Active Report Report ID: EDU-167987-2026

University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth

North Dartmouth, MA 02747-2300

Acceptance rate90.64%Broad access
Tuition$15,612Published sticker
Avg. net price$20,927After aid
Graduation rate52.07%150% time
Median salary$68,80410yr post-entry

About University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth

University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth is a public research university in North Dartmouth, Massachusetts, serving roughly 5,221 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 90.64% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $68,804 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth charges about 2.8× the national public median tuition ($15,612).
  • Versus the Massachusetts median, sticker tuition is about 0.5×.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 52.07%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $68,804.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 722% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

02

Finding

University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth awards credentials across a wide program mix.

IPEDS completions cover more than 80 distinct degree programs at this campus.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: Institutional averages blend very different fields; program-level completions and earnings matter more than the campus mean alone.

Limitation: Completions counts are not enrollment demand and do not measure program quality.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth$15,612$20,9271
Public (national median)$5,5121,688
Massachusetts (state median)$34,256$12,24493
Rural (locale median)$14,160$18,7001,649
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

How expensive is University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth really?

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth charges about 2.8× the national public median tuition ($15,612).
  • Versus the Massachusetts median, sticker tuition is about 0.5×.
Published sticker

University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $15,612

Finding University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth charges about 2.8× the national public median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $15,612. That is about 2.8× the national public median ($5,512). Versus the Massachusetts median ($34,256), sticker tuition is about 0.5×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is 31% above.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth is $20,927.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $20,927 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $8,683 above the Massachusetts median net price. Versus rural campuses, net price runs $2,227 above the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway At University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.

School guide

University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

In-state tuition

$15,612

Out-of-state tuition

$32,567

Avg. net price

$20,927

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$15,976
$30,001–$48,000$16,042
$48,001–$75,000$17,530
$75,001–$110,000$22,273
$110,001+$28,147

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $62,448. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention63.6%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$51,475Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Admissions landscape

  • Broad access — most applicants are admitted.
  • Yield: 15% of admitted students enrolled.
  • Average SAT: 1182
  • Midpoint ACT: 23

See Admissions for the full funnel.

Is University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth.

Campus

Location

North Dartmouth, MA

City / state

ZIP
02747-2300
NCES locale
Rural distant

Compared with Rural campuses nationally, net price is 12% above the median for Rural campuses ($18,700 median).

Control

Institution type

Public

Control

Region
New England
Carnegie
Doctoral Universities: High Research Activity

Size

Enrollment

5,221

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
6,824
Graduate
2,237
Full-time share
88%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$25,000

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
37.02%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$83,708Estimated 4-year total cost
$20,927Average annual net price (after aid)
$62,4484-year in-state tuition
$130,2684-year out-of-state tuition
$18,566Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$1,400Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$35,578Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$142,312Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth.

Financial Aid by Income Level

37.02% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
64.33% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$11,681$24,156$17,092
2014$11,681$24,619$15,919
2015$12,588$26,173$16,517
2016$13,188$27,473$17,923
2017$13,571$28,285$18,899
2018$13,921$29,141$19,516
2019$14,358$30,103$18,503
2020$14,408$30,153$20,050
2021$14,408$30,153$20,910
2022$14,854$30,992$19,444
2023$15,208$31,750$20,605

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

90.64%Acceptance rate
9,794Total applicants
9,026Students admitted
1,376First-time students enrolled
15.24%Yield (enrolled ÷ admitted)

This institution has a moderate acceptance rate, accepting most qualified applicants.

Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.

Test Scores

1182SAT average
23ACT midpoint

Scores for enrollees who submitted tests (College Scorecard).

Academic Requirements

3.20Estimated median GPA
3.0–3.4Estimated GPA range

Estimated from admission selectivity and test scores. Scorecard does not publish admitted-student GPA for most institutions.

