Active Report Report ID: EDU-129020-2026

University of Connecticut

Storrs, CT 06269

Acceptance rate52.39%Selective
Tuition$21,044Published sticker
Avg. net price$25,097After aid
Graduation rate83.29%150% time
Median salary$73,99710yr post-entry

About University of Connecticut

University of Connecticut (UConn) is a public research university in Storrs, Connecticut, with about 19,835 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 52.39% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $73,997 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • University of Connecticut charges about 3.8× the national public median tuition ($21,044).
  • Versus the Connecticut median, sticker tuition is at.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 83.29%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $73,997.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at University of Connecticut is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 637% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

02

Finding

University of Connecticut awards credentials across a wide program mix.

IPEDS completions cover more than 203 distinct degree programs at this campus.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: Institutional averages blend very different fields; program-level completions and earnings matter more than the campus mean alone.

Limitation: Completions counts are not enrollment demand and do not measure program quality.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
University of Connecticut$21,044$25,0971
Public (national median)$5,5121,688
Connecticut (state median)$21,044$16,79833
Town (locale median)$9,600$14,9711,517
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

How expensive is University of Connecticut really?

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • University of Connecticut charges about 3.8× the national public median tuition ($21,044).
  • Versus the Connecticut median, sticker tuition is at.
Published sticker

University of Connecticut tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $21,044

Finding University of Connecticut charges about 3.8× the national public median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $21,044. That is about 3.8× the national public median ($5,512). Versus the Connecticut median ($21,044), sticker tuition is at. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 1.8×.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at University of Connecticut versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at University of Connecticut versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at University of Connecticut is $25,097.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $25,097 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $8,299 above the Connecticut median net price. Versus town campuses, net price runs $10,126 above the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway At University of Connecticut, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.

School guide

University of Connecticut: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for University of Connecticut—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

In-state tuition

$21,044

Out-of-state tuition

$43,712

Avg. net price

$25,097

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$15,193
$30,001–$48,000$16,339
$48,001–$75,000$20,608
$75,001–$110,000$28,285
$110,001+$33,797

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $84,176. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention92.5%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$63,322Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Admissions landscape

  • Selective — about half of applicants (or fewer) are admitted.
  • Yield: 17% of admitted students enrolled.
  • Average SAT: 1348
  • Midpoint ACT: 30

See Admissions for the full funnel.

Is University of Connecticut a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

University of Connecticut is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Strong completionEarnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for University of Connecticut.

Campus

Location

Storrs, CT

City / state

ZIP
06269
NCES locale
Town fringe

Compared with Town campuses nationally, net price is 68% above the median for Town campuses ($14,971 median).

Control

Institution type

Public

Control

Region
New England
Carnegie
Doctoral Universities: Very High Research Activity

Size

Enrollment

19,835

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
42,027
Graduate
8,250
Full-time share
98%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$21,500

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
25.38%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$100,388Estimated 4-year total cost
$25,097Average annual net price (after aid)
$84,1764-year in-state tuition
$174,8484-year out-of-state tuition
$14,380Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$990Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$36,414Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$145,656Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for University of Connecticut.

Financial Aid by Income Level

25.38% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
41.56% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at University of Connecticut was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for University of Connecticut in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$12,022$30,970$19,431
2014$12,700$32,880$20,337
2015$13,366$34,908$20,023
2016$14,066$35,858$21,223
2017$14,880$36,948$20,681
2018$15,730$38,098$21,588
2019$17,226$39,894$22,012
2020$17,834$40,502$22,974
2021$18,524$41,192$21,724
2022$19,434$42,102$23,512
2023$20,366$43,034$22,886

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

52.39%Acceptance rate
46,645Total applicants
25,164Students admitted
4,189First-time students enrolled
16.65%Yield (enrolled ÷ admitted)

This institution is selective, accepting about half of all applicants.

Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.

Test Scores

1348SAT average
30ACT midpoint

Scores for enrollees who submitted tests (College Scorecard).

Academic Requirements

3.60Estimated median GPA
3.5–3.7Estimated GPA range

Estimated from admission selectivity and test scores. Scorecard does not publish admitted-student GPA for most institutions.

