Oregon State University-Cascades Campus
Bend, OR 97702
About Oregon State University-Cascades Campus
Oregon State University-Cascades Campus is a public research university in Bend, Oregon, enrolling about 1,044 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 63.11% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $64,010 among students who received federal aid.
Key findings
- Oregon State University-Cascades Campus charges about 2.5× the national public median tuition ($13,566).
- Versus the Oregon median, sticker tuition is 13% above.
- Completion within 150% of normal time is 55.56%.
- Median earnings 10 years after entry are $64,010.
Research findings
Finding
Modeled return on investment at Oregon State University-Cascades Campus is strong.
Estimated ROI reaches about 787% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.
Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.
Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.
Cost benchmarks
| Benchmark | Median Tuition | Median Net Price | Count |
|---|---|---|---|
| Oregon State University-Cascades Campus | $13,566 | $18,048 | 1 |
| Public (national median) | $5,512 | — | 1,688 |
| Oregon (state median) | $11,997 | $10,548 | 42 |
| Suburban (locale median) | $13,135 | $18,048 | 684 |
| United States (national median) | $11,900 | $17,156 | — |
Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.
How expensive is Oregon State University-Cascades Campus really?
Key findings
- Oregon State University-Cascades Campus charges about 2.5× the national public median tuition ($13,566).
- Versus the Oregon median, sticker tuition is 13% above.
Oregon State University-Cascades Campus tuition
Published undergraduate tuition $13,566
Finding Oregon State University-Cascades Campus charges about 2.5× the national public median tuition.
Evidence Published tuition is $13,566. That is about 2.5× the national public median ($5,512). Versus the Oregon median ($11,997), sticker tuition is 13% above. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is 14% above.
Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.
Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.
Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.
Evidence: published tuition at Oregon State University-Cascades Campus versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.
Evidence: average net price at Oregon State University-Cascades Campus versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.
What undergraduates typically pay
Finding Average net price at Oregon State University-Cascades Campus is $18,048.
Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $18,048 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $7,500 above the Oregon median net price.
Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.
Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.
Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.
Key takeaway At Oregon State University-Cascades Campus, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.
Oregon State University-Cascades Campus: research record
Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Oregon State University-Cascades Campus—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.
Research findings
Interpretation
The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.
Financial profile
In-state tuition
$13,566
Out-of-state tuition
$37,356
Avg. net price
$18,048
Net price by family income
| Income bracket | Avg. annual net price |
|---|---|
| $0–$30,000 | $11,497 |
| $30,001–$48,000 | $11,716 |
| $48,001–$75,000 | $16,694 |
| $75,001–$110,000 | $20,055 |
| $110,001+ | $24,478 |
Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $54,264. See cost investigation.
Student outcomes
Share of first-year students returning the following fall.
Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.
Admissions landscape
- Broad access — most applicants are admitted.
- Yield: 17% of admitted students enrolled.
- Average SAT: 1255
- Midpoint ACT: 25
See Admissions for the full funnel.
Is Oregon State University-Cascades Campus a good school?
Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.
Oregon State University-Cascades Campus is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.
EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.
More from the data
Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Oregon State University-Cascades Campus.
Campus
Location
Bend, OR
City / state
- ZIP
- 97702
- NCES locale
- Suburb
Compared with Suburban campuses nationally, net price is at the median for Suburban campuses ($18,048 median).
Control
Institution type
Public
Control
- Region
- Far West
Size
Enrollment
1,044
Total enrollment
- Undergraduate
- 1,220
- Graduate
- 247
- Full-time share
- 59%
Student aid
Debt & aid
$21,221
Median federal loan debt
- Pell grant share
- 27.41%
Total Cost, Aid & Default
Total Cost of Attendance
Tuition vs average net price after aid for Oregon State University-Cascades Campus.
Financial Aid by Income Level
Financial aid distribution by income level.
Student Loan Default Rate
The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Oregon State University-Cascades Campus was 0.00%.
Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.
Tuition tracker
Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Oregon State University-Cascades Campus in that year.
Reporting years in the table below: 2015–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).
| Year | In-state tuition & fees | Out-of-state tuition & fees | Average net price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2015 | $8,790 | $27,855 | — |
| 2016 | $9,123 | $27,918 | $15,204 |
| 2017 | $9,774 | $28,749 | $15,150 |
| 2018 | $10,158 | $29,403 | $17,162 |
| 2019 | $10,638 | $30,558 | $16,459 |
| 2020 | $10,737 | $30,657 | $20,033 |
| 2021 | $11,037 | $31,452 | $16,163 |
| 2022 | $11,628 | $32,763 | $16,836 |
| 2023 | $12,594 | $34,944 | $17,722 |
Sticker tuition and net price over time
Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.
College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).
Net price by family income
Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).
Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.
How difficult is it to get in?
Acceptance Rate
This institution has a moderate acceptance rate, accepting most qualified applicants.
Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.
Test Scores
Average 1255 (middle 50% not reported)
Midpoint 25 (middle 50% not reported)
Scores for enrollees who submitted tests (College Scorecard).
Academic Requirements
Estimated from admission selectivity and test scores. Scorecard does not publish admitted-student GPA for most institutions.
