Rio Hondo College
Whittier, CA 90601-1616
About Rio Hondo College
Rio Hondo College is a public community college in Whittier, California, with about 15,684 students. The college offers associate degrees, career certificates, and transfer pathways to four-year universities. Typical net price after grant aid is about $14,379 for students who receive it, compared with published tuition near $1,388. Student demographics in federal data include Hispanic or Latino (69.1%) and White (11.8%) among the largest enrollment groups.
Key findings
- Rio Hondo College charges about 0.3× the national public median tuition ($1,388).
- Versus the California median, sticker tuition is about 0.2×.
- Completion within 150% of normal time is 24.53%.
- Median earnings 10 years after entry are $44,950.
Research findings
Finding
Modeled return on investment at Rio Hondo College is strong.
Estimated ROI reaches about 682% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.
Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.
Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.
Finding
Rio Hondo College awards credentials across a wide program mix.
IPEDS completions cover more than 91 distinct degree programs at this campus.
Interpretation: Institutional averages blend very different fields; program-level completions and earnings matter more than the campus mean alone.
Limitation: Completions counts are not enrollment demand and do not measure program quality.
Cost benchmarks
| Benchmark | Median Tuition | Median Net Price | Count |
|---|---|---|---|
| Rio Hondo College | $1,388 | $14,379 | 1 |
| Public (national median) | $5,512 | — | 1,688 |
| California (state median) | $8,093 | $8,343 | 287 |
| United States (national median) | $11,900 | $17,156 | — |
Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.
How expensive is Rio Hondo College really?
Key findings
- Rio Hondo College charges about 0.3× the national public median tuition ($1,388).
- Versus the California median, sticker tuition is about 0.2×.
Rio Hondo College tuition
Published undergraduate tuition $1,388
Finding Rio Hondo College charges about 0.3× the national public median tuition.
Evidence Published tuition is $1,388. That is about 0.3× the national public median ($5,512). Versus the California median ($8,093), sticker tuition is about 0.2×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 0.1×.
Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.
Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.
Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.
Evidence: published tuition at Rio Hondo College versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.
Evidence: average net price at Rio Hondo College versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.
What undergraduates typically pay
Finding Average net price at Rio Hondo College is $14,379.
Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $14,379 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $6,036 above the California median net price.
Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.
Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.
Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.
Key takeaway At Rio Hondo College, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.
Rio Hondo College: research record
Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Rio Hondo College—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.
Research findings
Interpretation
The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.
Financial profile
In-state tuition
$1,388
Out-of-state tuition
$9,884
Avg. net price
$14,379
Net price by family income
| Income bracket | Avg. annual net price |
|---|---|
| $0–$30,000 | $14,549 |
| $30,001–$48,000 | $12,728 |
| $48,001–$75,000 | $15,030 |
| $75,001–$110,000 | $17,305 |
| $110,001+ | $17,355 |
Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $5,552. See cost investigation.
Student outcomes
Share of first-year students returning the following fall.
Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.
What Rio Hondo College is known for
Top program completions
- Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal Studies1,837
- Child Care Provider/Assistant240
- Business Administration and Management, General228
- Fire Prevention and Safety Technology/Technician156
- Criminal Justice/Law Enforcement Administration152
See earnings & programs for more.
Is Rio Hondo College a good school?
Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.
Rio Hondo College is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.
EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.
More from the data
Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Rio Hondo College.
Campus
Location
Whittier, CA
City / state
- ZIP
- 90601-1616
Control
Institution type
Public
Control
- Region
- Far West
- Carnegie
- Master's Colleges and Universities: Larger Programs
Size
Enrollment
15,684
Total enrollment
- Undergraduate
- 28,960
- Full-time share
- 25%
Student aid
Debt & aid
$5,500
Median federal loan debt
- Pell grant share
- 26.17%
Total Cost, Aid & Default
Total Cost of Attendance
Tuition vs average net price after aid for Rio Hondo College.
Financial Aid by Income Level
Financial aid distribution by income level.
Student Loan Default Rate
The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Rio Hondo College was 0.00%.
Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.
Tuition tracker
Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Rio Hondo College in that year.
Reporting years in the table below: 2013–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).
| Year | In-state tuition & fees | Out-of-state tuition & fees | Average net price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2013 | $1,178 | $5,738 | $4,601 |
| 2014 | $1,356 | $6,760 | $4,609 |
| 2015 | $1,360 | $6,960 | $5,004 |
| 2016 | $1,360 | $6,960 | $5,916 |
| 2017 | $1,360 | $6,960 | $5,111 |
| 2018 | $1,360 | $6,624 | $4,433 |
| 2019 | $1,360 | $8,584 | $5,487 |
| 2020 | $1,360 | $8,779 | $5,357 |
| 2021 | $1,388 | $9,884 | $5,461 |
| 2022 | $1,388 | $9,884 | $4,703 |
| 2023 | $1,388 | $9,884 | $11,903 |
Sticker tuition and net price over time
Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.
College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).
Net price by family income
Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).
Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.
How difficult is it to get in?
Acceptance Rate
Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.
Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.
Test Scores
Test score data is not available for this institution.
Score distribution is not available for this institution.
Academic Requirements
GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.
Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.