Estimated GPA band from selectivity and test scores — not an official requirement.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

University of Connecticut reported total enrollment of about 19,835 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 45% male and 55% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (50.6%), Hispanic or Latino (16.7%), and Asian (12.6%). About 25.38% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 26.6% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

98.2% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at University of Connecticut in 2024 is 19,835 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 42,027 students. Graduate enrollment is about 8,250 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

92.5%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

50.6%White or Caucasian
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • White or Caucasian50.6%
  • Hispanic or Latino16.7%
  • Asian12.6%
  • Black or African American7.6%
  • Non-Resident Alien7.0%
  • Two or More Races4.8%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown0.7%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.1%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.0%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

72.89% 100% Completion Time

83.29% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 72.89% of students graduating from University of Connecticut completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Psychology, General: 25% male / 75% female
  • Economics, General: 71% male / 29% female
  • Business Administration and Management, General: 56% male / 44% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

4,854White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian4,854
  • Hispanic or Latino1,261
  • Asian1,043
  • Black or African American589
  • Two or More Races313
  • American Indian or Alaska Native6
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander4

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

University of Connecticut graduates earn a median of $73,997 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of University of Connecticut.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $73,997. Median federal loan debt: $21,500. Average net price used in cost models: $25,097.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway University of Connecticut graduates report median earnings of $73,997 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

637%Modeled return on investment
$21,500Median student debt
$73,997Median annual earnings (10 years)
29.06%Debt-to-earnings ratio
2.9 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for University of Connecticut.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (203 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Economics, General 380
  2. Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services, Other 242

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at University of Connecticut.

Employment Outcomes

$73,997Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$63,322Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$69,005Median earnings (8 years after entry)
17.84%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for University of Connecticut graduates.

How financially powerful is this institution?

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for University of Connecticut—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Institutional endowment

$566.2M

End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023

Start of year: $583.9M

Year change: -$17.7M

  • Connecticut median 10.0× the median ($56.9M)
  • New England median 13× the median ($42.9M)
  • U.S. median 21× the median ($26.4M)

Per FTE: $21,594

  • Connecticut median 0.92× the median ($23,500)
  • New England median 0.93× the median ($23,268)
  • U.S. median 1.8× the median ($12,100)

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 69.6%
    • Connecticut median 1.6 pp above median (68.0%)
    • New England median 16.4 pp above median (53.3%)
    • U.S. median 11.7 pp above median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $14,634
    • Connecticut median 1.3× the median ($11,112)
    • New England median 1.6× the median ($9,262)
    • U.S. median 1.9× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $23,435
    • Connecticut median 3.1× the median ($7,608)
    • New England median 2.3× the median ($10,182)
    • U.S. median 3.2× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

University of Connecticut at a glance

Institution snapshot

University of Connecticut

Storrs, CT 06269 · Public · New England

University of Connecticut is a public institution in Storrs, CT, classified as Doctoral Universities: Very High Research Activity.

Tuition$21,044
Avg. net price$25,097
Enrollment19,835
Acceptance rate52.39%
Completion (150%)83.29%
Average SAT1348
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Psychology, GeneralEconomics, GeneralBusiness Administration and Management, General
Largest enrollment groups
White or Caucasian50.6%
Hispanic or Latino16.7%
Asian12.6%
Nearby

Schools near University of Connecticut

Other campuses in Storrs, CT when available, plus nearby institutions in Connecticut.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade B) within Connecticut, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is UConn located?

University of Connecticut is located in Storrs, CT. The institution is also known as UConn.

What is UConn's acceptance rate?

The acceptance rate at University of Connecticut (UConn) is 52.4% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 46,645 applicants and 25,164 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.

What is UConn's tuition?

University of Connecticut tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $21,044 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $25,097 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does UConn cost?

Reported tuition is $21,044 and average net price is $25,097 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $14,380 annually.

What explains UConn's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($25,097), completion (83.3% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($73,997). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at UConn?

University of Connecticut reports undergraduate enrollment of about 42,027 students, White (50.6%), Hispanic or Latino (16.7%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend UConn?

About 26.6% of students at University of Connecticut are first-generation college students.

What test scores do students need for University of Connecticut?

Among enrolled students who submitted scores, University of Connecticut reports midpoint SAT about 1348 and midpoint ACT about 30.

What do graduates of University of Connecticut earn?

Median earnings are $63,322 six years after entry and $73,997 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at University of Connecticut?

The 150%-time completion rate is 83.3% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do University of Connecticut students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $21,500.

Is University of Connecticut public or private?

University of Connecticut is a public institution located in Storrs, CT.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.