Estimated range · median 3.40
Estimated GPA band from selectivity and test scores — not an official requirement.
Enrollment & Student Demographics
Oregon State University-Cascades Campus reported total enrollment of about 1,044 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 53% male and 47% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (75.2%), Hispanic or Latino (11.8%), and Two or More Races (5.8%). About 27.41% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 31.4% of students are first-generation college students.
Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment
59.3% Full-Time Enrollment
The total enrollment at Oregon State University-Cascades Campus in 2024 is 1,044 students.
Undergraduate enrollment is about 1,220 students. Graduate enrollment is about 247 students.
Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.
Retention Rate over Time
75.0%
2024 Retention Rate
Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.
Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.
Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity
Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.
College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).
Do students complete their programs?
Time to Complete
33.33% 100% Completion Time
55.56% 150% Completion Time
In 2024, 33.33% of students graduating from Oregon State University-Cascades Campus completed their program within 100% "normal time".
Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.
Oregon State University-Cascades Campus graduates earn a median of $64,010 ten years after entry
Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Oregon State University-Cascades Campus.
Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $64,010. Median federal loan debt: $21,221. Average net price used in cost models: $18,048.
Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.
Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.
Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.
Key takeaway Oregon State University-Cascades Campus graduates report median earnings of $64,010 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.
Return on Investment
Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Oregon State University-Cascades Campus.
Program completion data is not available for this institution.
Employment Outcomes
Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Oregon State University-Cascades Campus graduates.
Institutional resources
Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Oregon State University-Cascades Campus—instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.
Instructional Resources
- Full-time faculty share: 78.6%
- Oregon median 27.4 pp above median (51.2%)
- Far West median 33.0 pp above median (45.7%)
- U.S. median 20.7 pp above median (58.0%)
- Average faculty salary (monthly): $11,502
- Oregon median 1.3× the median ($8,834)
- Far West median 1.2× the median ($9,635)
- U.S. median 1.5× the median ($7,615)
- Instructional expenditure per FTE: $3,535
- Oregon median 0.36× the median ($9,832)
- Far West median 0.50× the median ($7,030)
- U.S. median 0.49× the median ($7,288)
Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.
Scorecard instructional metrics where reported.
Oregon State University-Cascades Campus at a glance
Oregon State University-Cascades Campus
Oregon State University-Cascades Campus is a public institution in Bend, OR.
- Largest enrollment groups
- White or Caucasian75.2%Hispanic or Latino11.8%Two or More Races5.8%
Schools near Oregon State University-Cascades Campus
Other campuses in Bend, OR when available, plus nearby institutions in Oregon.
Similar schools
Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade C) within Oregon, then by similar ownership and admissions.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where is Oregon State University-Cascades Campus located?
Oregon State University-Cascades Campus is located in Bend, OR.
What is Oregon State University-Cascades Campus's acceptance rate?
The acceptance rate at Oregon State University-Cascades Campus is 63.1% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 1,787 applicants and 1,223 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.
What is Oregon State University-Cascades Campus's tuition?
Oregon State University-Cascades Campus tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $13,566 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $18,048 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.
How much does Oregon State University-Cascades Campus cost?
Reported tuition is $13,566 and average net price is $18,048 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $16,386 annually.
What explains Oregon State University-Cascades Campus's return on investment in EDsmart Data?
EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($18,048), completion (55.6% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($64,010). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.
What is the student body demographics at Oregon State University-Cascades Campus?
Oregon State University-Cascades Campus reports undergraduate enrollment of about 1,220 students, White (75.2%), Hispanic or Latino (11.8%) in federal College Scorecard data.
How many first-generation students attend Oregon State University-Cascades Campus?
About 31.4% of students at Oregon State University-Cascades Campus are first-generation college students.
What test scores do students need for Oregon State University-Cascades Campus?
Among enrolled students who submitted scores, Oregon State University-Cascades Campus reports midpoint SAT about 1255 and midpoint ACT about 25.
What do graduates of Oregon State University-Cascades Campus earn?
Median earnings are $50,843 six years after entry and $64,010 ten years after entry.
What is the graduation rate at Oregon State University-Cascades Campus?
The 150%-time completion rate is 55.6% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.
How much debt do Oregon State University-Cascades Campus students have?
Median federal loan debt among completers is $21,221.
Is Oregon State University-Cascades Campus public or private?
Oregon State University-Cascades Campus is a public institution located in Bend, OR.
Data Sources
This page uses data from the following sources:
- College Scorecard - U.S. Department of Education
- Institutional characteristics, costs, completion rates, and earnings data
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)
- Employment and wage data by occupation
- Latest data: May 2024
- Source: bls.gov/oes
- O*NET Online - U.S. Department of Labor
- Occupational skills, knowledge, abilities, and work activities
- Database version: 28.0 (August 2023)
- Source: onetcenter.org
- IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) - National Center for Education Statistics
- Institutional data, completions, enrollment, and financial aid
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: nces.ed.gov/ipeds
- Census Bureau American Community Survey (ACS)
- Demographic and workforce data
- Latest data: 2023 ACS 5-Year Estimates
- Source: census.gov/acs
- Related geography & profiles
Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.
Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.
Methodology & Data Scope
This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.
Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.