Active Report Report ID: EDU-190099-2026

Colgate University

Hamilton, NY 13346-1398

Acceptance rate13.88%Highly competitive
Tuition$70,306Published sticker
Avg. net price$28,786After aid
Graduation rate91.17%150% time
Median salary$85,13910yr post-entry

About Colgate University

Colgate University is a selective private research university in Hamilton, New York, serving roughly 3,180 students. Admission is selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 13.88% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $85,139 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • Colgate University charges about 2.4× the national private non-profit median tuition ($70,306).
  • Versus the New York median, sticker tuition is about 5.1×.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 91.17%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $85,139.

Research findings

01

Finding

Average net price at Colgate University is about 59% below published tuition.

Published tuition is $70,306; average net price is $28,786 in the latest Scorecard extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: Institutional aid and grants compress sticker price into a substantially lower typical undergraduate cost signal.

Limitation: Average net price masks variation by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the campus average.

02

Finding

Modeled return on investment at Colgate University is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 639% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

03

Finding

Colgate University awards credentials across a wide program mix.

IPEDS completions cover more than 51 distinct degree programs at this campus.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: Institutional averages blend very different fields; program-level completions and earnings matter more than the campus mean alone.

Limitation: Completions counts are not enrollment demand and do not measure program quality.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Colgate University$70,306$28,7861
Private Non-profit (national median)$29,3251,444
New York (state median)$13,810$9,373272
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

Average net price is 59% below published tuition at Colgate University

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • Colgate University's average net price ($28,786) is 59% below published tuition ($70,306).
  • Colgate University charges about 2.4× the national private non-profit median tuition ($70,306).
  • Versus the New York median, sticker tuition is about 5.1×.
Published sticker

Colgate University tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $70,306

Finding Colgate University charges about 2.4× the national private non-profit median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $70,306. That is about 2.4× the national private non-profit median ($29,325). Versus the New York median ($13,810), sticker tuition is about 5.1×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 5.9×.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to private non-profit and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at Colgate University versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at Colgate University versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at Colgate University is $28,786.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $28,786 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $19,413 above the New York median net price.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway Colgate University’s published tuition substantially overstates typical undergraduate cost: average net price is about 59% lower after grants and scholarships.

School guide

Colgate University: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Colgate University—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

Completion, earnings, and net price together describe a campus where sticker price overstates typical undergraduate cost while outcomes remain at the high end of Scorecard distributions.

Financial profile

Annual tuition

$70,306

Avg. net price

$28,786

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$6,086
$30,001–$48,000$2,678
$48,001–$75,000$13,617
$75,001–$110,000$21,831
$110,001+$48,234

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $281,224. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention93.4%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$64,949Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Admissions landscape

  • Highly selective — fewer than 3 in 10 applicants are admitted.
  • Yield: 32% of admitted students enrolled.
  • Average SAT: 1508
  • Midpoint ACT: 33

See Admissions for the full funnel.

Is Colgate University a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Colgate University is a good school for those looking for strong completion and solid mid-career earnings—especially where average net price sits well below published tuition (about 59% lower in this extract).

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Strong completionEarnings outcomesNet price well below stickerHighly selective
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Colgate University.

Campus

Location

Hamilton, NY

City / state

ZIP
13346-1398

Control

Institution type

Private Non-profit

Control

Region
Mid East
Carnegie
Baccalaureate Colleges: Diverse Fields

Size

Enrollment

3,180

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
3,261
Graduate
18
Full-time share
100%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$15,000

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
12.52%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$115,144Estimated 4-year total cost
$28,786Average annual net price (after aid)
$281,2244-year tuition
$17,610Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$1,570Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$89,486Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$357,944Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Colgate University.

Financial Aid by Income Level

12.52% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
12.26% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Colgate University was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Colgate University in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$46,380$46,380$17,711
2014$48,175$48,175$23,146
2015$49,970$49,970$22,687
2016$51,955$51,955$23,947
2017$53,980$53,980$23,310
2018$55,870$55,870$26,041
2019$58,045$58,045$25,834
2020$60,015$60,015$27,775
2021$61,966$61,966$24,489
2022$64,290$64,290$24,052
2023$67,024$67,024$28,920

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

13.88%Acceptance rate
21,130Total applicants
2,526Students admitted
807First-time students enrolled
31.95%Yield (enrolled ÷ admitted)

This institution is highly selective, accepting fewer than 3 in 10 applicants.

Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.

Test Scores

1508SAT average
33ACT midpoint

Scores for enrollees who submitted tests (College Scorecard).

Academic Requirements

4.00Estimated median GPA
3.9–4.0Estimated GPA range

Estimated from admission selectivity and test scores. Scorecard does not publish admitted-student GPA for most institutions.

