Great Bay Community College
Portsmouth, NH 03801-2879
About Great Bay Community College
Great Bay Community College is a public community college in Portsmouth, New Hampshire, enrolling about 1,259 students. The college offers associate degrees, career certificates, and transfer pathways to four-year universities. Typical net price after grant aid is about $15,768 for students who receive it, compared with published tuition near $7,200. Student demographics in federal data include White (73.5%) and Hispanic or Latino (8.6%) among the largest enrollment groups.
Key findings
- Great Bay Community College charges 31% above the national public median tuition ($7,200).
- Versus the New Hampshire median, sticker tuition is about 0.5×.
- Completion within 150% of normal time is 33.51%.
- Median earnings 10 years after entry are $42,397.
Research findings
Finding
Modeled return on investment at Great Bay Community College is strong.
Estimated ROI reaches about 572% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.
Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.
Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.
Cost benchmarks
| Benchmark | Median Tuition | Median Net Price | Count |
|---|---|---|---|
| Great Bay Community College | $7,200 | $15,768 | 1 |
| Public (national median) | $5,512 | — | 1,688 |
| New Hampshire (state median) | $15,838 | $15,621 | 21 |
| Rural (locale median) | $14,160 | $18,700 | 1,649 |
| United States (national median) | $11,900 | $17,156 | — |
Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.
How expensive is Great Bay Community College really?
Key findings
- Great Bay Community College charges 31% above the national public median tuition ($7,200).
- Versus the New Hampshire median, sticker tuition is about 0.5×.
Great Bay Community College tuition
Published undergraduate tuition $7,200
Finding Great Bay Community College charges 31% above the national public median tuition.
Evidence Published tuition is $7,200. That is 31% above the national public median ($5,512). Versus the New Hampshire median ($15,838), sticker tuition is about 0.5×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is 39% below.
Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.
Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.
Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.
Evidence: published tuition at Great Bay Community College versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.
Evidence: average net price at Great Bay Community College versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.
What undergraduates typically pay
Finding Average net price at Great Bay Community College is $15,768.
Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $15,768 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $147 above the New Hampshire median net price. Versus rural campuses, net price runs $2,932 below the locale median.
Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.
Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.
Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.
Key takeaway At Great Bay Community College, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.
Great Bay Community College: research record
Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Great Bay Community College—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.
Research findings
Interpretation
The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.
Financial profile
In-state tuition
$7,200
Out-of-state tuition
$15,450
Avg. net price
$15,768
Net price by family income
| Income bracket | Avg. annual net price |
|---|---|
| $0–$30,000 | $13,237 |
| $30,001–$48,000 | $21,132 |
| $48,001–$75,000 | $21,725 |
| $75,001–$110,000 | $20,829 |
| $110,001+ | $21,963 |
Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $28,800. See cost investigation.
Student outcomes
Share of first-year students returning the following fall.
Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.
What Great Bay Community College is known for
Top program completions
- Business Administration and Management, General53
- Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse39
- Welding Technology/Welder28
- Veterinary/Animal Health Technology/Technician and Veterinary Assistant23
- Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal Studies23
See earnings & programs for more.
Is Great Bay Community College a good school?
Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.
Great Bay Community College is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.
EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.
More from the data
Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Great Bay Community College.
Campus
Location
Portsmouth, NH
City / state
- ZIP
- 03801-2879
- NCES locale
- Rural remote
Compared with Rural campuses nationally, net price is 16% below the median for Rural campuses ($18,700 median).
Control
Institution type
Public
Control
- Region
- New England
- Carnegie
- Associate's Colleges: Mixed Transfer/Vocational & Technical-High Nontraditional
Size
Enrollment
1,259
Total enrollment
- Undergraduate
- 4,271
- Full-time share
- 34%
Student aid
Debt & aid
$13,828
Median federal loan debt
- Pell grant share
- 25.76%
Total Cost, Aid & Default
Total Cost of Attendance
Tuition vs average net price after aid for Great Bay Community College.
Financial Aid by Income Level
Financial aid distribution by income level.
Student Loan Default Rate
The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Great Bay Community College was 0.00%.
Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.
Tuition tracker
Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Great Bay Community College in that year.
Reporting years in the table below: 2013–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).
| Year | In-state tuition & fees | Out-of-state tuition & fees | Average net price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2013 | $7,008 | $15,584 | $16,480 |
| 2014 | $7,104 | $15,264 | $16,234 |
| 2015 | $7,104 | $15,264 | $15,734 |
| 2016 | $7,104 | $15,264 | $15,969 |
| 2017 | $7,424 | $16,000 | $15,251 |
| 2018 | $7,680 | $16,480 | $16,392 |
| 2019 | $7,200 | $15,450 | $16,847 |
| 2020 | $7,200 | $15,450 | $15,475 |
| 2021 | $7,200 | $15,450 | $16,728 |
| 2022 | $7,200 | $15,450 | $17,454 |
| 2023 | $7,200 | $15,450 | $18,587 |
Sticker tuition and net price over time
Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.
College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).
Net price by family income
Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).
Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.
How difficult is it to get in?
Acceptance Rate
Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.
Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.
Test Scores
Test score data is not available for this institution.
Score distribution is not available for this institution.
Academic Requirements
GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.
Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.
Enrollment & Student Demographics
Great Bay Community College reported total enrollment of about 1,259 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 40% male and 60% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (73.5%), Hispanic or Latino (8.6%), and Race/ethnicity unknown (6.3%). About 25.76% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 34.6% of students are first-generation college students.
Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment
34.2% Full-Time Enrollment
The total enrollment at Great Bay Community College in 2024 is 1,259 students.
Undergraduate enrollment is about 4,271 students.
Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.
Retention Rate over Time
66.0%
2024 Retention Rate
Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.
Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.
Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity
Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.
College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).
Do students complete their programs?
Time to Complete
18.09% 100% Completion Time
33.51% 150% Completion Time
In 2024, 18.09% of students graduating from Great Bay Community College completed their program within 100% "normal time".
Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.
Completions by Sex (Top Programs)
- Business Administration and Management, General: 60% male / 40% female
- Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse: 10% male / 90% female
- Welding Technology/Welder: 82% male / 18% female
IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).
Completions by Race & Ethnicity
Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.
Summed across program completion records in our extract.
Great Bay Community College graduates earn a median of $42,397 ten years after entry
Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Great Bay Community College.
Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $42,397. Median federal loan debt: $13,828. Average net price used in cost models: $15,768.
Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.
Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.
Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.
Key takeaway Great Bay Community College graduates report median earnings of $42,397 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.
Return on Investment
Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Great Bay Community College.
Top Programs by Completions
Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (36 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).
IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Great Bay Community College.
Employment Outcomes
Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Great Bay Community College graduates.
How financially powerful is this institution?
Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Great Bay Community College—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.
Institutional endowment
$630,976
End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023
- New Hampshire median 0.04× the median ($15.7M)
- New England median 0.01× the median ($42.9M)
- U.S. median 0.02× the median ($26.4M)
- New Hampshire median 0.05× the median ($10,392)
- New England median 0.02× the median ($23,268)
- U.S. median 0.05× the median ($12,100)
Instructional Resources
- Full-time faculty share: 22.1%
- New Hampshire median 9.9 pp below median (32.0%)
- New England median 31.1 pp below median (53.3%)
- U.S. median 35.8 pp below median (58.0%)
- Average faculty salary (monthly): $7,738
- New Hampshire median 0.95× the median ($8,148)
- New England median 0.84× the median ($9,262)
- U.S. median near the median ($7,615)
- Instructional expenditure per FTE: $5,229
- New Hampshire median 0.61× the median ($8,614)
- New England median 0.51× the median ($10,182)
- U.S. median 0.72× the median ($7,288)
Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.
Great Bay Community College at a glance
Great Bay Community College
Great Bay Community College is a public institution in Portsmouth, NH, classified as Associate's Colleges: Mixed Transfer/Vocational & Technical-High Nontraditional.
- Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
- Business Administration and Management, GeneralRegistered Nursing/Registered NurseWelding Technology/Welder
- Largest enrollment groups
- White or Caucasian73.5%Hispanic or Latino8.6%Race/ethnicity unknown6.3%
Schools near Great Bay Community College
Other campuses in Portsmouth, NH when available, plus nearby institutions in New Hampshire.
Similar schools
Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade D) within New Hampshire, then by similar ownership and admissions.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where is Great Bay Community College located?
Great Bay Community College is located in Portsmouth, NH.
What is Great Bay Community College's tuition?
Great Bay Community College tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $7,200 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $15,768 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.
How much does Great Bay Community College cost?
Reported tuition is $7,200 and average net price is $15,768 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $18,938 annually.
What explains Great Bay Community College's return on investment in EDsmart Data?
EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($15,768), completion (33.5% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($42,397). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.
What is the student body demographics at Great Bay Community College?
Great Bay Community College reports undergraduate enrollment of about 4,271 students, White (73.5%), Hispanic or Latino (8.6%) in federal College Scorecard data.
How many first-generation students attend Great Bay Community College?
About 34.6% of students at Great Bay Community College are first-generation college students.
What do graduates of Great Bay Community College earn?
Median earnings are $39,867 six years after entry and $42,397 ten years after entry.
What is the graduation rate at Great Bay Community College?
The 150%-time completion rate is 33.5% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.
How much debt do Great Bay Community College students have?
Median federal loan debt among completers is $13,828.
Is Great Bay Community College public or private?
Great Bay Community College is a public institution located in Portsmouth, NH.
Is Great Bay Community College an HBCU?
No. Great Bay Community College is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.
Is Great Bay Community College a tribal college?
No. Great Bay Community College is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.
Data Sources
This page uses data from the following sources:
- College Scorecard - U.S. Department of Education
- Institutional characteristics, costs, completion rates, and earnings data
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)
- Employment and wage data by occupation
- Latest data: May 2024
- Source: bls.gov/oes
- O*NET Online - U.S. Department of Labor
- Occupational skills, knowledge, abilities, and work activities
- Database version: 28.0 (August 2023)
- Source: onetcenter.org
- IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) - National Center for Education Statistics
- Institutional data, completions, enrollment, and financial aid
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: nces.ed.gov/ipeds
- Census Bureau American Community Survey (ACS)
- Demographic and workforce data
- Latest data: 2023 ACS 5-Year Estimates
- Source: census.gov/acs
- Related geography & profiles
- New Hampshire college profile
- New Hampshire college costs
- New Hampshire colleges by ROI
- New Hampshire trade schools profile
- Portsmouth, New Hampshire city profile
- New England regional profile
- Rural college profile
- Campus-setting profiles
- All state profiles
- Regional profiles
- National benchmarks
- School directory
- All schools in New Hampshire
Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.
Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.
Methodology & Data Scope
This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.
Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.