Active Report Report ID: EDU-188049-2026

University of New Mexico-Valencia County Campus

Los Lunas, NM 87031-7633

Tuition$1,878Published sticker
Avg. net price$5,714After aid
Graduation rate21.31%150% time
Median salary$44,79210yr post-entry
ROI1,860%10yr vs net cost

About University of New Mexico-Valencia County Campus

University of New Mexico-Valencia County Campus is a public community college in Los Lunas, New Mexico, enrolling about 525 students. The college offers associate degrees, career certificates, and transfer pathways to four-year universities. Typical net price after grant aid is about $5,714 for students who receive it, compared with published tuition near $1,878. Student demographics in federal data include Hispanic or Latino (73.9%) and White (17.9%) among the largest enrollment groups.

Key findings

  • University of New Mexico-Valencia County Campus charges about 0.3× the national public median tuition ($1,878).
  • Versus the New Mexico median, sticker tuition is 18% below.
  • Average net price runs below the New Mexico median net price.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 21.31%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $44,792.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at University of New Mexico-Valencia County Campus is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 1860% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
University of New Mexico-Valencia County Campus$1,878$5,7141
Public (national median)$5,5121,688
New Mexico (state median)$2,289$5,90830
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

How expensive is University of New Mexico-Valencia County Campus really?

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • University of New Mexico-Valencia County Campus charges about 0.3× the national public median tuition ($1,878).
  • Versus the New Mexico median, sticker tuition is 18% below.
  • Average net price runs below the New Mexico median net price.
Published sticker

University of New Mexico-Valencia County Campus tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $1,878

Finding University of New Mexico-Valencia County Campus charges about 0.3× the national public median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $1,878. That is about 0.3× the national public median ($5,512). Versus the New Mexico median ($2,289), sticker tuition is 18% below. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 0.2×.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at University of New Mexico-Valencia County Campus versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at University of New Mexico-Valencia County Campus versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at University of New Mexico-Valencia County Campus is $5,714.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $5,714 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $194 below the New Mexico median net price.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway At University of New Mexico-Valencia County Campus, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.

School guide

University of New Mexico-Valencia County Campus: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for University of New Mexico-Valencia County Campus—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

In-state tuition

$1,878

Out-of-state tuition

$5,130

Avg. net price

$5,714

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$3,797
$30,001–$48,000$6,420
$48,001–$75,000$8,968
$75,001–$110,000$11,667

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $7,512. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention57.6%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$37,150Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Is University of New Mexico-Valencia County Campus a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

University of New Mexico-Valencia County Campus is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for University of New Mexico-Valencia County Campus.

Campus

Location

Los Lunas, NM

City / state

ZIP
87031-7633

Control

Institution type

Public

Control

Region
Southwest
Carnegie
Associate's Colleges: Mixed Transfer/Vocational & Technical-Mixed Traditional/Nontraditional

Size

Enrollment

525

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
4,012
Full-time share
43%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$18,450

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
23.13%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$22,856Estimated 4-year total cost
$5,714Average annual net price (after aid)
$7,5124-year in-state tuition
$20,5204-year out-of-state tuition
$12,000Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$1,660Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$15,538Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$62,152Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for University of New Mexico-Valencia County Campus.

Financial Aid by Income Level

23.13% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
4.63% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at University of New Mexico-Valencia County Campus was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for University of New Mexico-Valencia County Campus in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$1,561$4,182$5,623
2014$1,561$4,182$6,260
2015$1,758$4,602$5,971
2016$1,668$4,512$6,941
2017$1,758$5,130$6,886
2018$1,878$5,130$8,724
2019$1,878$5,136$8,151
2020$1,878$5,130$8,608
2021$1,878$5,130$8,867
2022$1,878$5,130$7,405
2023$1,878$5,130$9,014

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.

Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.

Test Scores

Test score data is not available for this institution.

Score distribution is not available for this institution.

