Active Report Report ID: EDU-399212-2026

Santiago Canyon College

Orange, CA 92869-4512

Tuition$1,164Published sticker
Avg. net price$2,129After aid
Graduation rate47.57%150% time
Median salary$44,95610yr post-entry
ROI5,179%10yr vs net cost

About Santiago Canyon College

Santiago Canyon College is a public certificate and vocational school in Orange, California, with about 10,579 students. Programs focus on certificates and workforce credentials that prepare students for skilled trades and technical careers. Typical net price after grant aid is about $2,129 for students who receive it, compared with published tuition near $1,164. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $44,956 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • Santiago Canyon College charges about 0.2× the national public median tuition ($1,164).
  • Versus the California median, sticker tuition is about 0.1×.
  • Average net price runs below the California median net price.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 47.57%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $44,956.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at Santiago Canyon College is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 5179% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

02

Finding

Santiago Canyon College awards credentials across a wide program mix.

IPEDS completions cover more than 61 distinct degree programs at this campus.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: Institutional averages blend very different fields; program-level completions and earnings matter more than the campus mean alone.

Limitation: Completions counts are not enrollment demand and do not measure program quality.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Santiago Canyon College$1,164$2,1291
Public (national median)$5,5121,688
California (state median)$8,093$8,343287
Suburban (locale median)$13,135$18,048684
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

How expensive is Santiago Canyon College really?

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • Santiago Canyon College charges about 0.2× the national public median tuition ($1,164).
  • Versus the California median, sticker tuition is about 0.1×.
  • Average net price runs below the California median net price.
Published sticker

Santiago Canyon College tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $1,164

Finding Santiago Canyon College charges about 0.2× the national public median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $1,164. That is about 0.2× the national public median ($5,512). Versus the California median ($8,093), sticker tuition is about 0.1×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 0.1×.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at Santiago Canyon College versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at Santiago Canyon College versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at Santiago Canyon College is $2,129.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $2,129 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $6,214 below the California median net price. Versus suburban campuses, net price runs $15,919 below the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway At Santiago Canyon College, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.

School guide

Santiago Canyon College: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Santiago Canyon College—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

In-state tuition

$1,164

Out-of-state tuition

$9,612

Avg. net price

$2,129

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000−$219
$30,001–$48,000$454
$48,001–$75,000$4,833
$75,001–$110,000$9,373
$110,001+$11,014

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $4,656. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention70.7%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$36,758Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Is Santiago Canyon College a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Santiago Canyon College is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Santiago Canyon College.

Campus

Location

Orange, CA

City / state

ZIP
92869-4512
NCES locale
Suburb

Compared with Suburban campuses nationally, net price is about 0.1× the median for Suburban campuses ($18,048 median).

Control

Institution type

Public

Control

Region
Far West
Carnegie
Associate's Colleges: High Transfer-High Traditional

Size

Enrollment

10,579

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
20,364
Full-time share
20%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$5,125

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
11.09%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$8,516Estimated 4-year total cost
$2,129Average annual net price (after aid)
$4,6564-year in-state tuition
$38,4484-year out-of-state tuition
$22,086Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$1,062Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$24,312Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$97,248Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Santiago Canyon College.

Financial Aid by Income Level

11.09% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
0.63% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Santiago Canyon College was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Santiago Canyon College in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$1,142$5,174$3,045
2014$1,142$5,318$3,129
2015$1,142$6,902$3,908
2016$1,142$7,262$3,762
2017$1,142$7,982$4,330
2018$1,154$8,186$3,739
2019$1,154$8,354$2,543
2020$1,156$8,956$3,998
2021$1,156$8,764$2,045
2022$1,156$8,764$3,552
2023$1,164$9,612$3,407

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.

Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.

Test Scores

Test score data is not available for this institution.

Score distribution is not available for this institution.

