Isothermal Community College
Spindale, NC 28160-0804
About Isothermal Community College
Isothermal Community College is a public community college in Spindale, North Carolina, enrolling about 1,169 students. The college offers associate degrees, career certificates, and transfer pathways to four-year universities. Typical net price after grant aid is about $10,758 for students who receive it, compared with published tuition near $2,030. Student demographics in federal data include White (70.7%) and Black or African American (11.0%) among the largest enrollment groups.
Key findings
- Isothermal Community College charges about 0.4× the national public median tuition ($2,030).
- Versus the North Carolina median, sticker tuition is about 0.3×.
- Completion within 150% of normal time is 55.49%.
- Median earnings 10 years after entry are $33,325.
Research findings
Finding
Modeled return on investment at Isothermal Community College is strong.
Estimated ROI reaches about 674% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.
Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.
Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.
Cost benchmarks
| Benchmark | Median Tuition | Median Net Price | Count |
|---|---|---|---|
| Isothermal Community College | $2,030 | $10,758 | 1 |
| Public (national median) | $5,512 | — | 1,688 |
| North Carolina (state median) | $6,906 | $6,820 | 133 |
| Town (locale median) | $9,600 | $14,971 | 1,517 |
| United States (national median) | $11,900 | $17,156 | — |
Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.
How expensive is Isothermal Community College really?
Key findings
- Isothermal Community College charges about 0.4× the national public median tuition ($2,030).
- Versus the North Carolina median, sticker tuition is about 0.3×.
Isothermal Community College tuition
Published undergraduate tuition $2,030
Finding Isothermal Community College charges about 0.4× the national public median tuition.
Evidence Published tuition is $2,030. That is about 0.4× the national public median ($5,512). Versus the North Carolina median ($6,906), sticker tuition is about 0.3×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 0.2×.
Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.
Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.
Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.
Evidence: published tuition at Isothermal Community College versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.
Evidence: average net price at Isothermal Community College versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.
What undergraduates typically pay
Finding Average net price at Isothermal Community College is $10,758.
Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $10,758 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $3,938 above the North Carolina median net price. Versus town campuses, net price runs $4,213 below the locale median.
Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.
Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.
Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.
Key takeaway At Isothermal Community College, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.
Isothermal Community College: research record
Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Isothermal Community College—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.
Research findings
Interpretation
The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.
Financial profile
In-state tuition
$2,030
Out-of-state tuition
$6,638
Avg. net price
$10,758
Net price by family income
| Income bracket | Avg. annual net price |
|---|---|
| $0–$30,000 | $10,108 |
| $30,001–$48,000 | $10,605 |
| $48,001–$75,000 | $11,592 |
| $75,001–$110,000 | $12,928 |
| $110,001+ | $14,687 |
Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $8,120. See cost investigation.
Student outcomes
Share of first-year students returning the following fall.
Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.
What Isothermal Community College is known for
Top program completions
- Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal Studies164
- Business Administration and Management, General164
- Information Technology86
- Welding Technology/Welder73
- Building/Construction Finishing, Management, and Inspection, Other69
See earnings & programs for more.
Is Isothermal Community College a good school?
Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.
Isothermal Community College is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.
EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.
More from the data
Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Isothermal Community College.
Campus
Location
Spindale, NC
City / state
- ZIP
- 28160-0804
- NCES locale
- Town distant
Compared with Town campuses nationally, net price is 28% below the median for Town campuses ($14,971 median).
Control
Institution type
Public
Control
- Region
- Southeast
- Carnegie
- Associate's Colleges: High Transfer-Mixed Traditional/Nontraditional
Size
Enrollment
1,169
Total enrollment
- Undergraduate
- 2,646
- Full-time share
- 46%
Student aid
Debt & aid
- Pell grant share
- 34.48%
Total Cost, Aid & Default
Total Cost of Attendance
Tuition vs average net price after aid for Isothermal Community College.
Financial Aid by Income Level
Financial aid distribution by income level.
Student Loan Default Rate
The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Isothermal Community College was 0.00%.
Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.
Tuition tracker
Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Isothermal Community College in that year.
Reporting years in the table below: 2013–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).
| Year | In-state tuition & fees | Out-of-state tuition & fees | Average net price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2013 | $2,342 | $8,486 | $6,301 |
| 2014 | $2,358 | $8,502 | $6,391 |
| 2015 | $2,358 | $8,502 | $4,698 |
| 2016 | $2,542 | $8,686 | $4,733 |
| 2017 | $2,542 | $8,686 | $7,861 |
| 2018 | $2,542 | $8,686 | $5,099 |
| 2019 | $1,934 | $6,542 | $4,837 |
| 2020 | $1,994 | $6,602 | $4,880 |
| 2021 | $1,994 | $6,602 | $5,924 |
| 2022 | $2,030 | $6,638 | $5,322 |
| 2023 | $2,030 | $6,638 | $6,723 |
Sticker tuition and net price over time
Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.
College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).
Net price by family income
Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).
Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.
How difficult is it to get in?
Acceptance Rate
Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.
Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.
Test Scores
Test score data is not available for this institution.
Score distribution is not available for this institution.
Academic Requirements
GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.
Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.
