Active Report Report ID: EDU-480000-2026

Hinton Barber and Beauty College

Vallejo, CA 94590

Avg. net price$21,612After aid
Graduation rate62.96%150% time
Enrollment50Total students

About Hinton Barber and Beauty College

Hinton Barber and Beauty College is a private for-profit trade school in Vallejo, California, enrolling about 50 students. Programs focus on certificates and workforce credentials that prepare students for skilled trades and technical careers. The published completion rate is about 62.96% at 150% of normal time. Student demographics in federal data include Hispanic or Latino (48.0%) and Black or African American (28.0%) among the largest enrollment groups.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Hinton Barber and Beauty College$21,6121
Private For-profit (national median)$16,637477
California (state median)$8,093$8,343287
Suburban (locale median)$13,135$18,048684
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

How expensive is Hinton Barber and Beauty College really?

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Evidence: average net price at Hinton Barber and Beauty College versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at Hinton Barber and Beauty College is $21,612.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $21,612 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $13,269 above the California median net price. Versus suburban campuses, net price runs $3,564 above the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

School guide

Hinton Barber and Beauty College: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Hinton Barber and Beauty College—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

High completion indicates students finish programs at scale; it does not alone measure instructional quality or labor-market fit.

Financial profile

Avg. net price

$21,612

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$22,097
$48,001–$75,000$17,221
$75,001–$110,000$23,566
$110,001+$23,566

Student outcomes

First-year retention81.8%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$16,306Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Is Hinton Barber and Beauty College a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Hinton Barber and Beauty College is a good school for those looking for high program completion rates.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Hinton Barber and Beauty College.

Campus

Location

Vallejo, CA

City / state

ZIP
94590
NCES locale
Suburb

Compared with Suburban campuses nationally, net price is 20% above the median for Suburban campuses ($18,048 median).

Control

Institution type

Private For-profit

Control

Region
Far West

Size

Enrollment

50

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
70
Full-time share
100%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$11,445

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
53.93%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$86,448Estimated 4-year total cost
$21,612Average annual net price (after aid)

Costs include tuition and fees. Room & board, books, and other expenses are additional where not shown.

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Hinton Barber and Beauty College.

Financial Aid by Income Level

53.93% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
39.33% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Hinton Barber and Beauty College was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Hinton Barber and Beauty College in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$10,234
2014$9,170
2015$9,287
2016$10,917
2017$12,696
2018$13,571
2019$12,247
2020$10,371
2021$12,926
2022$12,127
2023$15,550

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.

Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.

Test Scores

Test score data is not available for this institution.

Score distribution is not available for this institution.

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Hinton Barber and Beauty College reported total enrollment of about 50 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 68% male and 32% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes Hispanic or Latino (48.0%), Black or African American (28.0%), and White (16.0%). About 53.93% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 49.2% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

100.0% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Hinton Barber and Beauty College in 2024 is 50 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 70 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

81.8%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

48.0%Hispanic or Latino
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • Hispanic or Latino48.0%
  • Black or African American28.0%
  • White or Caucasian16.0%
  • Asian4.0%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander2.0%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown2.0%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.0%
  • Two or More Races0.0%
  • Non-Resident Alien0.0%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

7.41% 100% Completion Time

62.96% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 7.41% of students graduating from Hinton Barber and Beauty College completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Barbering/Barber: 87% male / 13% female
  • Cosmetology/Cosmetologist, General: 0% male / 100% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

20Hispanic or Latino
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • Hispanic or Latino20
  • Black or African American7
  • White or Caucasian3
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander2
  • Asian1
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0
  • Two or More Races0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

What do Hinton Barber and Beauty College graduates earn—and in which programs?

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Hinton Barber and Beauty College.

Evidence Median federal loan debt: $11,445. Average net price used in cost models: $21,612.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Return on Investment

$11,445Median student debt

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Hinton Barber and Beauty College.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 2 programs by IPEDS completions (3 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Hinton Barber and Beauty College.

Employment Outcomes

$16,306Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Hinton Barber and Beauty College graduates.

Institutional resources

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Hinton Barber and Beauty College—instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Instructional Resources

  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $1,489
    • California median 0.23× the median ($6,474)
    • Far West median 0.21× the median ($7,030)
    • U.S. median 0.20× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Scorecard instructional metrics where reported.

Hinton Barber and Beauty College at a glance

Institution snapshot

Hinton Barber and Beauty College

Vallejo, CA 94590 · Private For-profit · Far West

Hinton Barber and Beauty College is a private for-profit institution in Vallejo, CA.

Avg. net price$21,612
Enrollment50
Completion (150%)62.96%
Pell Grant share53.93%
First-generation49.2%
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Barbering/BarberCosmetology/Cosmetologist, General
Largest enrollment groups
Hispanic or Latino48.0%
Black or African American28.0%
White or Caucasian16.0%
Nearby

Schools near Hinton Barber and Beauty College

Other campuses in Vallejo, CA when available, plus nearby institutions in California.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade C) within California, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Hinton Barber and Beauty College located?

Hinton Barber and Beauty College is located in Vallejo, CA.

How much does Hinton Barber and Beauty College cost?

Reported tuition is N/A and average net price is $21,612 in the latest College Scorecard data.

What is the student body demographics at Hinton Barber and Beauty College?

Hinton Barber and Beauty College reports undergraduate enrollment of about 70 students, Hispanic or Latino (48.0%), Black or African American (28.0%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend Hinton Barber and Beauty College?

About 49.2% of students at Hinton Barber and Beauty College are first-generation college students.

What is the graduation rate at Hinton Barber and Beauty College?

The 150%-time completion rate is 63.0% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do Hinton Barber and Beauty College students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $11,445.

Is Hinton Barber and Beauty College public or private?

Hinton Barber and Beauty College is a private for-profit institution located in Vallejo, CA.

Is Hinton Barber and Beauty College an HBCU?

No. Hinton Barber and Beauty College is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.

Is Hinton Barber and Beauty College a tribal college?

No. Hinton Barber and Beauty College is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.

Is Hinton Barber and Beauty College a Hispanic-serving institution (HSI)?

By the common federal eligibility proxy used here (≥25% Hispanic enrollment in College Scorecard), yes—Hinton Barber and Beauty College reports 48.0% Hispanic enrollment share.

Is Hinton Barber and Beauty College religiously affiliated?

No religious affiliation is reported for Hinton Barber and Beauty College in IPEDS institutional characteristics.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.