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Santiago Canyon College reported total enrollment of about 10,579 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 65% male and 35% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes Hispanic or Latino (59.1%), White (25.1%), and Asian (6.3%). About 11.09% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 53.8% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

19.6% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Santiago Canyon College in 2024 is 10,579 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 20,364 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

70.7%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

59.1%Hispanic or Latino
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • Hispanic or Latino59.1%
  • White or Caucasian25.1%
  • Asian6.3%
  • Two or More Races3.8%
  • Black or African American2.1%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown2.0%
  • Non-Resident Alien0.9%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.3%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.3%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

18.98% 100% Completion Time

47.57% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 18.98% of students graduating from Santiago Canyon College completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal Studies: 41% male / 59% female
  • Humanities/Humanistic Studies: 41% male / 59% female
  • Electrical and Power Transmission Installation/Installer, General: 98% male / 2% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

1,860Hispanic or Latino
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • Hispanic or Latino1,860
  • White or Caucasian1,117
  • Asian359
  • Two or More Races200
  • Black or African American50
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander12
  • American Indian or Alaska Native11

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

Santiago Canyon College graduates earn a median of $44,956 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Santiago Canyon College.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $44,956. Median federal loan debt: $5,125. Average net price used in cost models: $2,129.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway Santiago Canyon College graduates report median earnings of $44,956 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

5,179%Modeled return on investment
$5,125Median student debt
$44,956Median annual earnings (10 years)
11.40%Debt-to-earnings ratio
1.1 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Santiago Canyon College.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (61 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Biomedical Technology/Technician 86

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Santiago Canyon College.

Employment Outcomes

$44,956Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$36,758Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$41,260Median earnings (8 years after entry)
85.84%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Santiago Canyon College graduates.

How financially powerful is this institution?

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Santiago Canyon College—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Institutional endowment

$2M

End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023

Start of year: $2M

Year change: -$31,441

  • California median 0.10× the median ($19.7M)
  • Far West median 0.12× the median ($16.8M)
  • U.S. median 0.08× the median ($26.4M)

Per FTE: $342

  • California median 0.05× the median ($7,407)
  • Far West median 0.05× the median ($7,260)
  • U.S. median 0.03× the median ($12,100)

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 21.6%
    • California median 17.7 pp below median (39.3%)
    • Far West median 24.0 pp below median (45.7%)
    • U.S. median 36.3 pp below median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $14,053
    • California median 1.4× the median ($10,166)
    • Far West median 1.5× the median ($9,635)
    • U.S. median 1.8× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $6,571
    • California median near the median ($6,474)
    • Far West median 0.93× the median ($7,030)
    • U.S. median 0.90× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Santiago Canyon College at a glance

Institution snapshot

Santiago Canyon College

Orange, CA 92869-4512 · Public · Far West

Santiago Canyon College is a public institution in Orange, CA, classified as Associate's Colleges: High Transfer-High Traditional.

Tuition$1,164
Avg. net price$2,129
Enrollment10,579
Completion (150%)47.57%
Pell Grant share11.09%
First-generation53.8%
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal StudiesHumanities/Humanistic StudiesElectrical and Power Transmission Installation/Installer, General
Largest enrollment groups
Hispanic or Latino59.1%
White or Caucasian25.1%
Asian6.3%
Nearby

Schools near Santiago Canyon College

Other campuses in Orange, CA when available, plus nearby institutions in California.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade D) within California, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Santiago Canyon College located?

Santiago Canyon College is located in Orange, CA.

What is Santiago Canyon College's tuition?

Santiago Canyon College tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $1,164 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $2,129 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does Santiago Canyon College cost?

Reported tuition is $1,164 and average net price is $2,129 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $22,086 annually.

What explains Santiago Canyon College's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($2,129), completion (47.6% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($44,956). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at Santiago Canyon College?

Santiago Canyon College reports undergraduate enrollment of about 20,364 students, Hispanic or Latino (59.1%), White (25.1%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend Santiago Canyon College?

About 53.8% of students at Santiago Canyon College are first-generation college students.

What do graduates of Santiago Canyon College earn?

Median earnings are $36,758 six years after entry and $44,956 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at Santiago Canyon College?

The 150%-time completion rate is 47.6% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do Santiago Canyon College students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $5,125.

Is Santiago Canyon College public or private?

Santiago Canyon College is a public institution located in Orange, CA.

Is Santiago Canyon College an HBCU?

No. Santiago Canyon College is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.

Is Santiago Canyon College a tribal college?

No. Santiago Canyon College is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.