Active Report Report ID: EDU-243221-2026

University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras

San Juan, PR 00931-0000

Acceptance rate54.59%Selective
Tuition$5,354Published sticker
Avg. net price$9,175After aid
Graduation rate50.26%150% time
Median salary$35,72310yr post-entry

About University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras

University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras is a public research university in San Juan, Puerto Rico, serving roughly 8,572 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 54.59% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $35,723 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras charges 3% below the national public median tuition ($5,354).
  • Versus the Puerto Rico median, sticker tuition is 37% below.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 50.26%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $35,723.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 873% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

02

Finding

University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras awards credentials across a wide program mix.

IPEDS completions cover more than 89 distinct degree programs at this campus.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: Institutional averages blend very different fields; program-level completions and earnings matter more than the campus mean alone.

Limitation: Completions counts are not enrollment demand and do not measure program quality.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras$5,354$9,1751
Public (national median)$5,5121,688
Puerto Rico (state median)$8,562$8,830104
Urban (City) (locale median)$15,200$20,0531,346
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

How expensive is University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras really?

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras charges 3% below the national public median tuition ($5,354).
  • Versus the Puerto Rico median, sticker tuition is 37% below.
Published sticker

University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $5,354

Finding University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras charges 3% below the national public median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $5,354. That is 3% below the national public median ($5,512). Versus the Puerto Rico median ($8,562), sticker tuition is 37% below. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 0.4×.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras is $9,175.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $9,175 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $346 above the Puerto Rico median net price. Versus urban (city) campuses, net price runs $10,878 below the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway At University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.

School guide

University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

Annual tuition

$5,354

Avg. net price

$9,175

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$8,018
$30,001–$48,000$8,553
$48,001–$75,000$11,002
$75,001–$110,000$11,925
$110,001+$13,018

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $21,416. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention77.2%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$22,417Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Admissions landscape

  • Selective — about half of applicants (or fewer) are admitted.
  • Yield: 74% of admitted students enrolled.

See Admissions for the full funnel.

Is University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras.

Campus

Location

San Juan, PR

City / state

ZIP
00931-0000
NCES locale
City

Compared with Urban (City) campuses nationally, net price is about 0.5× the median for Urban (City) campuses ($20,053 median).

Control

Institution type

Public

Control

Region
Outlying Areas
Carnegie
Doctoral Universities: High Research Activity

Size

Enrollment

8,572

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
13,515
Graduate
2,602
Full-time share
88%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$5,500

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
66.47%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$36,700Estimated 4-year total cost
$9,175Average annual net price (after aid)
$21,4164-year tuition
$11,613Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$4,168Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$21,135Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$84,540Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras.

Financial Aid by Income Level

66.47% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
4.73% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$2,082$4,104$3,346
2014$2,019$4,040$2,318
2015$2,019$4,518$3,171
2016$2,078$4,630$2,108
2017$2,046$4,652$5,477
2018$4,094$6,049$5,719
2019$4,178$6,162$11,714
2020$4,198$4,198$8,183
2021$4,940$4,940$8,519
2022$5,324$5,324$9,119
2023$5,324$5,324$6,507

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

54.59%Acceptance rate
4,665Total applicants
2,482Students admitted
1,839First-time students enrolled
74.09%Yield (enrolled ÷ admitted)

This institution is selective, accepting about half of all applicants.

Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.

Test Scores

Test score data is not available for this institution.

Score distribution is not available for this institution.

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras reported total enrollment of about 8,572 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 37% male and 63% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes Hispanic or Latino (94.1%), Black or African American (3.2%), and Race/ethnicity unknown (1.2%). About 66.47% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 15.6% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

88.4% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras in 2024 is 8,572 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 13,515 students. Graduate enrollment is about 2,602 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

77.2%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

94.1%Hispanic or Latino
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • Hispanic or Latino94.1%
  • Black or African American3.2%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown1.2%
  • White or Caucasian0.7%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.7%
  • Asian0.1%
  • Two or More Races0.0%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.0%
  • Non-Resident Alien0.0%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

11.14% 100% Completion Time

50.26% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 11.14% of students graduating from University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Biology/Biological Sciences, General: 37% male / 63% female
  • Psychology, General: 25% male / 75% female
  • Law: 32% male / 68% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

1,332Hispanic or Latino
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • Hispanic or Latino1,332
  • Black or African American81
  • White or Caucasian37
  • American Indian or Alaska Native15
  • Two or More Races1
  • Asian0
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras graduates earn a median of $35,723 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $35,723. Median federal loan debt: $5,500. Average net price used in cost models: $9,175.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras graduates report median earnings of $35,723 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

873%Modeled return on investment
$5,500Median student debt
$35,723Median annual earnings (10 years)
15.40%Debt-to-earnings ratio
1.5 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (89 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Law 125
  2. Accounting 95
  3. Social Work 70
  4. Environmental Design/Architecture 43
  5. Foreign Languages and Literatures, General 43

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras.

Employment Outcomes

$35,723Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$22,417Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$27,824Median earnings (8 years after entry)
81.08%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras graduates.

How financially powerful is this institution?

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Institutional endowment

$1.9M

End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023

Start of year: $998,598

Year change: $878,081

  • Puerto Rico median 1.1× the median ($1.6M)
  • Outlying Areas median 0.71× the median ($2.6M)
  • U.S. median 0.07× the median ($26.4M)

Per FTE: $205

  • Puerto Rico median 0.09× the median ($2,336)
  • Outlying Areas median 0.06× the median ($3,664)
  • U.S. median 0.02× the median ($12,100)

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 73.8%
    • Puerto Rico median 13.1 pp below median (87.0%)
    • Outlying Areas median 13.1 pp below median (87.0%)
    • U.S. median 15.9 pp above median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $6,128
    • Puerto Rico median 1.5× the median ($4,084)
    • Outlying Areas median 1.5× the median ($4,084)
    • U.S. median 0.80× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $12,387
    • Puerto Rico median 3.6× the median ($3,469)
    • Outlying Areas median 3.5× the median ($3,501)
    • U.S. median 1.7× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras at a glance

Institution snapshot

University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras

San Juan, PR 00931-0000 · Public · Outlying Areas

University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras is a public institution in San Juan, PR, classified as Doctoral Universities: High Research Activity.

Tuition$5,354
Avg. net price$9,175
Enrollment8,572
Acceptance rate54.59%
Completion (150%)50.26%
Pell Grant share66.47%
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Biology/Biological Sciences, GeneralPsychology, GeneralLaw
Largest enrollment groups
Hispanic or Latino94.1%
Black or African American3.2%
Race/ethnicity unknown1.2%
Nearby

Schools near University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras

Other campuses in San Juan, PR when available, plus nearby institutions in Puerto Rico.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade C-) within Puerto Rico, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras located?

University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras is located in San Juan, PR.

What is University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras's acceptance rate?

The acceptance rate at University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras is 54.6% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 4,665 applicants and 2,482 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.

What is University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras's tuition?

University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $5,354 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $9,175 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras cost?

Reported tuition is $5,354 and average net price is $9,175 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $11,613 annually.

What explains University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($9,175), completion (50.3% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($35,723). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras?

University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras reports undergraduate enrollment of about 13,515 students, Hispanic or Latino (94.1%), Black or African American (3.2%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras?

About 15.6% of students at University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras are first-generation college students.

What do graduates of University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras earn?

Median earnings are $22,417 six years after entry and $35,723 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras?

The 150%-time completion rate is 50.3% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $5,500.

Is University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras public or private?

University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras is a public institution located in San Juan, PR.

Is University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras an HBCU?

No. University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.