Active Report Report ID: EDU-186399-2026

Rutgers University-Newark

Newark, NJ 07102

Acceptance rate71.36%Broad access
Tuition$18,112Published sticker
Avg. net price$16,013After aid
Graduation rate64.88%150% time
Median salary$80,49010yr post-entry

About Rutgers University-Newark

Rutgers University-Newark is a public research university in Newark, New Jersey, serving roughly 7,709 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 71.36% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $80,490 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • Rutgers University-Newark charges about 3.2× the national public median tuition ($18,112).
  • Versus the New Jersey median, sticker tuition is 36% above.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 64.88%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $80,490.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at Rutgers University-Newark is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 1157% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

02

Finding

Rutgers University-Newark awards credentials across a wide program mix.

IPEDS completions cover more than 53 distinct degree programs at this campus.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: Institutional averages blend very different fields; program-level completions and earnings matter more than the campus mean alone.

Limitation: Completions counts are not enrollment demand and do not measure program quality.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Rutgers University-Newark$18,112$16,0131
Public (national median)$5,700—1,692
New Jersey (state median)$13,325$11,48484
Urban (City) (locale median)$15,860$20,6601,347
United States (national median)$12,200$17,569—

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

Average net price is 12% below published tuition at Rutgers University-Newark

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • Rutgers University-Newark's average net price ($16,013) is 12% below published tuition ($18,112).
  • Rutgers University-Newark charges about 3.2× the national public median tuition ($18,112).
  • Versus the New Jersey median, sticker tuition is 36% above.
Published sticker

Rutgers University-Newark tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $18,112

Finding Rutgers University-Newark charges about 3.2× the national public median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $18,112. That is about 3.2× the national public median ($5,700). Versus the New Jersey median ($13,325), sticker tuition is 36% above. Versus the U.S. median ($12,200), sticker is 48% above.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at Rutgers University-Newark versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at Rutgers University-Newark versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at Rutgers University-Newark is $16,013.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $16,013 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $4,528 above the New Jersey median net price. Versus urban (city) campuses, net price runs $4,646 below the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway Rutgers University-Newark’s published tuition substantially overstates typical undergraduate cost: average net price is about 12% lower after grants and scholarships.

School guide

Rutgers University-Newark: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Rutgers University-Newark—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

In-state tuition

$18,112

Out-of-state tuition

$38,937

Avg. net price

$16,013

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$8,829
$30,001–$48,000$11,678
$48,001–$75,000$14,193
$75,001–$110,000$19,591
$110,001+$27,471

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $72,448. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention83.8%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$65,405Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Admissions landscape

  • Broad access — most applicants are admitted.
  • Yield: 10% of admitted students enrolled.
  • Midpoint ACT: 25

See Admissions for the full funnel.

Is Rutgers University-Newark a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Rutgers University-Newark is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Rutgers University-Newark.

Campus

Location

Newark, NJ

City / state

ZIP
07102
NCES locale
City

Compared with Urban (City) campuses nationally, net price is 22% below the median for Urban (City) campuses ($20,660 median).

Control

Institution type

Public

Control

Region
Mid East
Carnegie
Doctoral Universities: High Research Activity

Size

Enrollment

7,709

Undergraduates (fall)

Undergraduates (full year)
9,305
Graduate
3,326
Full-time share
90%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$18,974

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
57.72%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$64,052Estimated 4-year total cost
$16,013Average annual net price (after aid)
$72,4484-year in-state tuition
$155,7484-year out-of-state tuition
$16,919Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$1,446Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$36,477Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$145,908Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Rutgers University-Newark.

Financial Aid by Income Level

57.72% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
36.15% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Rutgers University-Newark was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Rutgers University-Newark in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 2013–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$12,998$27,022$12,762
2014$13,297$28,075$12,497
2015$13,597$28,987$13,705
2016$13,829$29,480$12,360
2017$14,085$30,026$13,205
2018$14,409$30,717$12,888
2019$14,826$31,608$14,109
2020$14,502$31,284$15,996
2021$15,208$32,409$12,807
2022$15,648$33,348$17,508
2023$16,586$35,348$19,407

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

71.36%Acceptance rate
17,779Total applicants
13,997Students admitted
1,408First-time students enrolled
10.06%Yield (enrolled ÷ admitted)

This institution has a moderate acceptance rate, accepting most qualified applicants.

Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.

Test Scores

25ACT midpoint

Scores for enrollees who submitted tests (College Scorecard).

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Rutgers University-Newark reported total enrollment of about 7,709 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 47% male and 53% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes Hispanic or Latino (35.8%), White (20.1%), and Asian (19.1%). About 57.72% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 34.6% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

90.1% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Rutgers University-Newark in 2024 is 7,709 students.

