Active Report Report ID: EDU-130590-2026

Trinity College

Hartford, CT 06106-3100

Acceptance rate29.25%Highly competitive
Tuition$70,770Published sticker
Avg. net price$34,832After aid
Graduation rate83.77%150% time
Median salary$90,77910yr post-entry

About Trinity College

Trinity College is a private research university in Hartford, Connecticut, enrolling about 2,146 students. Admission is selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 29.25% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $90,779 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • Trinity College charges about 2.4× the national private non-profit median tuition ($70,770).
  • Versus the Connecticut median, sticker tuition is about 3.4×.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 83.77%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $90,779.

Research findings

01

Finding

Average net price at Trinity College is about 51% below published tuition.

Published tuition is $70,770; average net price is $34,832 in the latest Scorecard extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: Institutional aid and grants compress sticker price into a substantially lower typical undergraduate cost signal.

Limitation: Average net price masks variation by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the campus average.

02

Finding

Modeled return on investment at Trinity College is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 552% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Trinity College$70,770$34,8321
Private Non-profit (national median)$29,3251,444
Connecticut (state median)$21,044$16,79833
Suburban (locale median)$13,135$18,048684
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

Average net price is 51% below published tuition at Trinity College

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • Trinity College's average net price ($34,832) is 51% below published tuition ($70,770).
  • Trinity College charges about 2.4× the national private non-profit median tuition ($70,770).
  • Versus the Connecticut median, sticker tuition is about 3.4×.
Published sticker

Trinity College tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $70,770

Finding Trinity College charges about 2.4× the national private non-profit median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $70,770. That is about 2.4× the national private non-profit median ($29,325). Versus the Connecticut median ($21,044), sticker tuition is about 3.4×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 5.9×.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to private non-profit and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at Trinity College versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at Trinity College versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at Trinity College is $34,832.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $34,832 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $18,034 above the Connecticut median net price. Versus suburban campuses, net price runs $16,784 above the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway Trinity College’s published tuition substantially overstates typical undergraduate cost: average net price is about 51% lower after grants and scholarships.

School guide

Trinity College: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Trinity College—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

Completion, earnings, and net price together describe a campus where sticker price overstates typical undergraduate cost while outcomes remain at the high end of Scorecard distributions.

Financial profile

Annual tuition

$70,770

Avg. net price

$34,832

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$11,054
$30,001–$48,000$13,599
$48,001–$75,000$18,325
$75,001–$110,000$24,369
$110,001+$48,515

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $283,080. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention90.0%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$67,628Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Admissions landscape

  • Highly selective — fewer than 3 in 10 applicants are admitted.
  • Yield: 27% of admitted students enrolled.
  • Average SAT: 1415
  • Midpoint ACT: 31

See Admissions for the full funnel.

Is Trinity College a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Trinity College is a good school for those looking for strong completion and solid mid-career earnings—especially where average net price sits well below published tuition (about 51% lower in this extract).

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Strong completionEarnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Trinity College.

Campus

Location

Hartford, CT

City / state

ZIP
06106-3100
NCES locale
Suburb

Compared with Suburban campuses nationally, net price is about 1.9× the median for Suburban campuses ($18,048 median).

Control

Institution type

Private Non-profit

Control

Region
New England
Carnegie
Baccalaureate Colleges: Diverse Fields

Size

Enrollment

2,146

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
2,271
Graduate
34
Full-time share
99%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$23,000

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
13.77%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$139,328Estimated 4-year total cost
$34,832Average annual net price (after aid)
$283,0804-year tuition
$18,890Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$1,000Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$90,660Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$362,640Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Trinity College.

Financial Aid by Income Level

13.77% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
37.77% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Trinity College was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Trinity College in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$47,510$47,510$26,419
2014$49,056$49,056$29,514
2015$50,776$50,776$30,081
2016$52,760$52,760$30,530
2017$54,770$54,770$31,808
2018$56,910$56,910$32,122
2019$59,050$59,050$34,460
2020$59,050$59,050$32,694
2021$61,370$61,370$32,036
2022$63,930$63,930$37,118
2023$67,420$67,420$35,009

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

29.25%Acceptance rate
6,396Total applicants
2,144Students admitted
579First-time students enrolled
27.01%Yield (enrolled ÷ admitted)

This institution is highly selective, accepting fewer than 3 in 10 applicants.

Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.

Test Scores

1415SAT average
31ACT midpoint

Scores for enrollees who submitted tests (College Scorecard).

Academic Requirements

3.85Estimated median GPA
3.7–3.9Estimated GPA range

Estimated from admission selectivity and test scores. Scorecard does not publish admitted-student GPA for most institutions.

