University of New England
Biddeford, ME 04005-9599
About University of New England
University of New England is a private research university in Biddeford, Maine, enrolling about 2,135 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 91.63% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $55,921 among students who received federal aid.
Key findings
- University of New England charges 51% above the national private non-profit median tuition ($44,210).
- Versus the Maine median, sticker tuition is about 3.4×.
- Completion within 150% of normal time is 68.35%.
- Median earnings 10 years after entry are $55,921.
Research findings
Finding
Modeled return on investment at University of New England is strong.
Estimated ROI reaches about 267% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.
Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.
Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.
Finding
University of New England awards credentials across a wide program mix.
IPEDS completions cover more than 58 distinct degree programs at this campus.
Interpretation: Institutional averages blend very different fields; program-level completions and earnings matter more than the campus mean alone.
Limitation: Completions counts are not enrollment demand and do not measure program quality.
Cost benchmarks
| Benchmark | Median Tuition | Median Net Price | Count |
|---|---|---|---|
| University of New England | $44,210 | $38,107 | 1 |
| Private Non-profit (national median) | $29,325 | — | 1,444 |
| Maine (state median) | $12,983 | $8,205 | 28 |
| Rural (locale median) | $14,160 | $18,700 | 1,649 |
| United States (national median) | $11,900 | $17,156 | — |
Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.
Average net price is 14% below published tuition at University of New England
Key findings
- University of New England's average net price ($38,107) is 14% below published tuition ($44,210).
- University of New England charges 51% above the national private non-profit median tuition ($44,210).
- Versus the Maine median, sticker tuition is about 3.4×.
University of New England tuition
Published undergraduate tuition $44,210
Finding University of New England charges 51% above the national private non-profit median tuition.
Evidence Published tuition is $44,210. That is 51% above the national private non-profit median ($29,325). Versus the Maine median ($12,983), sticker tuition is about 3.4×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 3.7×.
Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.
Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to private non-profit and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.
Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.
Evidence: published tuition at University of New England versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.
Evidence: average net price at University of New England versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.
What undergraduates typically pay
Finding Average net price at University of New England is $38,107.
Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $38,107 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $29,902 above the Maine median net price. Versus rural campuses, net price runs $19,407 above the locale median.
Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.
Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.
Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.
Key takeaway University of New England’s published tuition substantially overstates typical undergraduate cost: average net price is about 14% lower after grants and scholarships.
University of New England: research record
Canonical EDsmart Data findings for University of New England—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.
Research findings
Interpretation
The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.
Financial profile
Annual tuition
$44,210
Avg. net price
$38,107
Net price by family income
| Income bracket | Avg. annual net price |
|---|---|
| $0–$30,000 | $31,371 |
| $30,001–$48,000 | $32,046 |
| $48,001–$75,000 | $32,348 |
| $75,001–$110,000 | $36,237 |
| $110,001+ | $41,991 |
Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $176,840. See cost investigation.
Student outcomes
Share of first-year students returning the following fall.
Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.
What University of New England is known for
Top program completions
- Osteopathic Medicine/Osteopathy165
- Social Work118
- Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse115
- Education, General97
- Public Health, General91
See earnings & programs for more.
Admissions landscape
- Broad access — most applicants are admitted.
- Yield: 13% of admitted students enrolled.
See Admissions for the full funnel.
Is University of New England a good school?
Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.
University of New England is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.
EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.
More from the data
Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for University of New England.
Campus
Location
Biddeford, ME
City / state
- ZIP
- 04005-9599
- NCES locale
- Rural distant
Compared with Rural campuses nationally, net price is about 2.0× the median for Rural campuses ($18,700 median).
Control
Institution type
Private Non-profit
Control
- Region
- New England
- Carnegie
- Doctoral Universities: High Research Activity
Size
Enrollment
2,135
Total enrollment
- Undergraduate
- 8,144
- Graduate
- 2,689
- Full-time share
- 99%
Student aid
Debt & aid
$25,250
Median federal loan debt
- Pell grant share
- 11.78%
Total Cost, Aid & Default
Total Cost of Attendance
Tuition vs average net price after aid for University of New England.
Financial Aid by Income Level
Financial aid distribution by income level.
Student Loan Default Rate
The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at University of New England was 0.00%.
Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.
Tuition tracker
Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for University of New England in that year.
Reporting years in the table below: 2013–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).
| Year | In-state tuition & fees | Out-of-state tuition & fees | Average net price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2013 | $33,145 | $33,145 | $29,631 |
| 2014 | $34,080 | $34,080 | $31,378 |
| 2015 | $34,760 | $34,760 | $31,266 |
| 2016 | $35,630 | $35,630 | $32,229 |
| 2017 | $36,530 | $36,530 | $33,183 |
| 2018 | $37,620 | $37,620 | $33,729 |
| 2019 | $38,750 | $38,750 | $34,118 |
| 2020 | $38,750 | $38,750 | $35,871 |
| 2021 | $39,820 | $39,820 | $35,936 |
| 2022 | $40,950 | $40,950 | $37,516 |
| 2023 | $42,550 | $42,550 | $37,109 |
Sticker tuition and net price over time
Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.
College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).
Net price by family income
Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).
Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.
How difficult is it to get in?
Acceptance Rate
This institution has a moderate acceptance rate, accepting most qualified applicants.
Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.
Test Scores
Test score data is not available for this institution.
Score distribution is not available for this institution.
