Active Report Report ID: EDU-163912-2026

St. Mary's College of Maryland

St. Mary's City, MD 20686

Acceptance rate68.63%Broad access
Tuition$15,298Published sticker
Avg. net price$18,441After aid
Graduation rate69.95%150% time
Median salary$60,11010yr post-entry

About St. Mary's College of Maryland

St. Mary's College of Maryland is a public research university in St. Mary's City, Maryland, enrolling about 1,603 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department.

Key findings

  • St. Mary's College of Maryland charges about 2.8× the national public median tuition ($15,298).
  • Versus the Maryland median, sticker tuition is 47% above.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 69.95%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $60,110.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at St. Mary's College of Maryland is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 715% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
St. Mary's College of Maryland$15,298$18,4411
Public (national median)$5,5121,688
Maryland (state median)$10,410$10,55548
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

How expensive is St. Mary's College of Maryland really?

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • St. Mary's College of Maryland charges about 2.8× the national public median tuition ($15,298).
  • Versus the Maryland median, sticker tuition is 47% above.
Published sticker

St. Mary's College of Maryland tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $15,298

Finding St. Mary's College of Maryland charges about 2.8× the national public median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $15,298. That is about 2.8× the national public median ($5,512). Versus the Maryland median ($10,410), sticker tuition is 47% above. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is 29% above.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at St. Mary's College of Maryland versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at St. Mary's College of Maryland versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at St. Mary's College of Maryland is $18,441.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $18,441 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $7,886 above the Maryland median net price.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway At St. Mary's College of Maryland, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.

School guide

St. Mary's College of Maryland: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for St. Mary's College of Maryland—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

In-state tuition

$15,298

Out-of-state tuition

$31,374

Avg. net price

$18,441

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$2,889
$30,001–$48,000$12,053
$48,001–$75,000$15,033
$75,001–$110,000$19,796
$110,001+$25,173

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $61,192. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention85.8%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$52,286Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Admissions landscape

  • Broad access — most applicants are admitted.
  • Yield: 19% of admitted students enrolled.
  • Average SAT: 1261
  • Midpoint ACT: 29

See Admissions for the full funnel.

Is St. Mary's College of Maryland a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

St. Mary's College of Maryland is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for St. Mary's College of Maryland.

Campus

Location

St. Mary's City, MD

City / state

ZIP
20686

Control

Institution type

Public

Control

Region
Mid East
Carnegie
Baccalaureate Colleges: Diverse Fields

Size

Enrollment

1,603

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
1,701
Graduate
14
Full-time share
98%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$21,000

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
21.12%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$73,764Estimated 4-year total cost
$18,441Average annual net price (after aid)
$61,1924-year in-state tuition
$125,4964-year out-of-state tuition
$16,079Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$1,000Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$32,377Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$129,508Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for St. Mary's College of Maryland.

Financial Aid by Income Level

21.12% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
42.74% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at St. Mary's College of Maryland was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for St. Mary's College of Maryland in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$14,864$28,664$20,616
2014$13,824$28,674$16,881
2015$13,895$28,745$21,049
2016$14,192$29,340$19,715
2017$14,496$29,948$21,025
2018$14,806$30,568$20,637
2019$15,124$31,200$19,369
2020$15,124$31,200$19,448
2021$15,124$31,200$20,512
2022$15,184$31,260$18,736
2023$15,236$31,312$18,362

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

68.63%Acceptance rate
3,109Total applicants
2,344Students admitted
442First-time students enrolled
18.86%Yield (enrolled ÷ admitted)

This institution has a moderate acceptance rate, accepting most qualified applicants.

Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.

Test Scores

1261SAT average
29ACT midpoint

Scores for enrollees who submitted tests (College Scorecard).

Academic Requirements

3.40Estimated median GPA
3.3–3.5Estimated GPA range

Estimated from admission selectivity and test scores. Scorecard does not publish admitted-student GPA for most institutions.

