Towson University
Towson, MD 21252-0001
About Towson University
Towson University is a public research university in Towson, Maryland, with about 16,136 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 81.97% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $64,390 among students who received federal aid.
Key findings
- Towson University charges about 2.1× the national public median tuition ($11,728).
- Versus the Maryland median, sticker tuition is 13% above.
- Completion within 150% of normal time is 69.46%.
- Median earnings 10 years after entry are $64,390.
Research findings
Finding
Modeled return on investment at Towson University is strong.
Estimated ROI reaches about 824% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.
Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.
Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.
Finding
Towson University awards credentials across a wide program mix.
IPEDS completions cover more than 106 distinct degree programs at this campus.
Interpretation: Institutional averages blend very different fields; program-level completions and earnings matter more than the campus mean alone.
Limitation: Completions counts are not enrollment demand and do not measure program quality.
Cost benchmarks
| Benchmark | Median Tuition | Median Net Price | Count |
|---|---|---|---|
| Towson University | $11,728 | $17,413 | 1 |
| Public (national median) | $5,512 | — | 1,688 |
| Maryland (state median) | $10,410 | $10,555 | 48 |
| Town (locale median) | $9,600 | $14,971 | 1,517 |
| United States (national median) | $11,900 | $17,156 | — |
Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.
How expensive is Towson University really?
Key findings
- Towson University charges about 2.1× the national public median tuition ($11,728).
- Versus the Maryland median, sticker tuition is 13% above.
Towson University tuition
Published undergraduate tuition $11,728
Finding Towson University charges about 2.1× the national public median tuition.
Evidence Published tuition is $11,728. That is about 2.1× the national public median ($5,512). Versus the Maryland median ($10,410), sticker tuition is 13% above. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is 1% below.
Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.
Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.
Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.
Evidence: published tuition at Towson University versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.
Evidence: average net price at Towson University versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.
What undergraduates typically pay
Finding Average net price at Towson University is $17,413.
Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $17,413 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $6,858 above the Maryland median net price. Versus town campuses, net price runs $2,442 above the locale median.
Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.
Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.
Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.
Key takeaway At Towson University, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.
Towson University: research record
Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Towson University—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.
Research findings
Interpretation
The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.
Financial profile
In-state tuition
$11,728
Out-of-state tuition
$29,820
Avg. net price
$17,413
Net price by family income
| Income bracket | Avg. annual net price |
|---|---|
| $0–$30,000 | $6,962 |
| $30,001–$48,000 | $12,590 |
| $48,001–$75,000 | $16,784 |
| $75,001–$110,000 | $22,720 |
| $110,001+ | $26,396 |
Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $46,912. See cost investigation.
Student outcomes
Share of first-year students returning the following fall.
Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.
What Towson University is known for
Top program completions
- Business Administration and Management, General506
- Psychology, General429
- Information Technology290
- Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse250
- Social Sciences, Other208
See earnings & programs for more.
Admissions landscape
- Broad access — most applicants are admitted.
- Yield: 19% of admitted students enrolled.
- Average SAT: 1095
- Midpoint ACT: 24
See Admissions for the full funnel.
Is Towson University a good school?
Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.
Towson University is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.
EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.
More from the data
Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Towson University.
Campus
Location
Towson, MD
City / state
- ZIP
- 21252-0001
- NCES locale
- Town
Compared with Town campuses nationally, net price is 16% above the median for Town campuses ($14,971 median).
Control
Institution type
Public
Control
- Region
- Mid East
- Carnegie
- Master's Colleges and Universities: Medium Programs
Size
Enrollment
16,136
Total enrollment
- Undergraduate
- 17,881
- Graduate
- 3,137
- Full-time share
- 89%
Student aid
Debt & aid
$18,718
Median federal loan debt
- Pell grant share
- 35.79%
Total Cost, Aid & Default
Total Cost of Attendance
Tuition vs average net price after aid for Towson University.
Financial Aid by Income Level
Financial aid distribution by income level.
Student Loan Default Rate
The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Towson University was 0.00%.
Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.
Tuition tracker
Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Towson University in that year.
Reporting years in the table below: 2013–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).
| Year | In-state tuition & fees | Out-of-state tuition & fees | Average net price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2013 | $8,342 | $20,020 | $16,133 |
| 2014 | $8,590 | $20,268 | $16,363 |
| 2015 | $9,182 | $20,788 | $17,516 |
| 2016 | $9,408 | $21,076 | $17,628 |
| 2017 | $9,694 | $22,140 | $17,893 |
| 2018 | $9,940 | $23,208 | $18,186 |
| 2019 | $10,198 | $24,334 | $18,233 |
| 2020 | $10,198 | $24,334 | $18,105 |
| 2021 | $10,464 | $25,516 | $12,621 |
| 2022 | $10,818 | $26,820 | $14,151 |
| 2023 | $11,306 | $28,326 | $16,791 |
Sticker tuition and net price over time
Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.
College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).
Net price by family income
Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).
Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.
How difficult is it to get in?
Acceptance Rate
This institution has a moderate acceptance rate, accepting most qualified applicants.
Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.
Test Scores
Average 1095 (middle 50% not reported)
Midpoint 24 (middle 50% not reported)
Scores for enrollees who submitted tests (College Scorecard).