Estimated GPA band from selectivity and test scores — not an official requirement.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth reported total enrollment of about 5,221 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 48% male and 52% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (55.1%), Black or African American (18.5%), and Hispanic or Latino (13.8%). About 37.02% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 35.2% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

88.4% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth in 2024 is 5,221 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 6,824 students. Graduate enrollment is about 2,237 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

63.6%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

55.1%White or Caucasian
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • White or Caucasian55.1%
  • Black or African American18.5%
  • Hispanic or Latino13.8%
  • Two or More Races5.7%
  • Asian3.5%
  • Non-Resident Alien1.7%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown1.5%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.1%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.1%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

38.09% 100% Completion Time

52.07% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 38.09% of students graduating from University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Business Administration and Management, General: 59% male / 41% female
  • Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing, Other: 9% male / 91% female
  • Law: 49% male / 51% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

1,179White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian1,179
  • Black or African American191
  • Hispanic or Latino181
  • Two or More Races84
  • Asian74
  • American Indian or Alaska Native2
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth graduates earn a median of $68,804 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $68,804. Median federal loan debt: $25,000. Average net price used in cost models: $20,927.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth graduates report median earnings of $68,804 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

722%Modeled return on investment
$25,000Median student debt
$68,804Median annual earnings (10 years)
36.34%Debt-to-earnings ratio
3.6 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (80 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing, Other 149
  2. Law 111
  3. Accounting 103

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth.

Employment Outcomes

$68,804Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$51,475Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$59,968Median earnings (8 years after entry)
7.95%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth graduates.

How financially powerful is this institution?

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Institutional endowment

$102.7M

End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023

Start of year: $90.2M

Year change: $12.5M

  • Massachusetts median 1.7× the median ($62.1M)
  • New England median 2.4× the median ($42.9M)
  • U.S. median 3.9× the median ($26.4M)

Per FTE: $15,806

  • Massachusetts median 0.53× the median ($30,011)
  • New England median 0.68× the median ($23,268)
  • U.S. median 1.3× the median ($12,100)

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 67.9%
    • Massachusetts median 16.8 pp above median (51.1%)
    • New England median 14.7 pp above median (53.3%)
    • U.S. median 10.0 pp above median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $12,795
    • Massachusetts median 1.3× the median ($9,649)
    • New England median 1.4× the median ($9,262)
    • U.S. median 1.7× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $16,600
    • Massachusetts median 1.5× the median ($11,192)
    • New England median 1.6× the median ($10,182)
    • U.S. median 2.3× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth at a glance

Institution snapshot

University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth

North Dartmouth, MA 02747-2300 · Public · New England

University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth is a public institution in North Dartmouth, MA, classified as Doctoral Universities: High Research Activity.

Tuition$15,612
Avg. net price$20,927
Enrollment5,221
Acceptance rate90.64%
Completion (150%)52.07%
Average SAT1182
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Business Administration and Management, GeneralRegistered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing, OtherLaw
Largest enrollment groups
White or Caucasian55.1%
Black or African American18.5%
Hispanic or Latino13.8%
Opportunity College (2025)
Higher access & higher earnings · Browse OCU directory
Nearby

Schools near University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth

Other campuses in North Dartmouth, MA when available, plus nearby institutions in Massachusetts.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade C-) within Massachusetts, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth located?

University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth is located in North Dartmouth, MA.

What is University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth's acceptance rate?

The acceptance rate at University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth is 90.6% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 9,794 applicants and 9,026 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.

What is University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth's tuition?

University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $15,612 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $20,927 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth cost?

Reported tuition is $15,612 and average net price is $20,927 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $18,566 annually.

What explains University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($20,927), completion (52.1% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($68,804). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth?

University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth reports undergraduate enrollment of about 6,824 students, White (55.1%), Black or African American (18.5%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth?

About 35.2% of students at University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth are first-generation college students.

What test scores do students need for University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth?

Among enrolled students who submitted scores, University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth reports midpoint SAT about 1182 and midpoint ACT about 23.

What do graduates of University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth earn?

Median earnings are $51,475 six years after entry and $68,804 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth?

The 150%-time completion rate is 52.1% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $25,000.

Is University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth public or private?

University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth is a public institution located in North Dartmouth, MA.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.