Active Report Report ID: EDU-363633-2026

Luna Community College

Las Vegas, NM 87701

Tuition$1,474Published sticker
Avg. net price$4,595After aid
Graduation rate28.33%150% time
Median salary$32,46110yr post-entry
ROI1,666%10yr vs net cost

About Luna Community College

Luna Community College is a public community college in Las Vegas, New Mexico, enrolling about 423 students. The college offers associate degrees, career certificates, and transfer pathways to four-year universities. Typical net price after grant aid is about $4,595 for students who receive it, compared with published tuition near $1,474. Student demographics in federal data include Hispanic or Latino (80.1%) and White (14.0%) among the largest enrollment groups.

Key findings

  • Luna Community College charges about 0.3× the national public median tuition ($1,474).
  • Versus the New Mexico median, sticker tuition is 36% below.
  • Average net price runs below the New Mexico median net price.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 28.33%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $32,461.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at Luna Community College is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 1666% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Luna Community College$1,474$4,5951
Public (national median)$5,5121,688
New Mexico (state median)$2,289$5,90830
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

How expensive is Luna Community College really?

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • Luna Community College charges about 0.3× the national public median tuition ($1,474).
  • Versus the New Mexico median, sticker tuition is 36% below.
  • Average net price runs below the New Mexico median net price.
Published sticker

Luna Community College tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $1,474

Finding Luna Community College charges about 0.3× the national public median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $1,474. That is about 0.3× the national public median ($5,512). Versus the New Mexico median ($2,289), sticker tuition is 36% below. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 0.1×.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at Luna Community College versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at Luna Community College versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at Luna Community College is $4,595.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $4,595 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $1,314 below the New Mexico median net price.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway At Luna Community College, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.

School guide

Luna Community College: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Luna Community College—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

In-state tuition

$1,474

Out-of-state tuition

$3,418

Avg. net price

$4,595

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$3,393
$30,001–$48,000$2,962
$48,001–$75,000$6,329
$75,001–$110,000$7,240
$110,001+$8,602

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $5,896. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention43.0%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$29,547Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Is Luna Community College a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Luna Community College is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Luna Community College.

Campus

Location

Las Vegas, NM

City / state

ZIP
87701

Control

Institution type

Public

Control

Region
Southwest
Carnegie
Associate's Colleges: Mixed Transfer/Vocational & Technical-Mixed Traditional/Nontraditional

Size

Enrollment

423

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
1,080
Full-time share
54%

Student aid

Debt & aid

Pell grant share
24.83%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$18,380Estimated 4-year total cost
$4,595Average annual net price (after aid)
$5,8964-year in-state tuition
$13,6724-year out-of-state tuition
$15,024Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$400Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$16,898Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$67,592Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Luna Community College.

Financial Aid by Income Level

24.83% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
2.11% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Luna Community College was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Luna Community College in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$886$2,230$5,312
2014$886$2,230$4,899
2015$886$2,230$6,122
2016$962$2,426$3,906
2017$962$2,426$4,841
2018$962$2,426$3,039
2019$962$2,426$2,670
2020$1,010$2,570$3,842
2021$1,082$2,714$3,900
2022$1,130$2,882$7,379
2023$1,202$3,050$7,039

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.

Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.

Test Scores

Test score data is not available for this institution.

Score distribution is not available for this institution.

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Luna Community College reported total enrollment of about 423 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 38% male and 62% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes Hispanic or Latino (80.1%), White (14.0%), and American Indian or Alaska Native (2.1%). About 24.83% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 47.7% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

53.9% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Luna Community College in 2024 is 423 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 1,080 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

43.0%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

80.1%Hispanic or Latino
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • Hispanic or Latino80.1%
  • White or Caucasian14.0%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native2.1%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown1.4%
  • Asian1.2%
  • Black or African American0.9%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.2%
  • Two or More Races0.0%
  • Non-Resident Alien0.0%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