Academic Requirements
Estimated from admission selectivity and test scores. Scorecard does not publish admitted-student GPA for most institutions.
Estimated range · median 3.20
Estimated GPA band from selectivity and test scores — not an official requirement.
Enrollment & Student Demographics
Towson University reported total enrollment of about 16,136 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 41% male and 59% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (37.8%), Black or African American (35.7%), and Hispanic or Latino (11.5%). About 35.79% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 29.0% of students are first-generation college students.
Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment
89.1% Full-Time Enrollment
The total enrollment at Towson University in 2024 is 16,136 students.
Undergraduate enrollment is about 17,881 students. Graduate enrollment is about 3,137 students.
Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.
Retention Rate over Time
82.8%
2024 Retention Rate
Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.
Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.
Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity
Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.
College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).
Do students complete their programs?
Time to Complete
47.12% 100% Completion Time
69.46% 150% Completion Time
In 2024, 47.12% of students graduating from Towson University completed their program within 100% "normal time".
Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.
Completions by Sex (Top Programs)
- Business Administration and Management, General: 59% male / 41% female
- Psychology, General: 16% male / 84% female
- Information Technology: 66% male / 34% female
IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).
Completions by Race & Ethnicity
Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.
Summed across program completion records in our extract.
Towson University graduates earn a median of $64,390 ten years after entry
Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Towson University.
Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $64,390. Median federal loan debt: $18,718. Average net price used in cost models: $17,413.
Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.
Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.
Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.
Key takeaway Towson University graduates report median earnings of $64,390 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.
Return on Investment
Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Towson University.
Top Programs by Completions
Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (106 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).
IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Towson University.
Employment Outcomes
Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Towson University graduates.
How financially powerful is this institution?
Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Towson University—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.
Institutional endowment
$99.6M
End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023
- Maryland median 2.2× the median ($44.9M)
- Mid East median 2.3× the median ($42.6M)
- U.S. median 3.8× the median ($26.4M)
- Maryland median 0.43× the median ($13,247)
- Mid East median 0.35× the median ($16,427)
- U.S. median 0.47× the median ($12,100)
Instructional Resources
- Full-time faculty share: 57.1%
- Maryland median 7.1 pp above median (50.0%)
- Mid East median 0.2 pp above median (56.9%)
- U.S. median 0.8 pp below median (58.0%)
- Average faculty salary (monthly): $9,975
- Maryland median 1.1× the median ($8,806)
- Mid East median 1.2× the median ($8,119)
- U.S. median 1.3× the median ($7,615)
- Instructional expenditure per FTE: $10,084
- Maryland median near the median ($10,120)
- Mid East median 1.1× the median ($9,164)
- U.S. median 1.4× the median ($7,288)
Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.
Towson University at a glance
Towson University
Towson University is a public institution in Towson, MD, classified as Master's Colleges and Universities: Medium Programs.
- Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
- Business Administration and Management, GeneralPsychology, GeneralInformation Technology
- Largest enrollment groups
- White or Caucasian37.8%Black or African American35.7%Hispanic or Latino11.5%
Schools near Towson University
Other campuses in Towson, MD when available, plus nearby institutions in Maryland.
Similar schools
Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade B) within Maryland, then by similar ownership and admissions.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where is Towson University located?
Towson University is located in Towson, MD.
What is Towson University's acceptance rate?
The acceptance rate at Towson University is 82.0% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 18,948 applicants and 15,689 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.
What is Towson University's tuition?
Towson University tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $11,728 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $17,413 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.
How much does Towson University cost?
Reported tuition is $11,728 and average net price is $17,413 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $16,260 annually.
What explains Towson University's return on investment in EDsmart Data?
EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($17,413), completion (69.5% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($64,390). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.
What is the student body demographics at Towson University?
Towson University reports undergraduate enrollment of about 17,881 students, White (37.8%), Black or African American (35.7%) in federal College Scorecard data.
How many first-generation students attend Towson University?
About 29.0% of students at Towson University are first-generation college students.
What test scores do students need for Towson University?
Among enrolled students who submitted scores, Towson University reports midpoint SAT about 1095 and midpoint ACT about 24.
What do graduates of Towson University earn?
Median earnings are $54,302 six years after entry and $64,390 ten years after entry.
What is the graduation rate at Towson University?
The 150%-time completion rate is 69.5% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.
How much debt do Towson University students have?
Median federal loan debt among completers is $18,718.
Is Towson University public or private?
Towson University is a public institution located in Towson, MD.
Data Sources
This page uses data from the following sources:
- College Scorecard - U.S. Department of Education
- Institutional characteristics, costs, completion rates, and earnings data
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)
- Employment and wage data by occupation
- Latest data: May 2024
- Source: bls.gov/oes
- O*NET Online - U.S. Department of Labor
- Occupational skills, knowledge, abilities, and work activities
- Database version: 28.0 (August 2023)
- Source: onetcenter.org
- IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) - National Center for Education Statistics
- Institutional data, completions, enrollment, and financial aid
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: nces.ed.gov/ipeds
- Census Bureau American Community Survey (ACS)
- Demographic and workforce data
- Latest data: 2023 ACS 5-Year Estimates
- Source: census.gov/acs
- Related geography & profiles
Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.
Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.
Methodology & Data Scope
This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.
Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.