Active Report Report ID: EDU-188225-2026

University of New Mexico-Taos Campus

Ranchos de Taos, NM 87557

Tuition$2,136Published sticker
Avg. net price$9,165After aid
Graduation rate29.79%150% time
Median salary$44,79210yr post-entry
ROI1,122%10yr vs net cost

About University of New Mexico-Taos Campus

University of New Mexico-Taos Campus is a public certificate and vocational school in Ranchos de Taos, New Mexico, enrolling about 377 students. Programs focus on certificates and workforce credentials that prepare students for skilled trades and technical careers. Typical net price after grant aid is about $9,165 for students who receive it, compared with published tuition near $2,136. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $44,792 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • University of New Mexico-Taos Campus charges about 0.4× the national public median tuition ($2,136).
  • Versus the New Mexico median, sticker tuition is 7% below.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 29.79%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $44,792.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at University of New Mexico-Taos Campus is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 1122% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
University of New Mexico-Taos Campus$2,136$9,1651
Public (national median)$5,5121,688
New Mexico (state median)$2,289$5,90830
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

How expensive is University of New Mexico-Taos Campus really?

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • University of New Mexico-Taos Campus charges about 0.4× the national public median tuition ($2,136).
  • Versus the New Mexico median, sticker tuition is 7% below.
Published sticker

University of New Mexico-Taos Campus tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $2,136

Finding University of New Mexico-Taos Campus charges about 0.4× the national public median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $2,136. That is about 0.4× the national public median ($5,512). Versus the New Mexico median ($2,289), sticker tuition is 7% below. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 0.2×.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at University of New Mexico-Taos Campus versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at University of New Mexico-Taos Campus versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at University of New Mexico-Taos Campus is $9,165.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $9,165 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $3,256 above the New Mexico median net price.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway At University of New Mexico-Taos Campus, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.

School guide

University of New Mexico-Taos Campus: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for University of New Mexico-Taos Campus—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

In-state tuition

$2,136

Out-of-state tuition

$5,136

Avg. net price

$9,165

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$8,480
$30,001–$48,000$9,785
$48,001–$75,000$10,288

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $8,544. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention54.7%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$37,150Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Is University of New Mexico-Taos Campus a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

University of New Mexico-Taos Campus is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for University of New Mexico-Taos Campus.

Campus

Location

Ranchos de Taos, NM

City / state

ZIP
87557

Control

Institution type

Public

Control

Region
Southwest
Carnegie
Associate's Colleges: Mixed Transfer/Vocational & Technical-High Nontraditional

Size

Enrollment

377

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
1,971
Full-time share
45%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$18,450

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
28.77%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$36,660Estimated 4-year total cost
$9,165Average annual net price (after aid)
$8,5444-year in-state tuition
$20,5444-year out-of-state tuition
$12,000Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$1,150Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$15,286Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$61,144Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for University of New Mexico-Taos Campus.

Financial Aid by Income Level

28.77% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
12.92% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at University of New Mexico-Taos Campus was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for University of New Mexico-Taos Campus in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$1,800$4,560$7,496
2014$1,800$4,560$9,937
2015$1,872$4,854$8,301
2016$1,872$4,752$8,430
2017$1,974$4,854$7,618
2018$1,958$4,895$8,952
2019$1,902$4,752$8,786
2020$1,872$4,752$10,375
2021$1,872$4,752$12,367
2022$2,004$5,078$11,680
2023$2,004$5,004$10,385

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.

Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.

Test Scores

Test score data is not available for this institution.

Score distribution is not available for this institution.

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

University of New Mexico-Taos Campus reported total enrollment of about 377 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 32% male and 68% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes Hispanic or Latino (58.4%), White (27.1%), and American Indian or Alaska Native (7.2%). About 28.77% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 41.0% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

45.1% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at University of New Mexico-Taos Campus in 2024 is 377 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 1,971 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

54.7%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

58.4%Hispanic or Latino
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • Hispanic or Latino58.4%
  • White or Caucasian27.1%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native7.2%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown3.7%
  • Two or More Races1.6%
  • Asian1.3%
  • Black or African American0.5%
  • Non-Resident Alien0.3%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.0%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

