Active Report Report ID: EDU-168883-2026

Bay de Noc Community College

Escanaba, MI 49829-2511

Tuition$5,712Published sticker
Avg. net price$11,949After aid
Graduation rate30.04%150% time
Median salary$35,09010yr post-entry
ROI634%10yr vs net cost

About Bay de Noc Community College

Bay de Noc Community College is a public community college in Escanaba, Michigan, enrolling about 1,223 students. The college offers associate degrees, career certificates, and transfer pathways to four-year universities. Typical net price after grant aid is about $11,949 for students who receive it, compared with published tuition near $5,712. Student demographics in federal data include White (83.7%) and Two or More Races (4.8%) among the largest enrollment groups.

Key findings

  • Bay de Noc Community College charges 4% above the national public median tuition ($5,712).
  • Versus the Michigan median, sticker tuition is about 0.4×.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 30.04%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $35,090.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at Bay de Noc Community College is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 634% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Bay de Noc Community College$5,712$11,9491
Public (national median)$5,5121,688
Michigan (state median)$15,221$7,36896
Town (locale median)$9,600$14,9711,517
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

How expensive is Bay de Noc Community College really?

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • Bay de Noc Community College charges 4% above the national public median tuition ($5,712).
  • Versus the Michigan median, sticker tuition is about 0.4×.
Published sticker

Bay de Noc Community College tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $5,712

Finding Bay de Noc Community College charges 4% above the national public median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $5,712. That is 4% above the national public median ($5,512). Versus the Michigan median ($15,221), sticker tuition is about 0.4×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 0.5×.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at Bay de Noc Community College versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at Bay de Noc Community College versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at Bay de Noc Community College is $11,949.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $11,949 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $4,581 above the Michigan median net price. Versus town campuses, net price runs $3,022 below the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway At Bay de Noc Community College, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.

School guide

Bay de Noc Community College: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Bay de Noc Community College—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

In-state tuition

$5,712

Out-of-state tuition

$10,528

Avg. net price

$11,949

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$9,204
$30,001–$48,000$10,730
$48,001–$75,000$11,632
$75,001–$110,000$16,405
$110,001+$16,533

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $22,848. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention59.4%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$33,829Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Is Bay de Noc Community College a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Bay de Noc Community College is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Bay de Noc Community College.

Campus

Location

Escanaba, MI

City / state

ZIP
49829-2511
NCES locale
Town remote

Compared with Town campuses nationally, net price is 20% below the median for Town campuses ($14,971 median).

Control

Institution type

Public

Control

Region
Great Lakes
Carnegie
Associate's Colleges: Mixed Transfer/Vocational & Technical-Mixed Traditional/Nontraditional

Size

Enrollment

1,223

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
2,655
Full-time share
46%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$12,618

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
24.20%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$47,796Estimated 4-year total cost
$11,949Average annual net price (after aid)
$22,8484-year in-state tuition
$42,1124-year out-of-state tuition
$10,354Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$2,670Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$18,736Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$74,944Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Bay de Noc Community College.

Financial Aid by Income Level

24.20% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
18.11% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Bay de Noc Community College was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Bay de Noc Community College in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$4,243$11,218$7,697
2014$4,367$11,683$6,810
2015$4,460$12,303$6,973
2016$4,548$12,318$7,652
2017$4,638$8,958$5,867
2018$4,788$9,258$8,886
2019$5,010$9,630$8,506
2020$5,250$10,050$7,627
2021$5,400$10,380$8,471
2022$5,580$10,740$9,849
2023$5,910$11,280$9,766

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.

Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.

Test Scores

Test score data is not available for this institution.

Score distribution is not available for this institution.