Estimated GPA band from selectivity and test scores — not an official requirement.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Colgate University reported total enrollment of about 3,180 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 43% male and 57% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (64.2%), Hispanic or Latino (9.6%), and Non-Resident Alien (8.1%). About 12.52% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 18.1% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

99.6% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Colgate University in 2024 is 3,180 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 3,261 students. Graduate enrollment is about 18 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

93.4%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

64.2%White or Caucasian
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • White or Caucasian64.2%
  • Hispanic or Latino9.6%
  • Non-Resident Alien8.1%
  • Two or More Races6.0%
  • Asian5.3%
  • Black or African American4.3%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown2.2%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.1%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.1%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

84.91% 100% Completion Time

91.17% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 84.91% of students graduating from Colgate University completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Econometrics and Quantitative Economics: 65% male / 35% female
  • Political Science and Government, General: 57% male / 43% female
  • Research and Experimental Psychology, Other: 26% male / 74% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

576White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian576
  • Hispanic or Latino81
  • Asian52
  • Two or More Races42
  • Black or African American41
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

Colgate University graduates earn a median of $85,139 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Colgate University.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $85,139. Median federal loan debt: $15,000. Average net price used in cost models: $28,786.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway Colgate University graduates report median earnings of $85,139 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

639%Modeled return on investment
$15,000Median student debt
$85,139Median annual earnings (10 years)
17.62%Debt-to-earnings ratio
1.8 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Colgate University.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (51 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Econometrics and Quantitative Economics 113
  2. Computer Science 45
  3. English Language and Literature, General 38

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Colgate University.

Employment Outcomes

$85,139Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$64,949Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$74,696Median earnings (8 years after entry)
60.94%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Colgate University graduates.

How financially powerful is this institution?

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Colgate University—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Institutional endowment

$1.20B

End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023

Start of year: $1.20B

Year change: $5.3M

  • New York median 32× the median ($38.1M)
  • Mid East median 28× the median ($42.6M)
  • U.S. median 46× the median ($26.4M)

Per FTE: $385,496

  • New York median 25× the median ($15,424)
  • Mid East median 23× the median ($16,427)
  • U.S. median 32× the median ($12,100)

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 93.1%
    • New York median 39.3 pp above median (53.8%)
    • Mid East median 36.2 pp above median (56.9%)
    • U.S. median 35.2 pp above median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $13,098
    • New York median 1.6× the median ($8,068)
    • Mid East median 1.6× the median ($8,119)
    • U.S. median 1.7× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $29,447
    • New York median 2.7× the median ($10,822)
    • Mid East median 3.2× the median ($9,164)
    • U.S. median 4.0× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Colgate University at a glance

Institution snapshot

Colgate University

Hamilton, NY 13346-1398 · Private Non-profit · Mid East

Colgate University is a private non-profit institution in Hamilton, NY, classified as Baccalaureate Colleges: Diverse Fields.

Tuition$70,306
Avg. net price$28,786
Enrollment3,180
Acceptance rate13.88%
Completion (150%)91.17%
Average SAT1508
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Econometrics and Quantitative EconomicsPolitical Science and Government, GeneralResearch and Experimental Psychology, Other
Largest enrollment groups
White or Caucasian64.2%
Hispanic or Latino9.6%
Non-Resident Alien8.1%
Nearby

Schools near Colgate University

Other campuses in Hamilton, NY when available, plus nearby institutions in New York.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade A) within New York, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Colgate University located?

Colgate University is located in Hamilton, NY.

What is Colgate University's acceptance rate?

The acceptance rate at Colgate University is 13.9% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 21,130 applicants and 2,526 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.

What is Colgate University's tuition?

Colgate University tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $70,306 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $28,786 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does Colgate University cost?

Reported tuition is $70,306 and average net price is $28,786 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $17,610 annually.

Why is Colgate University's net price so much lower than tuition?

At Colgate University, published tuition is $70,306 while average net price is $28,786—about 59% lower. Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid (College Scorecard). Institutional aid therefore compresses sticker price into a lower typical undergraduate cost signal. The campus average still masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average. EDsmart Data treats the sticker–net gap as an analytical finding, not advice about individual aid offers.

What explains Colgate University's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($28,786), completion (91.2% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($85,139). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

Why is Colgate University's acceptance rate so low?

The acceptance rate at Colgate University is 13.9% among first-time degree-seeking applicants reporting admissions data. Very low rates usually reflect extraordinary applicant volume relative to class size—not a single test-score cutoff. When IPEDS reports applicants and admits, those counts show how selective the funnel is. Acceptance rate describes competition for seats; it does not measure outcomes for enrolled students. Yield (share of admits who enroll) further clarifies demand among those offered admission when available.

What is the student body demographics at Colgate University?

Colgate University reports undergraduate enrollment of about 3,261 students, White (64.2%), Hispanic or Latino (9.6%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend Colgate University?

About 18.1% of students at Colgate University are first-generation college students.

What test scores do students need for Colgate University?

Among enrolled students who submitted scores, Colgate University reports midpoint SAT about 1508 and midpoint ACT about 33.

What do graduates of Colgate University earn?

Median earnings are $64,949 six years after entry and $85,139 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at Colgate University?

The 150%-time completion rate is 91.2% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.