Active Report Report ID: EDU-459213-2026

Gurnick Academy of Medical Arts

San Jose, CA 95112

Avg. net price$33,054After aid
Graduation rate79.44%150% time
Median salary$75,97910yr post-entry
ROI475%10yr vs net cost

About Gurnick Academy of Medical Arts

Gurnick Academy of Medical Arts is a private for-profit trade school in San Jose, California, serving roughly 3,421 students. Programs focus on certificates and workforce credentials that prepare students for skilled trades and technical careers. The published completion rate is about 79.44% at 150% of normal time. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $75,979 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $75,979.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at Gurnick Academy of Medical Arts is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 475% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Gurnick Academy of Medical Arts—$33,0541
Private For-profit (national median)$16,757—494
California (state median)$8,510$7,373288
Urban (City) (locale median)$15,860$20,6601,347
United States (national median)$12,200$17,569—

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

How expensive is Gurnick Academy of Medical Arts really?

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Evidence: average net price at Gurnick Academy of Medical Arts versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at Gurnick Academy of Medical Arts is $33,054.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $33,054 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $25,681 above the California median net price. Versus urban (city) campuses, net price runs $12,394 above the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

School guide

Gurnick Academy of Medical Arts: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Gurnick Academy of Medical Arts—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

Avg. net price

$33,054

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$31,816
$30,001–$48,000$32,827
$48,001–$75,000$32,605
$75,001–$110,000$34,748
$110,001+$36,651

Student outcomes

First-year retention60.0%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$69,809Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Is Gurnick Academy of Medical Arts a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Gurnick Academy of Medical Arts is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Strong completionEarnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Gurnick Academy of Medical Arts.

Campus

Location

San Jose, CA

City / state

ZIP
95112
NCES locale
City

Compared with Urban (City) campuses nationally, net price is 60% above the median for Urban (City) campuses ($20,660 median).

Control

Institution type

Private For-profit

Control

Region
Far West
Carnegie
Special Focus Four-Year: Other Health Professions Schools

Size

Enrollment

3,421

Undergraduates (fall)

Undergraduates (full year)
5,368
Graduate
16
Full-time share
100%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$17,317

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
36.16%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$132,216Estimated 4-year total cost
$33,054Average annual net price (after aid)

Costs include tuition and fees. Room & board, books, and other expenses are additional where not shown.

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Gurnick Academy of Medical Arts.

Financial Aid by Income Level

36.16% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
63.36% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Gurnick Academy of Medical Arts was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Gurnick Academy of Medical Arts in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 2013–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013——$21,727
2014——$23,867
2015——$24,566
2016——$24,605
2017——$24,556
2018——$26,709
2019——$27,200
2020——$27,401
2021——$29,278
2022——$29,111
2023——$30,558

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.

Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.

Test Scores

Test score data is not available for this institution.

Score distribution is not available for this institution.

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Gurnick Academy of Medical Arts reported total enrollment of about 3,421 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 26% male and 74% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes Hispanic or Latino (34.5%), Asian (28.0%), and White (17.3%). About 36.16% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 48.2% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

100.0% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Gurnick Academy of Medical Arts in 2024 is 3,421 students.

Over a full year, about 5,368 undergraduates enroll. Graduate enrollment is about 16 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

60.0%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

34.5%Hispanic or Latino
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • Hispanic or Latino34.5%
  • Asian28.0%
  • White or Caucasian17.3%
  • Black or African American7.8%
  • Two or More Races7.0%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown3.3%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander1.6%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.5%
  • Non-Resident Alien0.0%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

N/A 100% Completion Time

79.44% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, N/A of students graduating from Gurnick Academy of Medical Arts completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Licensed Practical/Vocational Nurse Training: 14% male / 86% female
  • Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse: 17% male / 83% female
  • Radiologic Technology/Science - Radiographer: 57% male / 43% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