20.83% 100% Completion Time

28.33% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 20.83% of students graduating from Luna Community College completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse: 16% male / 84% female
  • Criminal Justice/Safety Studies: 50% male / 50% female
  • General Studies: 60% male / 40% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

82Hispanic or Latino
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • Hispanic or Latino82
  • White or Caucasian17
  • Asian2
  • American Indian or Alaska Native2
  • Black or African American1
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0
  • Two or More Races0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

Luna Community College graduates earn a median of $32,461 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Luna Community College.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $32,461. Average net price used in cost models: $4,595.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway Luna Community College graduates report median earnings of $32,461 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

1,666%Modeled return on investment
$32,461Median annual earnings (10 years)

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Luna Community College.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (16 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services, Other 9

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Luna Community College.

Employment Outcomes

$32,461Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$29,547Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$30,917Median earnings (8 years after entry)
80.36%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Luna Community College graduates.

How financially powerful is this institution?

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Luna Community College—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Institutional endowment

$885,468

End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023

Start of year: $942,673

Year change: -$57,205

  • New Mexico median 0.07× the median ($12.4M)
  • Southwest median 0.04× the median ($23.2M)
  • U.S. median 0.03× the median ($26.4M)

Per FTE: $1,950

  • New Mexico median 0.28× the median ($6,968)
  • Southwest median 0.19× the median ($10,113)
  • U.S. median 0.16× the median ($12,100)

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 51.1%
    • New Mexico median 0.4 pp below median (51.4%)
    • Southwest median 8.7 pp below median (59.7%)
    • U.S. median 6.9 pp below median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $5,965
    • New Mexico median 0.83× the median ($7,218)
    • Southwest median 0.84× the median ($7,078)
    • U.S. median 0.78× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $11,660
    • New Mexico median 1.2× the median ($9,936)
    • Southwest median 2.0× the median ($5,699)
    • U.S. median 1.6× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Luna Community College at a glance

Institution snapshot

Luna Community College

Las Vegas, NM 87701 · Public · Southwest

Luna Community College is a public institution in Las Vegas, NM, classified as Associate's Colleges: Mixed Transfer/Vocational & Technical-Mixed Traditional/Nontraditional.

Tuition$1,474
Avg. net price$4,595
Enrollment423
Completion (150%)28.33%
Pell Grant share24.83%
First-generation47.7%
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Registered Nursing/Registered NurseCriminal Justice/Safety StudiesGeneral Studies
Largest enrollment groups
Hispanic or Latino80.1%
White or Caucasian14.0%
American Indian or Alaska Native2.1%
Nearby

Schools near Luna Community College

Other campuses in Las Vegas, NM when available, plus nearby institutions in New Mexico.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade F) within New Mexico, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Luna Community College located?

Luna Community College is located in Las Vegas, NM.

What is Luna Community College's tuition?

Luna Community College tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $1,474 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $4,595 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does Luna Community College cost?

Reported tuition is $1,474 and average net price is $4,595 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $15,024 annually.

What explains Luna Community College's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($4,595), completion (28.3% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($32,461). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at Luna Community College?

Luna Community College reports undergraduate enrollment of about 1,080 students, Hispanic or Latino (80.1%), White (14.0%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend Luna Community College?

About 47.7% of students at Luna Community College are first-generation college students.

What do graduates of Luna Community College earn?

Median earnings are $29,547 six years after entry and $32,461 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at Luna Community College?

The 150%-time completion rate is 28.3% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

Is Luna Community College public or private?

Luna Community College is a public institution located in Las Vegas, NM.

Is Luna Community College an HBCU?

No. Luna Community College is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.

Is Luna Community College a tribal college?

No. Luna Community College is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.

Is Luna Community College a Hispanic-serving institution (HSI)?

By the common federal eligibility proxy used here (≥25% Hispanic enrollment in College Scorecard), yes—Luna Community College reports 80.1% Hispanic enrollment share.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.