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

University of New Mexico-Valencia County Campus reported total enrollment of about 525 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 33% male and 67% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes Hispanic or Latino (73.9%), White (17.9%), and American Indian or Alaska Native (4.0%). About 23.13% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 41.0% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

42.7% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at University of New Mexico-Valencia County Campus in 2024 is 525 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 4,012 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

57.6%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

73.9%Hispanic or Latino
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • Hispanic or Latino73.9%
  • White or Caucasian17.9%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native4.0%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown1.7%
  • Two or More Races1.5%
  • Black or African American0.4%
  • Non-Resident Alien0.4%
  • Asian0.2%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.0%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

16.39% 100% Completion Time

21.31% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 16.39% of students graduating from University of New Mexico-Valencia County Campus completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Nursing Assistant/Aide and Patient Care Assistant/Aide: 16% male / 84% female
  • Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal Studies: 24% male / 76% female
  • Physical Sciences, General: 27% male / 73% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

80Hispanic or Latino
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • Hispanic or Latino80
  • White or Caucasian23
  • American Indian or Alaska Native7
  • Two or More Races2
  • Black or African American1
  • Asian1
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

University of New Mexico-Valencia County Campus graduates earn a median of $44,792 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of University of New Mexico-Valencia County Campus.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $44,792. Median federal loan debt: $18,450. Average net price used in cost models: $5,714.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway University of New Mexico-Valencia County Campus graduates report median earnings of $44,792 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

1,860%Modeled return on investment
$18,450Median student debt
$44,792Median annual earnings (10 years)
41.19%Debt-to-earnings ratio
4.1 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for University of New Mexico-Valencia County Campus.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (19 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Physical Sciences, General 11
  2. 00.0300 4
  3. Computer/Computer Systems Technology/Technician 3

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at University of New Mexico-Valencia County Campus.

Employment Outcomes

$44,792Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$37,150Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$41,307Median earnings (8 years after entry)
83.67%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for University of New Mexico-Valencia County Campus graduates.

Institutional resources

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for University of New Mexico-Valencia County Campus—instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 44.4%
    • New Mexico median 7.0 pp below median (51.4%)
    • Southwest median 15.3 pp below median (59.7%)
    • U.S. median 13.5 pp below median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $7,221
    • New Mexico median near the median ($7,218)
    • Southwest median near the median ($7,078)
    • U.S. median 0.95× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $6,373
    • New Mexico median 0.64× the median ($9,936)
    • Southwest median 1.1× the median ($5,699)
    • U.S. median 0.87× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Scorecard instructional metrics where reported.

University of New Mexico-Valencia County Campus at a glance

Institution snapshot

University of New Mexico-Valencia County Campus

Los Lunas, NM 87031-7633 · Public · Southwest

University of New Mexico-Valencia County Campus is a public institution in Los Lunas, NM, classified as Associate's Colleges: Mixed Transfer/Vocational & Technical-Mixed Traditional/Nontraditional.

Tuition$1,878
Avg. net price$5,714
Enrollment525
Completion (150%)21.31%
Pell Grant share23.13%
First-generation41.0%
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Nursing Assistant/Aide and Patient Care Assistant/AideLiberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal StudiesPhysical Sciences, General
Largest enrollment groups
Hispanic or Latino73.9%
White or Caucasian17.9%
American Indian or Alaska Native4.0%
Nearby

Schools near University of New Mexico-Valencia County Campus

Other campuses in Los Lunas, NM when available, plus nearby institutions in New Mexico.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade D) within New Mexico, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is University of New Mexico-Valencia County Campus located?

University of New Mexico-Valencia County Campus is located in Los Lunas, NM.

What is University of New Mexico-Valencia County Campus's tuition?

University of New Mexico-Valencia County Campus tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $1,878 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $5,714 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does University of New Mexico-Valencia County Campus cost?

Reported tuition is $1,878 and average net price is $5,714 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $12,000 annually.

What explains University of New Mexico-Valencia County Campus's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($5,714), completion (21.3% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($44,792). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at University of New Mexico-Valencia County Campus?

University of New Mexico-Valencia County Campus reports undergraduate enrollment of about 4,012 students, Hispanic or Latino (73.9%), White (17.9%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend University of New Mexico-Valencia County Campus?

About 41.0% of students at University of New Mexico-Valencia County Campus are first-generation college students.

What do graduates of University of New Mexico-Valencia County Campus earn?

Median earnings are $37,150 six years after entry and $44,792 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at University of New Mexico-Valencia County Campus?

The 150%-time completion rate is 21.3% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do University of New Mexico-Valencia County Campus students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $18,450.

Is University of New Mexico-Valencia County Campus public or private?

University of New Mexico-Valencia County Campus is a public institution located in Los Lunas, NM.

Is University of New Mexico-Valencia County Campus an HBCU?

No. University of New Mexico-Valencia County Campus is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.

Is University of New Mexico-Valencia County Campus a tribal college?

No. University of New Mexico-Valencia County Campus is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.