14.89% 100% Completion Time

29.79% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 14.89% of students graduating from University of New Mexico-Taos Campus completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Physical Sciences, General: 30% male / 70% female
  • Emergency Medical Technology/Technician (EMT Paramedic): 52% male / 48% female
  • Truck and Bus Driver/Commercial Vehicle Operator and Instructor: 96% male / 4% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

111Hispanic or Latino
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • Hispanic or Latino111
  • White or Caucasian46
  • American Indian or Alaska Native15
  • Black or African American1
  • Asian1
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander1
  • Two or More Races0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

University of New Mexico-Taos Campus graduates earn a median of $44,792 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of University of New Mexico-Taos Campus.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $44,792. Median federal loan debt: $18,450. Average net price used in cost models: $9,165.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway University of New Mexico-Taos Campus graduates report median earnings of $44,792 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

1,122%Modeled return on investment
$18,450Median student debt
$44,792Median annual earnings (10 years)
41.19%Debt-to-earnings ratio
4.1 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for University of New Mexico-Taos Campus.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (17 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Physical Sciences, General 37
  2. Building/Construction Finishing, Management, and Inspection, Other 5

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at University of New Mexico-Taos Campus.

Employment Outcomes

$44,792Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$37,150Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$41,307Median earnings (8 years after entry)
83.67%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for University of New Mexico-Taos Campus graduates.

Institutional resources

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for University of New Mexico-Taos Campus—instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 38.2%
    • New Mexico median 13.3 pp below median (51.4%)
    • Southwest median 21.6 pp below median (59.7%)
    • U.S. median 19.8 pp below median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $7,235
    • New Mexico median near the median ($7,218)
    • Southwest median near the median ($7,078)
    • U.S. median near the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $6,626
    • New Mexico median 0.67× the median ($9,936)
    • Southwest median 1.2× the median ($5,699)
    • U.S. median 0.91× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Scorecard instructional metrics where reported.

University of New Mexico-Taos Campus at a glance

Institution snapshot

University of New Mexico-Taos Campus

Ranchos de Taos, NM 87557 · Public · Southwest

University of New Mexico-Taos Campus is a public institution in Ranchos de Taos, NM, classified as Associate's Colleges: Mixed Transfer/Vocational & Technical-High Nontraditional.

Tuition$2,136
Avg. net price$9,165
Enrollment377
Completion (150%)29.79%
Pell Grant share28.77%
First-generation41.0%
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Physical Sciences, GeneralEmergency Medical Technology/Technician (EMT Paramedic)Truck and Bus Driver/Commercial Vehicle Operator and Instructor
Largest enrollment groups
Hispanic or Latino58.4%
White or Caucasian27.1%
American Indian or Alaska Native7.2%
Nearby

Schools near University of New Mexico-Taos Campus

Other campuses in Ranchos de Taos, NM when available, plus nearby institutions in New Mexico.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade D) within New Mexico, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is University of New Mexico-Taos Campus located?

University of New Mexico-Taos Campus is located in Ranchos de Taos, NM.

What is University of New Mexico-Taos Campus's tuition?

University of New Mexico-Taos Campus tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $2,136 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $9,165 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does University of New Mexico-Taos Campus cost?

Reported tuition is $2,136 and average net price is $9,165 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $12,000 annually.

What explains University of New Mexico-Taos Campus's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($9,165), completion (29.8% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($44,792). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at University of New Mexico-Taos Campus?

University of New Mexico-Taos Campus reports undergraduate enrollment of about 1,971 students, Hispanic or Latino (58.4%), White (27.1%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend University of New Mexico-Taos Campus?

About 41.0% of students at University of New Mexico-Taos Campus are first-generation college students.

What do graduates of University of New Mexico-Taos Campus earn?

Median earnings are $37,150 six years after entry and $44,792 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at University of New Mexico-Taos Campus?

The 150%-time completion rate is 29.8% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do University of New Mexico-Taos Campus students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $18,450.

Is University of New Mexico-Taos Campus public or private?

University of New Mexico-Taos Campus is a public institution located in Ranchos de Taos, NM.

Is University of New Mexico-Taos Campus an HBCU?

No. University of New Mexico-Taos Campus is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.

Is University of New Mexico-Taos Campus a tribal college?

No. University of New Mexico-Taos Campus is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.