Estimated GPA band from selectivity and test scores — not an official requirement.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

St. Mary's College of Maryland reported total enrollment of about 1,603 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 40% male and 60% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (68.8%), Black or African American (11.3%), and Hispanic or Latino (9.2%). About 21.12% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 23.3% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

98.2% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at St. Mary's College of Maryland in 2024 is 1,603 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 1,701 students. Graduate enrollment is about 14 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

85.8%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

68.8%White or Caucasian
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • White or Caucasian68.8%
  • Black or African American11.3%
  • Hispanic or Latino9.2%
  • Two or More Races6.4%
  • Asian2.7%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown0.9%
  • Non-Resident Alien0.3%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.2%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.2%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

60.37% 100% Completion Time

69.95% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 60.37% of students graduating from St. Mary's College of Maryland completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Psychology, General: 15% male / 85% female
  • Biology/Biological Sciences, General: 18% male / 82% female
  • Economics, General: 63% male / 37% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

312White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian312
  • Black or African American36
  • Hispanic or Latino26
  • Two or More Races13
  • Asian12
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander3
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

St. Mary's College of Maryland graduates earn a median of $60,110 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of St. Mary's College of Maryland.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $60,110. Median federal loan debt: $21,000. Average net price used in cost models: $18,441.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway St. Mary's College of Maryland graduates report median earnings of $60,110 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

715%Modeled return on investment
$21,000Median student debt
$60,110Median annual earnings (10 years)
34.94%Debt-to-earnings ratio
3.5 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for St. Mary's College of Maryland.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (28 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Economics, General 41
  2. English Language and Literature, General 22

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at St. Mary's College of Maryland.

Employment Outcomes

$60,110Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$52,286Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$57,190Median earnings (8 years after entry)
86.26%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for St. Mary's College of Maryland graduates.

How financially powerful is this institution?

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for St. Mary's College of Maryland—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Institutional endowment

$41.3M

End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023

Start of year: $40M

Year change: $1.2M

  • Maryland median 0.92× the median ($44.9M)
  • Mid East median near the median ($42.6M)
  • U.S. median 1.6× the median ($26.4M)

Per FTE: $25,354

  • Maryland median 1.9× the median ($13,247)
  • Mid East median 1.5× the median ($16,427)
  • U.S. median 2.1× the median ($12,100)

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 70.2%
    • Maryland median 20.2 pp above median (50.0%)
    • Mid East median 13.3 pp above median (56.9%)
    • U.S. median 12.2 pp above median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $9,044
    • Maryland median near the median ($8,806)
    • Mid East median 1.1× the median ($8,119)
    • U.S. median 1.2× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $13,110
    • Maryland median 1.3× the median ($10,120)
    • Mid East median 1.4× the median ($9,164)
    • U.S. median 1.8× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

St. Mary's College of Maryland at a glance

Institution snapshot

St. Mary's College of Maryland

St. Mary's City, MD 20686 · Public · Mid East

St. Mary's College of Maryland is a public institution in St. Mary's City, MD, classified as Baccalaureate Colleges: Diverse Fields.

Tuition$15,298
Avg. net price$18,441
Enrollment1,603
Acceptance rate68.63%
Completion (150%)69.95%
Average SAT1261
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Psychology, GeneralBiology/Biological Sciences, GeneralEconomics, General
Largest enrollment groups
White or Caucasian68.8%
Black or African American11.3%
Hispanic or Latino9.2%
Nearby

Schools near St. Mary's College of Maryland

Other campuses in St. Mary's City, MD when available, plus nearby institutions in Maryland.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade B) within Maryland, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is St. Mary's College of Maryland located?

St. Mary's College of Maryland is located in St. Mary's City, MD.

What is St. Mary's College of Maryland's acceptance rate?

The acceptance rate at St. Mary's College of Maryland is 68.6% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 3,109 applicants and 2,344 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.

What is St. Mary's College of Maryland's tuition?

St. Mary's College of Maryland tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $15,298 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $18,441 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does St. Mary's College of Maryland cost?

Reported tuition is $15,298 and average net price is $18,441 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $16,079 annually.

What explains St. Mary's College of Maryland's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($18,441), completion (70.0% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($60,110). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at St. Mary's College of Maryland?

St. Mary's College of Maryland reports undergraduate enrollment of about 1,701 students, White (68.8%), Black or African American (11.3%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend St. Mary's College of Maryland?

About 23.3% of students at St. Mary's College of Maryland are first-generation college students.

What test scores do students need for St. Mary's College of Maryland?

Among enrolled students who submitted scores, St. Mary's College of Maryland reports midpoint SAT about 1261 and midpoint ACT about 29.

What do graduates of St. Mary's College of Maryland earn?

Median earnings are $52,286 six years after entry and $60,110 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at St. Mary's College of Maryland?

The 150%-time completion rate is 70.0% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do St. Mary's College of Maryland students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $21,000.

Is St. Mary's College of Maryland public or private?

St. Mary's College of Maryland is a public institution located in St. Mary's City, MD.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.