Active Report Report ID: EDU-188216-2026

Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute

Albuquerque, NM 87120-3101

Tuition$1,095Published sticker
Avg. net price$5,181After aid
Graduation rate14.00%150% time
Median salary$27,66010yr post-entry
ROI1,235%10yr vs net cost

About Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute

Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute is a public community college in Albuquerque, New Mexico, enrolling about 215 students. The college offers associate degrees, career certificates, and transfer pathways to four-year universities. Typical net price after grant aid is about $5,181 for students who receive it, compared with published tuition near $1,095. Student demographics in federal data include American Indian or Alaska Native (100.0%) and White (0.0%) among the largest enrollment groups.

Key findings

  • Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute charges about 0.2× the national public median tuition ($1,095).
  • Versus the New Mexico median, sticker tuition is about 0.5×.
  • Average net price runs below the New Mexico median net price.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 14.00%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $27,660.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 1235% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute$1,095$5,1811
Public (national median)$5,5121,688
New Mexico (state median)$2,289$5,90830
Rural (locale median)$14,160$18,7001,649
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

How expensive is Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute really?

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute charges about 0.2× the national public median tuition ($1,095).
  • Versus the New Mexico median, sticker tuition is about 0.5×.
  • Average net price runs below the New Mexico median net price.
Published sticker

Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $1,095

Finding Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute charges about 0.2× the national public median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $1,095. That is about 0.2× the national public median ($5,512). Versus the New Mexico median ($2,289), sticker tuition is about 0.5×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 0.1×.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute is $5,181.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $5,181 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $728 below the New Mexico median net price. Versus rural campuses, net price runs $13,519 below the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway At Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.

School guide

Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

Annual tuition

$1,095

Avg. net price

$5,181

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$4,302
$30,001–$48,000$5,900
$48,001–$75,000$7,418
$75,001–$110,000$2,850

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $4,380. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention58.5%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$22,307Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Is Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute.

Campus

Location

Albuquerque, NM

City / state

ZIP
87120-3101
NCES locale
Rural fringe

Compared with Rural campuses nationally, net price is about 0.3× the median for Rural campuses ($18,700 median).

Control

Institution type

Public

Control

Region
Southwest
Carnegie
Not classified (other)

Size

Enrollment

215

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
279
Full-time share
77%

Student aid

Debt & aid

Pell grant share
48.07%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$20,724Estimated 4-year total cost
$5,181Average annual net price (after aid)
$4,3804-year tuition
$675Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$1,545Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$3,315Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$13,260Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute.

Financial Aid by Income Level

48.07% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
0.00% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

Not reported 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute was not reported in the College Scorecard extract for this institution.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$675$675$8,347
2014$1,095$1,095$9,229
2015$1,095$1,095$8,458
2016$1,095$1,095$5,565
2017$1,095$1,095$6,978
2018$1,095$1,095$4,219
2019$1,095$1,095$5,458
2020$1,095$1,095$7,505
2021$1,095$1,095$8,980
2022$15,937
2023$1,095$1,095$8,683

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.

Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.

Test Scores

Test score data is not available for this institution.

Score distribution is not available for this institution.

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute reported total enrollment of about 215 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 39% male and 61% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes American Indian or Alaska Native (100.0%), White (0.0%), and Black or African American (0.0%). About 48.07% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 43.5% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

77.2% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute in 2024 is 215 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 279 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

58.5%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

100.0%American Indian or Alaska Native
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • American Indian or Alaska Native100.0%
  • White or Caucasian0.0%
  • Black or African American0.0%
  • Hispanic or Latino0.0%
  • Asian0.0%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.0%
  • Two or More Races0.0%
  • Non-Resident Alien0.0%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown0.0%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

14.00% 100% Completion Time

14.00% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 14.00% of students graduating from Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal Studies: 44% male / 56% female
  • Natural Resources and Conservation, Other: 14% male / 86% female
  • Institutional Food Workers: 43% male / 57% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

54American Indian or Alaska Native
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • American Indian or Alaska Native54
  • White or Caucasian0
  • Black or African American0
  • Hispanic or Latino0
  • Asian0
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0
  • Two or More Races0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute graduates earn a median of $27,660 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $27,660. Average net price used in cost models: $5,181.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute graduates report median earnings of $27,660 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

1,235%Modeled return on investment
$27,660Median annual earnings (10 years)

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (12 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Natural Resources and Conservation, Other 7
  2. CAD/CADD Drafting and/or Design Technology/Technician 7
  3. Early Childhood Education & Teaching 6
  4. Geographic Information Science and Cartography 3
  5. Opticianry/Ophthalmic Dispensing Optician 3

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute.

Employment Outcomes

$27,660Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$22,307Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$27,502Median earnings (8 years after entry)
74.53%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute graduates.

Institutional resources

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute—instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 100.0%
    • New Mexico median 48.6 pp above median (51.4%)
    • Southwest median 40.3 pp above median (59.7%)
    • U.S. median 42.0 pp above median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $7,183
    • New Mexico median near the median ($7,218)
    • Southwest median near the median ($7,078)
    • U.S. median 0.94× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $26,692
    • New Mexico median 2.7× the median ($9,936)
    • Southwest median 4.7× the median ($5,699)
    • U.S. median 3.7× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Scorecard instructional metrics where reported.

Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute at a glance

Institution snapshot

Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute

Albuquerque, NM 87120-3101 · Public · Southwest

Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute is a public institution in Albuquerque, NM, classified as Not classified (other).

Tuition$1,095
Avg. net price$5,181
Enrollment215
Completion (150%)14.00%
Pell Grant share48.07%
First-generation43.5%
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal StudiesNatural Resources and Conservation, OtherInstitutional Food Workers
Largest enrollment groups
American Indian or Alaska Native100.0%
White or Caucasian0.0%
Black or African American0.0%
Opportunity College (2025)
Higher access & higher earnings · Browse OCU directory
Nearby

Schools near Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute

Other campuses in Albuquerque, NM when available, plus nearby institutions in New Mexico.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade F) within New Mexico, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute located?

Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute is located in Albuquerque, NM.

What is Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute's tuition?

Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $1,095 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $5,181 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute cost?

Reported tuition is $1,095 and average net price is $5,181 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $675 annually.

What explains Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($5,181), completion (14.0% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($27,660). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute?

Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute reports undergraduate enrollment of about 279 students, American Indian or Alaska Native (100.0%), White (0.0%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute?

About 43.5% of students at Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute are first-generation college students.

What do graduates of Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute earn?

Median earnings are $22,307 six years after entry and $27,660 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute?

The 150%-time completion rate is 14.0% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

Is Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute public or private?

Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute is a public institution located in Albuquerque, NM.

Is Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute an HBCU?

No. Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.

Is Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute a tribal college?

Yes. Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute is flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS (TRIBAL = Yes).

Is Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute a Hispanic-serving institution (HSI)?

Using a 25% Hispanic enrollment threshold on College Scorecard demographics, Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute does not meet that proxy (reported share 0.0%).

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.