Active Report Report ID: EDU-130314-2026

University of Saint Joseph

West Hartford, CT 06117

Acceptance rate78.59%Broad access
Tuition$47,278Published sticker
Avg. net price$27,989After aid
Graduation rate63.76%150% time
Median salary$59,90810yr post-entry

About University of Saint Joseph

University of Saint Joseph is a private research university in West Hartford, Connecticut, enrolling about 838 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 78.59% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $59,908 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • University of Saint Joseph charges 61% above the national private non-profit median tuition ($47,278).
  • Versus the Connecticut median, sticker tuition is about 2.2×.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 63.76%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $59,908.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at University of Saint Joseph is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 435% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
University of Saint Joseph$47,278$27,9891
Private Non-profit (national median)$29,3251,444
Connecticut (state median)$21,044$16,79833
Town (locale median)$9,600$14,9711,517
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

Average net price is 41% below published tuition at University of Saint Joseph

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • University of Saint Joseph's average net price ($27,989) is 41% below published tuition ($47,278).
  • University of Saint Joseph charges 61% above the national private non-profit median tuition ($47,278).
  • Versus the Connecticut median, sticker tuition is about 2.2×.
Published sticker

University of Saint Joseph tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $47,278

Finding University of Saint Joseph charges 61% above the national private non-profit median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $47,278. That is 61% above the national private non-profit median ($29,325). Versus the Connecticut median ($21,044), sticker tuition is about 2.2×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 4.0×.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to private non-profit and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at University of Saint Joseph versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at University of Saint Joseph versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at University of Saint Joseph is $27,989.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $27,989 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $11,191 above the Connecticut median net price. Versus town campuses, net price runs $13,018 above the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway University of Saint Joseph’s published tuition substantially overstates typical undergraduate cost: average net price is about 41% lower after grants and scholarships.

School guide

University of Saint Joseph: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for University of Saint Joseph—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

Annual tuition

$47,278

Avg. net price

$27,989

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$24,563
$30,001–$48,000$23,940
$48,001–$75,000$24,054
$75,001–$110,000$27,701
$110,001+$31,958

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $189,112. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention82.1%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$52,053Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Admissions landscape

  • Broad access — most applicants are admitted.
  • Yield: 12% of admitted students enrolled.
  • Average SAT: 950

See Admissions for the full funnel.

Is University of Saint Joseph a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

University of Saint Joseph is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for University of Saint Joseph.

Campus

Location

West Hartford, CT

City / state

ZIP
06117
NCES locale
Town

Compared with Town campuses nationally, net price is about 1.9× the median for Town campuses ($14,971 median).

Control

Institution type

Private Non-profit

Control

Region
New England
Carnegie
Master's Colleges and Universities: Medium Programs

Size

Enrollment

838

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
1,072
Graduate
959
Full-time share
97%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$27,000

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
32.65%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$111,956Estimated 4-year total cost
$27,989Average annual net price (after aid)
$189,1124-year tuition
$14,426Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$1,200Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$62,904Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$251,616Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for University of Saint Joseph.

Financial Aid by Income Level

32.65% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
70.65% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at University of Saint Joseph was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for University of Saint Joseph in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$33,417$33,417$24,868
2014$34,755$34,755$24,792
2015$36,200$36,200$23,483
2016$36,870$36,870$29,655
2017$38,033$38,033$25,589
2018$38,173$38,173$25,508
2019$40,286$40,286$21,416
2020$41,736$41,736$24,569
2021$43,084$43,084$25,776
2022$44,366$44,366$25,127
2023$45,908$45,908$27,375

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

78.59%Acceptance rate
1,778Total applicants
1,416Students admitted
173First-time students enrolled
12.22%Yield (enrolled ÷ admitted)

This institution has a moderate acceptance rate, accepting most qualified applicants.

Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.

Test Scores

950SAT average

Scores for enrollees who submitted tests (College Scorecard).

Academic Requirements

3.20Estimated median GPA
3.0–3.4Estimated GPA range

Estimated from admission selectivity and test scores. Scorecard does not publish admitted-student GPA for most institutions.

Estimated GPA band from selectivity and test scores — not an official requirement.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

University of Saint Joseph reported total enrollment of about 838 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 31% male and 69% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (59.3%), Hispanic or Latino (18.5%), and Black or African American (10.5%). About 32.65% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 42.2% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

96.9% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at University of Saint Joseph in 2024 is 838 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 1,072 students. Graduate enrollment is about 959 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

82.1%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

59.3%White or Caucasian
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • White or Caucasian59.3%
  • Hispanic or Latino18.5%
  • Black or African American10.5%
  • Asian6.2%
  • Two or More Races2.4%
  • Non-Resident Alien1.6%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown1.2%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.2%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.1%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

50.46% 100% Completion Time

63.76% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 50.46% of students graduating from University of Saint Joseph completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse: 8% male / 92% female
  • Social Work: 10% male / 90% female
  • Special Education and Teaching, General: 18% male / 82% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

478White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian478
  • Black or African American84
  • Hispanic or Latino81
  • Asian35
  • