Active Report Report ID: EDU-419183-2026

Central California School of Continuing Education

San Luis Obispo, CA 93401

Tuition$9,895Published sticker
Avg. net price$11,840After aid
Graduation rate86.46%150% time
Median salary$41,22310yr post-entry
ROI770%10yr vs net cost

About Central California School of Continuing Education

Central California School of Continuing Education is a private for-profit trade school in San Luis Obispo, California, enrolling about 41 students. Programs focus on certificates and workforce credentials that prepare students for skilled trades and technical careers. Typical net price after grant aid is about $11,840 for students who receive it, compared with published tuition near $9,895. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $41,223 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • Versus the California median, sticker tuition is 22% above.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 86.46%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $41,223.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at Central California School of Continuing Education is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 770% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Central California School of Continuing Education$9,895$11,8401
Private For-profit (national median)$16,637477
California (state median)$8,093$8,343287
Town (locale median)$9,600$14,9711,517
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

How expensive is Central California School of Continuing Education really?

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • Central California School of Continuing Education charges about 0.6× the national private for-profit median tuition ($9,895).
  • Versus the California median, sticker tuition is 22% above.
Published sticker

Central California School of Continuing Education tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $9,895

Finding Central California School of Continuing Education charges about 0.6× the national private for-profit median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $9,895. That is about 0.6× the national private for-profit median ($16,637). Versus the California median ($8,093), sticker tuition is 22% above. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is 17% below.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to private for-profit and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at Central California School of Continuing Education versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at Central California School of Continuing Education versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at Central California School of Continuing Education is $11,840.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $11,840 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $3,497 above the California median net price. Versus town campuses, net price runs $3,131 below the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway At Central California School of Continuing Education, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.

School guide

Central California School of Continuing Education: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Central California School of Continuing Education—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

Annual tuition

$9,895

Avg. net price

$11,840

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$11,747
$30,001–$48,000$12,073

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $39,580. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention76.5%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$32,116Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Is Central California School of Continuing Education a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Central California School of Continuing Education is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Strong completionEarnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Central California School of Continuing Education.

Campus

Location

San Luis Obispo, CA

City / state

ZIP
93401
NCES locale
Town

Compared with Town campuses nationally, net price is 21% below the median for Town campuses ($14,971 median).

Control

Institution type

Private For-profit

Control

Region
Far West

Size

Enrollment

41

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
153
Full-time share
100%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$5,150

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
55.56%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$47,360Estimated 4-year total cost
$11,840Average annual net price (after aid)
$39,5804-year tuition
$19,210Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$500Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$29,605Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$118,420Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Central California School of Continuing Education.

Financial Aid by Income Level

55.56% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
55.56% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Central California School of Continuing Education was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Central California School of Continuing Education in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$9,535$9,535$20,810
2014$9,535$9,535$19,417
2015$9,895$9,895$20,770
2016$9,895$9,895$20,950
2017$9,895$9,895$19,505
2018$9,895$9,895$18,613
2019$9,895$9,895$18,692
2020$9,895$9,895$19,251
2021$9,895$9,895$14,897
2022$9,895$9,895$15,623
2023$9,895$9,895$14,364

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.

Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.

Test Scores

Test score data is not available for this institution.

Score distribution is not available for this institution.

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Central California School of Continuing Education reported total enrollment of about 41 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 29% male and 71% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes Hispanic or Latino (68.3%), White (24.4%), and Black or African American (4.9%). About 55.56% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 59.2% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

100.0% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Central California School of Continuing Education in 2024 is 41 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 153 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

76.5%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

68.3%Hispanic or Latino
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • Hispanic or Latino68.3%
  • White or Caucasian24.4%
  • Black or African American4.9%
  • Asian2.4%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.0%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.0%
  • Two or More Races0.0%
  • Non-Resident Alien0.0%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown0.0%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

86.46% 100% Completion Time

86.46% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 86.46% of students graduating from Central California School of Continuing Education completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • 05.1091: 4% male / 96% female
  • Medical Radiologic Technology/Science - Radiation Therapist: 50% male / 50% female
  • Medical/Clinical Assistant: 0% male / 100% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

31Hispanic or Latino
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • Hispanic or Latino31
  • White or Caucasian16
  • Black or African American3
  • Asian1
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0
  • Two or More Races0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

Central California School of Continuing Education graduates earn a median of $41,223 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Central California School of Continuing Education.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $41,223. Median federal loan debt: $5,150. Average net price used in cost models: $11,840.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway Central California School of Continuing Education graduates report median earnings of $41,223 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

770%Modeled return on investment
$5,150Median student debt
$41,223Median annual earnings (10 years)
12.49%Debt-to-earnings ratio
1.2 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Central California School of Continuing Education.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 3 programs by IPEDS completions (4 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. 05.1091 26

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Central California School of Continuing Education.

Employment Outcomes

$41,223Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$32,116Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$41,421Median earnings (8 years after entry)
84.17%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Central California School of Continuing Education graduates.

Institutional resources

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Central California School of Continuing Education—instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Instructional Resources

  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $2,343
    • California median 0.36× the median ($6,474)
    • Far West median 0.33× the median ($7,030)
    • U.S. median 0.32× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Scorecard instructional metrics where reported.

Central California School of Continuing Education at a glance

Institution snapshot

Central California School of Continuing Education

San Luis Obispo, CA 93401 · Private For-profit · Far West

Central California School of Continuing Education is a private for-profit institution in San Luis Obispo, CA.

Tuition$9,895
Avg. net price$11,840
Enrollment41
Completion (150%)86.46%
Pell Grant share55.56%
First-generation59.2%
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
05.1091Medical Radiologic Technology/Science - Radiation TherapistMedical/Clinical Assistant
Largest enrollment groups
Hispanic or Latino68.3%
White or Caucasian24.4%
Black or African American4.9%
Nearby

Schools near Central California School of Continuing Education

Other campuses in San Luis Obispo, CA when available, plus nearby institutions in California.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade C) within California, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Central California School of Continuing Education located?

Central California School of Continuing Education is located in San Luis Obispo, CA.

What is Central California School of Continuing Education's tuition?

Central California School of Continuing Education tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $9,895 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $11,840 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does Central California School of Continuing Education cost?

Reported tuition is $9,895 and average net price is $11,840 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $19,210 annually.

What explains Central California School of Continuing Education's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($11,840), completion (86.5% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($41,223). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at Central California School of Continuing Education?

Central California School of Continuing Education reports undergraduate enrollment of about 153 students, Hispanic or Latino (68.3%), White (24.4%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend Central California School of Continuing Education?

About 59.2% of students at Central California School of Continuing Education are first-generation college students.

What do graduates of Central California School of Continuing Education earn?

Median earnings are $32,116 six years after entry and $41,223 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at Central California School of Continuing Education?

The 150%-time completion rate is 86.5% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do Central California School of Continuing Education students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $5,150.

Is Central California School of Continuing Education public or private?

Central California School of Continuing Education is a private for-profit institution located in San Luis Obispo, CA.

Is Central California School of Continuing Education an HBCU?

No. Central California School of Continuing Education is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.

Is Central California School of Continuing Education a tribal college?

No. Central California School of Continuing Education is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.