Enrollment & Student Demographics
Isothermal Community College reported total enrollment of about 1,169 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 33% male and 67% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (70.7%), Black or African American (11.0%), and Hispanic or Latino (9.3%). About 34.48% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 51.4% of students are first-generation college students.
Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment
46.2% Full-Time Enrollment
The total enrollment at Isothermal Community College in 2024 is 1,169 students.
Undergraduate enrollment is about 2,646 students.
Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.
Retention Rate over Time
71.1%
2024 Retention Rate
Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.
Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.
Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity
Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.
College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).
Do students complete their programs?
Time to Complete
39.02% 100% Completion Time
55.49% 150% Completion Time
In 2024, 39.02% of students graduating from Isothermal Community College completed their program within 100% "normal time".
Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.
Completions by Sex (Top Programs)
- Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal Studies: 36% male / 64% female
- Business Administration and Management, General: 37% male / 63% female
- Information Technology: 83% male / 17% female
IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).
Completions by Race & Ethnicity
Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.
Summed across program completion records in our extract.
Isothermal Community College graduates earn a median of $33,325 ten years after entry
Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Isothermal Community College.
Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $33,325. Average net price used in cost models: $10,758.
Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.
Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.
Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.
Key takeaway Isothermal Community College graduates report median earnings of $33,325 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.
Return on Investment
Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Isothermal Community College.
Top Programs by Completions
Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (41 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).
IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Isothermal Community College.
Employment Outcomes
Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Isothermal Community College graduates.
How financially powerful is this institution?
Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Isothermal Community College—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.
Institutional endowment
$15.4M
End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023
- North Carolina median 1.3× the median ($12M)
- Southeast median 0.79× the median ($19.4M)
- U.S. median 0.58× the median ($26.4M)
- North Carolina median 1.4× the median ($8,184)
- Southeast median 1.2× the median ($9,308)
- U.S. median near the median ($12,100)
Instructional Resources
- Full-time faculty share: 32.6%
- North Carolina median 16.5 pp below median (49.1%)
- Southeast median 26.8 pp below median (59.4%)
- U.S. median 25.4 pp below median (58.0%)
- Average faculty salary (monthly): $6,584
- North Carolina median near the median ($6,566)
- Southeast median near the median ($6,825)
- U.S. median 0.86× the median ($7,615)
- Instructional expenditure per FTE: $6,682
- North Carolina median 0.83× the median ($8,093)
- Southeast median near the median ($6,602)
- U.S. median 0.92× the median ($7,288)
Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.
Isothermal Community College at a glance
Isothermal Community College
Isothermal Community College is a public institution in Spindale, NC, classified as Associate's Colleges: High Transfer-Mixed Traditional/Nontraditional.
- Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
- Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal StudiesBusiness Administration and Management, GeneralInformation Technology
- Largest enrollment groups
- White or Caucasian70.7%Black or African American11.0%Hispanic or Latino9.3%
Schools near Isothermal Community College
Other campuses in Spindale, NC when available, plus nearby institutions in North Carolina.
Similar schools
Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade D) within North Carolina, then by similar ownership and admissions.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where is Isothermal Community College located?
Isothermal Community College is located in Spindale, NC.
What is Isothermal Community College's tuition?
Isothermal Community College tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $2,030 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $10,758 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.
How much does Isothermal Community College cost?
Reported tuition is $2,030 and average net price is $10,758 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $19,885 annually.
What explains Isothermal Community College's return on investment in EDsmart Data?
EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($10,758), completion (55.5% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($33,325). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.
What is the student body demographics at Isothermal Community College?
Isothermal Community College reports undergraduate enrollment of about 2,646 students, White (70.7%), Black or African American (11.0%) in federal College Scorecard data.
How many first-generation students attend Isothermal Community College?
About 51.4% of students at Isothermal Community College are first-generation college students.
What do graduates of Isothermal Community College earn?
Median earnings are $28,218 six years after entry and $33,325 ten years after entry.
What is the graduation rate at Isothermal Community College?
The 150%-time completion rate is 55.5% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.
Is Isothermal Community College public or private?
Isothermal Community College is a public institution located in Spindale, NC.
Is Isothermal Community College an HBCU?
No. Isothermal Community College is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.
Is Isothermal Community College a tribal college?
No. Isothermal Community College is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.
Is Isothermal Community College a Hispanic-serving institution (HSI)?
Using a 25% Hispanic enrollment threshold on College Scorecard demographics, Isothermal Community College does not meet that proxy (reported share 9.3%).
Data Sources
This page uses data from the following sources:
- College Scorecard - U.S. Department of Education
- Institutional characteristics, costs, completion rates, and earnings data
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)
- Employment and wage data by occupation
- Latest data: May 2024
- Source: bls.gov/oes
- O*NET Online - U.S. Department of Labor
- Occupational skills, knowledge, abilities, and work activities
- Database version: 28.0 (August 2023)
- Source: onetcenter.org
- IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) - National Center for Education Statistics
- Institutional data, completions, enrollment, and financial aid
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: nces.ed.gov/ipeds
- Census Bureau American Community Survey (ACS)
- Demographic and workforce data
- Latest data: 2023 ACS 5-Year Estimates
- Source: census.gov/acs
- Related geography & profiles
Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.
Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.
Methodology & Data Scope
This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.
Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.