568Hispanic or Latino
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • Hispanic or Latino568
  • Asian454
  • White or Caucasian264
  • Black or African American101
  • Two or More Races100
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander38
  • American Indian or Alaska Native8

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

Gurnick Academy of Medical Arts graduates earn a median of $75,979 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Gurnick Academy of Medical Arts.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $75,979. Median federal loan debt: $17,317. Average net price used in cost models: $33,054.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway Gurnick Academy of Medical Arts graduates report median earnings of $75,979 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

475%Modeled return on investment
$17,317Median student debt
$75,979Median annual earnings (10 years)
22.79%Debt-to-earnings ratio
2.3 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Gurnick Academy of Medical Arts.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (11 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. 05.1092 128
  2. 05.1091 95

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Gurnick Academy of Medical Arts.

Employment Outcomes

$75,979Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$72,186Median earnings for graduates (5 years after graduation)
$69,809Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$73,901Median earnings (8 years after entry)
91.73%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Gurnick Academy of Medical Arts graduates.

Institutional resources

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Gurnick Academy of Medical Arts—instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 41.6%
    • California median 2.2 pp above median (39.3%)
    • Far West median 4.1 pp below median (45.7%)
    • U.S. median 16.4 pp below median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $9,024
    • California median 0.89× the median ($10,166)
    • Far West median 0.94× the median ($9,635)
    • U.S. median 1.2× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $5,410
    • California median 0.84× the median ($6,474)
    • Far West median 0.77× the median ($7,030)
    • U.S. median 0.74× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Scorecard instructional metrics where reported.

Gurnick Academy of Medical Arts at a glance

Institution snapshot

Gurnick Academy of Medical Arts

San Jose, CA 95112 · Private For-profit · Far West

Gurnick Academy of Medical Arts is a private for-profit institution in San Jose, CA, classified as Special Focus Four-Year: Other Health Professions Schools.

Avg. net price$33,054
Enrollment3,421
Completion (150%)79.44%
Pell Grant share36.16%
First-generation48.2%
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Licensed Practical/Vocational Nurse TrainingRegistered Nursing/Registered NurseRadiologic Technology/Science - Radiographer
Largest enrollment groups
Hispanic or Latino34.5%
Asian28.0%
White or Caucasian17.3%
Nearby

Schools near Gurnick Academy of Medical Arts

Other campuses in San Jose, CA when available, plus nearby institutions in California.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade C) within California, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Gurnick Academy of Medical Arts located?

Gurnick Academy of Medical Arts is located in San Jose, CA.

How much does Gurnick Academy of Medical Arts cost?

Reported tuition is N/A and average net price is $33,054 in the latest College Scorecard data.

What explains Gurnick Academy of Medical Arts's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($33,054), completion (79.4% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($75,979). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at Gurnick Academy of Medical Arts?

Gurnick Academy of Medical Arts reports undergraduate enrollment of about 5,368 students, Hispanic or Latino (34.5%), Asian (28.0%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend Gurnick Academy of Medical Arts?

About 48.2% of students at Gurnick Academy of Medical Arts are first-generation college students.

What do graduates of Gurnick Academy of Medical Arts earn?

Median earnings are $69,809 six years after entry and $75,979 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at Gurnick Academy of Medical Arts?

The 150%-time completion rate is 79.4% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do Gurnick Academy of Medical Arts students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $17,317.

Is Gurnick Academy of Medical Arts public or private?

Gurnick Academy of Medical Arts is a private for-profit institution located in San Jose, CA.

Is Gurnick Academy of Medical Arts an HBCU?

No. Gurnick Academy of Medical Arts is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.

Is Gurnick Academy of Medical Arts a tribal college?

No. Gurnick Academy of Medical Arts is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.

Is Gurnick Academy of Medical Arts religiously affiliated?

No religious affiliation is reported for Gurnick Academy of Medical Arts in IPEDS institutional characteristics.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.