Enrollment & Student Demographics
Rio Hondo College reported total enrollment of about 15,684 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 61% male and 39% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes Hispanic or Latino (69.1%), White (11.8%), and Race/ethnicity unknown (10.2%). About 26.17% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 68.3% of students are first-generation college students.
Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment
25.0% Full-Time Enrollment
The total enrollment at Rio Hondo College in 2024 is 15,684 students.
Undergraduate enrollment is about 28,960 students.
Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.
Retention Rate over Time
100.0%
2024 Retention Rate
Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.
Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.
Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity
Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.
College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).
Do students complete their programs?
Time to Complete
0.00% 100% Completion Time
24.53% 150% Completion Time
In 2024, 0.00% of students graduating from Rio Hondo College completed their program within 100% "normal time".
Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.
Completions by Sex (Top Programs)
- Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal Studies: 37% male / 63% female
- Child Care Provider/Assistant: 5% male / 95% female
- Business Administration and Management, General: 54% male / 46% female
IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).
Completions by Race & Ethnicity
Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.
Summed across program completion records in our extract.
Rio Hondo College graduates earn a median of $44,950 ten years after entry
Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Rio Hondo College.
Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $44,950. Median federal loan debt: $5,500. Average net price used in cost models: $14,379.
Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.
Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.
Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.
Key takeaway Rio Hondo College graduates report median earnings of $44,950 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.
Return on Investment
Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Rio Hondo College.
Top Programs by Completions
Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (91 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).
IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Rio Hondo College.
Employment Outcomes
Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Rio Hondo College graduates.
How financially powerful is this institution?
Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Rio Hondo College—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.
Institutional endowment
$3.1M
End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023
- California median 0.16× the median ($19.7M)
- Far West median 0.19× the median ($16.8M)
- U.S. median 0.12× the median ($26.4M)
- California median 0.05× the median ($7,407)
- Far West median 0.05× the median ($7,260)
- U.S. median 0.03× the median ($12,100)
Instructional Resources
- Full-time faculty share: 30.6%
- California median 8.8 pp below median (39.3%)
- Far West median 15.1 pp below median (45.7%)
- U.S. median 27.4 pp below median (58.0%)
- Average faculty salary (monthly): $12,922
- California median 1.3× the median ($10,166)
- Far West median 1.3× the median ($9,635)
- U.S. median 1.7× the median ($7,615)
- Instructional expenditure per FTE: $8,467
- California median 1.3× the median ($6,474)
- Far West median 1.2× the median ($7,030)
- U.S. median 1.2× the median ($7,288)
Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.
Rio Hondo College at a glance
Rio Hondo College
Rio Hondo College is a public institution in Whittier, CA, classified as Master's Colleges and Universities: Larger Programs.
- Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
- Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal StudiesChild Care Provider/AssistantBusiness Administration and Management, General
- Largest enrollment groups
- Hispanic or Latino69.1%White or Caucasian11.8%Race/ethnicity unknown10.2%
Schools near Rio Hondo College
Other campuses in Whittier, CA when available, plus nearby institutions in California.
Similar schools
Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade C-) within California, then by similar ownership and admissions.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where is Rio Hondo College located?
Rio Hondo College is located in Whittier, CA.
What is Rio Hondo College's tuition?
Rio Hondo College tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $1,388 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $14,379 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.
How much does Rio Hondo College cost?
Reported tuition is $1,388 and average net price is $14,379 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $22,086 annually.
What explains Rio Hondo College's return on investment in EDsmart Data?
EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($14,379), completion (24.5% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($44,950). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.
What is the student body demographics at Rio Hondo College?
Rio Hondo College reports undergraduate enrollment of about 28,960 students, Hispanic or Latino (69.1%), White (11.8%) in federal College Scorecard data.
How many first-generation students attend Rio Hondo College?
About 68.3% of students at Rio Hondo College are first-generation college students.
What do graduates of Rio Hondo College earn?
Median earnings are $35,115 six years after entry and $44,950 ten years after entry.
What is the graduation rate at Rio Hondo College?
The 150%-time completion rate is 24.5% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.
How much debt do Rio Hondo College students have?
Median federal loan debt among completers is $5,500.
Is Rio Hondo College public or private?
Rio Hondo College is a public institution located in Whittier, CA.
Is Rio Hondo College an HBCU?
No. Rio Hondo College is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.
Is Rio Hondo College a tribal college?
No. Rio Hondo College is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.
Data Sources
This page uses data from the following sources:
- College Scorecard - U.S. Department of Education
- Institutional characteristics, costs, completion rates, and earnings data
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)
- Employment and wage data by occupation
- Latest data: May 2024
- Source: bls.gov/oes
- O*NET Online - U.S. Department of Labor
- Occupational skills, knowledge, abilities, and work activities
- Database version: 28.0 (August 2023)
- Source: onetcenter.org
- IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) - National Center for Education Statistics
- Institutional data, completions, enrollment, and financial aid
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: nces.ed.gov/ipeds
- Census Bureau American Community Survey (ACS)
- Demographic and workforce data
- Latest data: 2023 ACS 5-Year Estimates
- Source: census.gov/acs
- Related geography & profiles
Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.
Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.
Methodology & Data Scope
This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.
Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.