Academic Requirements
GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.
Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.
Enrollment & Student Demographics
University of New England reported total enrollment of about 2,135 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 32% male and 68% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (84.5%), Hispanic or Latino (4.3%), and Race/ethnicity unknown (3.1%). About 11.78% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 22.1% of students are first-generation college students.
Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment
99.0% Full-Time Enrollment
The total enrollment at University of New England in 2024 is 2,135 students.
Undergraduate enrollment is about 8,144 students. Graduate enrollment is about 2,689 students.
Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.
Retention Rate over Time
79.4%
2024 Retention Rate
Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.
Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.
Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity
Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.
College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).
Do students complete their programs?
Time to Complete
56.90% 100% Completion Time
68.35% 150% Completion Time
In 2024, 56.90% of students graduating from University of New England completed their program within 100% "normal time".
Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.
Completions by Sex (Top Programs)
- Osteopathic Medicine/Osteopathy: 38% male / 62% female
- Social Work: 11% male / 89% female
- Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse: 22% male / 78% female
IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).
Completions by Race & Ethnicity
Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.
Summed across program completion records in our extract.
University of New England graduates earn a median of $55,921 ten years after entry
Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of University of New England.
Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $55,921. Median federal loan debt: $25,250. Average net price used in cost models: $38,107.
Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.
Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.
Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.
Key takeaway University of New England graduates report median earnings of $55,921 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.
Return on Investment
Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for University of New England.
Top Programs by Completions
Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (58 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).
IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at University of New England.
Employment Outcomes
Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for University of New England graduates.
How financially powerful is this institution?
Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for University of New England—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.
Institutional endowment
$176.1M
End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023
- Maine median 11× the median ($15.4M)
- New England median 4.1× the median ($42.9M)
- U.S. median 6.7× the median ($26.4M)
- Maine median 2.3× the median ($12,087)
- New England median 1.2× the median ($23,268)
- U.S. median 2.3× the median ($12,100)
Instructional Resources
- Full-time faculty share: 54.2%
- Maine median 1.1 pp above median (53.1%)
- New England median 0.9 pp above median (53.3%)
- U.S. median 3.8 pp below median (58.0%)
- Average faculty salary (monthly): $9,669
- Maine median 1.3× the median ($7,625)
- New England median near the median ($9,262)
- U.S. median 1.3× the median ($7,615)
- Instructional expenditure per FTE: $12,819
- Maine median 1.3× the median ($9,650)
- New England median 1.3× the median ($10,182)
- U.S. median 1.8× the median ($7,288)
Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.
University of New England at a glance
University of New England
University of New England is a private non-profit institution in Biddeford, ME, classified as Doctoral Universities: High Research Activity.
- Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
- Osteopathic Medicine/OsteopathySocial WorkRegistered Nursing/Registered Nurse
- Largest enrollment groups
- White or Caucasian84.5%Hispanic or Latino4.3%Race/ethnicity unknown3.1%
Schools near University of New England
Other campuses in Biddeford, ME when available, plus nearby institutions in Maine.
Similar schools
Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade C) within Maine, then by similar ownership and admissions.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where is University of New England located?
University of New England is located in Biddeford, ME.
What is University of New England's acceptance rate?
The acceptance rate at University of New England is 91.6% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 5,091 applicants and 4,523 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.
What is University of New England's tuition?
University of New England tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $44,210 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $38,107 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.
How much does University of New England cost?
Reported tuition is $44,210 and average net price is $38,107 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $18,000 annually.
Why is University of New England's net price so much lower than tuition?
At University of New England, published tuition is $44,210 while average net price is $38,107—about 14% lower. Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid (College Scorecard). Institutional aid therefore compresses sticker price into a lower typical undergraduate cost signal. The campus average still masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average. EDsmart Data treats the sticker–net gap as an analytical finding, not advice about individual aid offers.
What explains University of New England's return on investment in EDsmart Data?
EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($38,107), completion (68.3% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($55,921). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.
What is the student body demographics at University of New England?
University of New England reports undergraduate enrollment of about 8,144 students, White (84.5%), Hispanic or Latino (4.3%) in federal College Scorecard data.
How many first-generation students attend University of New England?
About 22.1% of students at University of New England are first-generation college students.
What do graduates of University of New England earn?
Median earnings are $48,957 six years after entry and $55,921 ten years after entry.
What is the graduation rate at University of New England?
The 150%-time completion rate is 68.3% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.
How much debt do University of New England students have?
Median federal loan debt among completers is $25,250.
Is University of New England public or private?
University of New England is a private nonprofit institution located in Biddeford, ME.
Data Sources
This page uses data from the following sources:
- College Scorecard - U.S. Department of Education
- Institutional characteristics, costs, completion rates, and earnings data
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)
- Employment and wage data by occupation
- Latest data: May 2024
- Source: bls.gov/oes
- O*NET Online - U.S. Department of Labor
- Occupational skills, knowledge, abilities, and work activities
- Database version: 28.0 (August 2023)
- Source: onetcenter.org
- IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) - National Center for Education Statistics
- Institutional data, completions, enrollment, and financial aid
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: nces.ed.gov/ipeds
- Census Bureau American Community Survey (ACS)
- Demographic and workforce data
- Latest data: 2023 ACS 5-Year Estimates
- Source: census.gov/acs
- Related geography & profiles
Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.
Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.
Methodology & Data Scope
This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.
Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.