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Bay de Noc Community College reported total enrollment of about 1,223 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 35% male and 65% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (83.7%), Two or More Races (4.8%), and Hispanic or Latino (3.7%). About 24.20% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 43.9% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

45.9% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Bay de Noc Community College in 2024 is 1,223 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 2,655 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

59.4%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

83.7%White or Caucasian
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • White or Caucasian83.7%
  • Two or More Races4.8%
  • Hispanic or Latino3.7%
  • Black or African American3.2%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native2.5%
  • Asian1.0%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown0.9%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.2%
  • Non-Resident Alien0.0%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

22.63% 100% Completion Time

30.04% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 22.63% of students graduating from Bay de Noc Community College completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal Studies: 36% male / 64% female
  • Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse: 10% male / 90% female
  • Business/Commerce, General: 48% male / 52% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

270White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian270
  • Two or More Races14
  • American Indian or Alaska Native9
  • Black or African American4
  • Hispanic or Latino4
  • Asian1
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

Bay de Noc Community College graduates earn a median of $35,090 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Bay de Noc Community College.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $35,090. Median federal loan debt: $12,618. Average net price used in cost models: $11,949.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway Bay de Noc Community College graduates report median earnings of $35,090 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

634%Modeled return on investment
$12,618Median student debt
$35,090Median annual earnings (10 years)
35.96%Debt-to-earnings ratio
3.6 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Bay de Noc Community College.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (31 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Electromechanical/Electromechanical Engineering Technology/Technician 16
  2. Computer/Computer Systems Technology/Technician 14

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Bay de Noc Community College.

Employment Outcomes

$35,090Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$33,829Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$35,407Median earnings (8 years after entry)
85.88%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Bay de Noc Community College graduates.

How financially powerful is this institution?

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Bay de Noc Community College—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Institutional endowment

$11.6M

End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023

Start of year: $11.1M

Year change: $495,008

  • Michigan median 0.38× the median ($30.9M)
  • Great Lakes median 0.36× the median ($31.8M)
  • U.S. median 0.44× the median ($26.4M)

Per FTE: $12,258

  • Michigan median 0.92× the median ($13,320)
  • Great Lakes median 0.73× the median ($16,690)
  • U.S. median near the median ($12,100)

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 100.0%
    • Michigan median 35.9 pp above median (64.1%)
    • Great Lakes median 41.9 pp above median (58.1%)
    • U.S. median 42.0 pp above median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $7,091
    • Michigan median 0.80× the median ($8,917)
    • Great Lakes median 0.88× the median ($8,046)
    • U.S. median 0.93× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $9,820
    • Michigan median 1.4× the median ($7,240)
    • Great Lakes median 1.3× the median ($7,690)
    • U.S. median 1.3× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Bay de Noc Community College at a glance

Institution snapshot

Bay de Noc Community College

Escanaba, MI 49829-2511 · Public · Great Lakes

Bay de Noc Community College is a public institution in Escanaba, MI, classified as Associate's Colleges: Mixed Transfer/Vocational & Technical-Mixed Traditional/Nontraditional.

Tuition$5,712
Avg. net price$11,949
Enrollment1,223
Completion (150%)30.04%
Pell Grant share24.20%
First-generation43.9%
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal StudiesRegistered Nursing/Registered NurseBusiness/Commerce, General
Largest enrollment groups
White or Caucasian83.7%
Two or More Races4.8%
Hispanic or Latino3.7%
Nearby

Schools near Bay de Noc Community College

Other campuses in Escanaba, MI when available, plus nearby institutions in Michigan.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade D) within Michigan, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Bay de Noc Community College located?

Bay de Noc Community College is located in Escanaba, MI.

What is Bay de Noc Community College's tuition?

Bay de Noc Community College tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $5,712 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $11,949 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does Bay de Noc Community College cost?

Reported tuition is $5,712 and average net price is $11,949 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $10,354 annually.

What explains Bay de Noc Community College's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($11,949), completion (30.0% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($35,090). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at Bay de Noc Community College?

Bay de Noc Community College reports undergraduate enrollment of about 2,655 students, White (83.7%), Two or More Races (4.8%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend Bay de Noc Community College?

About 43.9% of students at Bay de Noc Community College are first-generation college students.

What do graduates of Bay de Noc Community College earn?

Median earnings are $33,829 six years after entry and $35,090 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at Bay de Noc Community College?

The 150%-time completion rate is 30.0% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do Bay de Noc Community College students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $12,618.

Is Bay de Noc Community College public or private?

Bay de Noc Community College is a public institution located in Escanaba, MI.

Is Bay de Noc Community College an HBCU?

No. Bay de Noc Community College is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.

Is Bay de Noc Community College a tribal college?

No. Bay de Noc Community College is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.