Estimated GPA band from selectivity and test scores — not an official requirement.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Trinity College reported total enrollment of about 2,146 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 47% male and 53% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (58.7%), Non-Resident Alien (13.8%), and Hispanic or Latino (10.2%). About 13.77% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 17.8% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

99.2% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Trinity College in 2024 is 2,146 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 2,271 students. Graduate enrollment is about 34 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

90.0%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

58.7%White or Caucasian
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • White or Caucasian58.7%
  • Non-Resident Alien13.8%
  • Hispanic or Latino10.2%
  • Black or African American6.1%
  • Two or More Races4.6%
  • Asian4.4%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown2.2%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.1%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.0%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

77.89% 100% Completion Time

83.77% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 77.89% of students graduating from Trinity College completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Political Science and Government, General: 60% male / 40% female
  • Economics, General: 72% male / 28% female
  • Research and Experimental Psychology, Other: 21% male / 79% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

405White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian405
  • Hispanic or Latino61
  • Black or African American33
  • Asian23
  • Two or More Races18
  • American Indian or Alaska Native2
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

Trinity College graduates earn a median of $90,779 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Trinity College.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $90,779. Median federal loan debt: $23,000. Average net price used in cost models: $34,832.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway Trinity College graduates report median earnings of $90,779 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

552%Modeled return on investment
$23,000Median student debt
$90,779Median annual earnings (10 years)
25.34%Debt-to-earnings ratio
2.5 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Trinity College.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (42 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Economics, General 61
  2. Public Policy Analysis, General 48
  3. English Language and Literature, General 30
  4. Econometrics and Quantitative Economics 29

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Trinity College.

Employment Outcomes

$90,779Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$67,628Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$85,907Median earnings (8 years after entry)
36.84%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Trinity College graduates.

How financially powerful is this institution?

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Trinity College—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Institutional endowment

$807.4M

End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023

Start of year: $796M

Year change: $11.5M

  • Connecticut median 14× the median ($56.9M)
  • New England median 19× the median ($42.9M)
  • U.S. median 31× the median ($26.4M)

Per FTE: $368,860

  • Connecticut median 16× the median ($23,500)
  • New England median 16× the median ($23,268)
  • U.S. median 30× the median ($12,100)

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 88.0%
    • Connecticut median 20.0 pp above median (68.0%)
    • New England median 34.7 pp above median (53.3%)
    • U.S. median 30.0 pp above median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $11,642
    • Connecticut median near the median ($11,112)
    • New England median 1.3× the median ($9,262)
    • U.S. median 1.5× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $28,943
    • Connecticut median 3.8× the median ($7,608)
    • New England median 2.8× the median ($10,182)
    • U.S. median 4.0× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Trinity College at a glance

Institution snapshot

Trinity College

Hartford, CT 06106-3100 · Private Non-profit · New England

Trinity College is a private non-profit institution in Hartford, CT, classified as Baccalaureate Colleges: Diverse Fields.

Tuition$70,770
Avg. net price$34,832
Enrollment2,146
Acceptance rate29.25%
Completion (150%)83.77%
Average SAT1415
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Political Science and Government, GeneralEconomics, GeneralResearch and Experimental Psychology, Other
Largest enrollment groups
White or Caucasian58.7%
Non-Resident Alien13.8%
Hispanic or Latino10.2%
Nearby

Schools near Trinity College

Other campuses in Hartford, CT when available, plus nearby institutions in Connecticut.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade A) within Connecticut, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Trinity College located?

Trinity College is located in Hartford, CT.

What is Trinity College's acceptance rate?

The acceptance rate at Trinity College is 29.2% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 6,396 applicants and 2,144 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.

What is Trinity College's tuition?

Trinity College tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $70,770 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $34,832 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does Trinity College cost?

Reported tuition is $70,770 and average net price is $34,832 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $18,890 annually.

Why is Trinity College's net price so much lower than tuition?

At Trinity College, published tuition is $70,770 while average net price is $34,832—about 51% lower. Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid (College Scorecard). Institutional aid therefore compresses sticker price into a lower typical undergraduate cost signal. The campus average still masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average. EDsmart Data treats the sticker–net gap as an analytical finding, not advice about individual aid offers.

What explains Trinity College's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($34,832), completion (83.8% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($90,779). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at Trinity College?

Trinity College reports undergraduate enrollment of about 2,271 students, White (58.7%), Non-Resident Alien (13.8%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend Trinity College?

About 17.8% of students at Trinity College are first-generation college students.

What test scores do students need for Trinity College?

Among enrolled students who submitted scores, Trinity College reports midpoint SAT about 1415 and midpoint ACT about 31.

What do graduates of Trinity College earn?

Median earnings are $67,628 six years after entry and $90,779 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at Trinity College?

The 150%-time completion rate is 83.8% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do Trinity College students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $23,000.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.