Over a full year, about 9,305 undergraduates enroll. Graduate enrollment is about 3,326 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

83.8%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

35.8%Hispanic or Latino
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • Hispanic or Latino35.8%
  • White or Caucasian20.1%
  • Asian19.1%
  • Black or African American18.2%
  • Non-Resident Alien2.5%
  • Two or More Races2.4%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown1.7%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.1%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.1%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

42.85% 100% Completion Time

64.88% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 42.85% of students graduating from Rutgers University-Newark completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Business Administration and Management, General: 57% male / 43% female
  • Law: 50% male / 50% female
  • Accounting: 52% male / 48% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

792White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian792
  • Hispanic or Latino745
  • Asian473
  • Black or African American437
  • Two or More Races75
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander3
  • American Indian or Alaska Native1

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

Rutgers University-Newark graduates earn a median of $80,490 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Rutgers University-Newark.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $80,490. Median federal loan debt: $18,974. Average net price used in cost models: $16,013.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway Rutgers University-Newark graduates report median earnings of $80,490 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

1,157%Modeled return on investment
$18,974Median student debt
$80,490Median annual earnings (10 years)
23.57%Debt-to-earnings ratio
2.4 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Rutgers University-Newark.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (53 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Law 296
  2. Accounting 223

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Rutgers University-Newark.

Employment Outcomes

$80,490Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$79,821Median earnings for graduates (5 years after graduation)
$65,405Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$74,769Median earnings (8 years after entry)
94.14%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Rutgers University-Newark graduates.

How financially powerful is this institution?

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Rutgers University-Newark—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Institutional endowment

$228.7M

End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023

Start of year: $221.6M

Year change: $7.1M

  • New Jersey median 15× the median ($15.5M)
  • Mid East median 5.4× the median ($42.6M)
  • U.S. median 8.7× the median ($26.4M)

Per FTE: $23,879

  • New Jersey median 4.7× the median ($5,117)
  • Mid East median 1.5× the median ($16,427)
  • U.S. median 2.0× the median ($12,100)

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 58.8%
    • New Jersey median 19.8 pp below median (78.6%)
    • Mid East median 1.9 pp above median (56.9%)
    • U.S. median 0.9 pp above median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $16,467
    • New Jersey median 2.2× the median ($7,582)
    • Mid East median 2.0× the median ($8,119)
    • U.S. median 2.2× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $20,911
    • New Jersey median 2.9× the median ($7,319)
    • Mid East median 2.3× the median ($9,164)
    • U.S. median 2.9× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Rutgers University-Newark at a glance

Institution snapshot

Rutgers University-Newark

Newark, NJ 07102 · Public · Mid East

Rutgers University-Newark is a public institution in Newark, NJ, classified as Doctoral Universities: High Research Activity.

Tuition$18,112
Avg. net price$16,013
Enrollment7,709
Acceptance rate71.36%
Completion (150%)64.88%
Average ACT25
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Business Administration and Management, GeneralLawAccounting
Largest enrollment groups
Hispanic or Latino35.8%
White or Caucasian20.1%
Asian19.1%
Opportunity College (2025)
Higher access & higher earnings · Browse OCU directory
Nearby

Schools near Rutgers University-Newark

Other campuses in Newark, NJ when available, plus nearby institutions in New Jersey.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade B) within New Jersey, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Rutgers University-Newark located?

Rutgers University-Newark is located in Newark, NJ.

What is Rutgers University-Newark's acceptance rate?

The acceptance rate at Rutgers University-Newark is 71.4% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 17,779 applicants and 13,997 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.

What is Rutgers University-Newark's tuition?

Rutgers University-Newark tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $18,112 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $16,013 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does Rutgers University-Newark cost?

Reported tuition is $18,112 and average net price is $16,013 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $16,919 annually.

Why is Rutgers University-Newark's net price so much lower than tuition?

At Rutgers University-Newark, published tuition is $18,112 while average net price is $16,013—about 12% lower. Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid (College Scorecard). Institutional aid therefore compresses sticker price into a lower typical undergraduate cost signal. The campus average still masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average. EDsmart Data treats the sticker–net gap as an analytical finding, not advice about individual aid offers.

What explains Rutgers University-Newark's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($16,013), completion (64.9% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($80,490). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at Rutgers University-Newark?

Rutgers University-Newark reports undergraduate enrollment of about 9,305 students, Hispanic or Latino (35.8%), White (20.1%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend Rutgers University-Newark?

About 34.6% of students at Rutgers University-Newark are first-generation college students.

What test scores do students need for Rutgers University-Newark?

Among enrolled students who submitted scores, Rutgers University-Newark reports midpoint ACT about 25.

What do graduates of Rutgers University-Newark earn?

Median earnings are $65,405 six years after entry and $80,490 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at Rutgers University-Newark?

The 150%-time completion rate is 64.9% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do Rutgers University-Newark students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $18,974.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.