768
- Business Administration and Management, General543
- Early Childhood Education & Teaching394
- Criminal Justice/Safety Studies362
See earnings & programs for more.
Is Dallas College a good school?
Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.
Dallas College is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.
EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.
More from the data
Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Dallas College.
Campus
Location
Dallas, TX
City / state
- ZIP
- 75215-3604
- NCES locale
- City
Compared with Urban (City) campuses nationally, net price is about 0.2× the median for Urban (City) campuses ($20,053 median).
Control
Institution type
Public
Control
- Region
- Southwest
- Carnegie
- Associate's Colleges: Mixed Transfer/Vocational & Technical-High Nontraditional
Size
Enrollment
43,869
Total enrollment
- Undergraduate
- 107,417
- Full-time share
- 32%
Student aid
Debt & aid
$9,500
Median federal loan debt
- Pell grant share
- 23.60%
Total Cost, Aid & Default
Total Cost of Attendance
Tuition vs average net price after aid for Dallas College.
Financial Aid by Income Level
Financial aid distribution by income level.
Student Loan Default Rate
The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Dallas College was 0.00%.
Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.
Tuition tracker
Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Dallas College in that year.
Reporting years in the table below: 2013–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).
| Year | In-state tuition & fees | Out-of-state tuition & fees | Average net price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2013 | $1,560 | $4,590 | $6,033 |
| 2014 | $1,665 | $4,695 | $6,522 |
| 2015 | $1,770 | $5,220 | $4,495 |
| 2016 | $1,770 | $5,220 | $5,606 |
| 2017 | $1,770 | $5,220 | $5,611 |
| 2018 | $1,770 | $5,220 | $6,147 |
| 2019 | $1,770 | $5,220 | $4,373 |
| 2020 | $2,370 | $6,000 | $4,739 |
| 2021 | $2,370 | $6,000 | $3,704 |
| 2022 | $2,370 | $6,000 | $2,210 |
| 2023 | $2,370 | $6,000 | $4,146 |
Sticker tuition and net price over time
Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.
College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).
Net price by family income
Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).
Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.
How difficult is it to get in?
Acceptance Rate
Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.
Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.
Test Scores
Test score data is not available for this institution.
Score distribution is not available for this institution.
Academic Requirements
GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.
Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.
Enrollment & Student Demographics
Dallas College reported total enrollment of about 43,869 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 40% male and 60% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes Hispanic or Latino (49.3%), Black or African American (20.3%), and White (13.1%). About 23.60% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 56.1% of students are first-generation college students.
Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment
32.3% Full-Time Enrollment
The total enrollment at Dallas College in 2024 is 43,869 students.
Undergraduate enrollment is about 107,417 students.
Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.
Retention Rate over Time
66.7%
2024 Retention Rate
Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.
Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.
Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity
Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.
College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).
Do students complete their programs?
Time to Complete
0.00% 100% Completion Time
32.32% 150% Completion Time
In 2024, 0.00% of students graduating from Dallas College completed their program within 100% "normal time".
Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.
Completions by Sex (Top Programs)
- General Studies: 37% male / 63% female
- Automobile/Automotive Mechanics Technology/Technician: 95% male / 5% female
- Business Administration and Management, General: 28% male / 72% female
IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).
Completions by Race & Ethnicity
Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.
Summed across program completion records in our extract.
Dallas College graduates earn a median of $41,714 ten years after entry
Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Dallas College.
Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $41,714. Median federal loan debt: $9,500. Average net price used in cost models: $3,214.
Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.
Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.
Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.
Key takeaway Dallas College graduates report median earnings of $41,714 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.
Return on Investment
Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Dallas College.
Top Programs by Completions
Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (91 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).
IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Dallas College.
Employment Outcomes
Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Dallas College graduates.
Institutional resources
Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Dallas College—instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.
Instructional Resources
- Full-time faculty share: 34.3%
- Texas median 25.8 pp below median (60.1%)
- Southwest median 25.5 pp below median (59.7%)
- U.S. median 23.7 pp below median (58.0%)
- Average faculty salary (monthly): $9,350
- Texas median 1.3× the median ($7,150)
- Southwest median 1.3× the median ($7,078)
- U.S. median 1.2× the median ($7,615)
- Instructional expenditure per FTE: $5,188
- Texas median near the median ($5,060)
- Southwest median 0.91× the median ($5,699)
- U.S. median 0.71× the median ($7,288)
Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.
Scorecard instructional metrics where reported.
Dallas College at a glance
Dallas College
Dallas College is a public institution in Dallas, TX, classified as Associate's Colleges: Mixed Transfer/Vocational & Technical-High Nontraditional.
- Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
- General StudiesAutomobile/Automotive Mechanics Technology/TechnicianBusiness Administration and Management, General
- Largest enrollment groups
- Hispanic or Latino49.3%Black or African American20.3%White or Caucasian13.1%
Schools near Dallas College
Other campuses in Dallas, TX when available, plus nearby institutions in Texas.
Similar schools
Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade D) within Texas, then by similar ownership and admissions.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where is Dallas College located?
Dallas College is located in Dallas, TX.
What is Dallas College's tuition?
Dallas College tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $2,730 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $3,214 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.
How much does Dallas College cost?
Reported tuition is $2,730 and average net price is $3,214 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $16,052 annually.
What explains Dallas College's return on investment in EDsmart Data?
EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($3,214), completion (32.3% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($41,714). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.
What is the student body demographics at Dallas College?
Dallas College reports undergraduate enrollment of about 107,417 students, Hispanic or Latino (49.3%), Black or African American (20.3%) in federal College Scorecard data.
How many first-generation students attend Dallas College?
About 56.1% of students at Dallas College are first-generation college students.
What do graduates of Dallas College earn?
Median earnings are $35,493 six years after entry and $41,714 ten years after entry.
What is the graduation rate at Dallas College?
The 150%-time completion rate is 32.3% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.
How much debt do Dallas College students have?
Median federal loan debt among completers is $9,500.
Is Dallas College public or private?
Dallas College is a public institution located in Dallas, TX.
Is Dallas College an HBCU?
No. Dallas College is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.
Is Dallas College a tribal college?
No. Dallas College is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.
Data Sources
This page uses data from the following sources:
- College Scorecard - U.S. Department of Education
- Institutional characteristics, costs, completion rates, and earnings data
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)
- Employment and wage data by occupation
- Latest data: May 2024
- Source: bls.gov/oes
- O*NET Online - U.S. Department of Labor
- Occupational skills, knowledge, abilities, and work activities
- Database version: 28.0 (August 2023)
- Source: onetcenter.org
- IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) - National Center for Education Statistics
- Institutional data, completions, enrollment, and financial aid
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: nces.ed.gov/ipeds
- Census Bureau American Community Survey (ACS)
- Demographic and workforce data
- Latest data: 2023 ACS 5-Year Estimates
- Source: census.gov/acs
- Related geography & profiles
Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.
Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.
Methodology & Data Scope
This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.
Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.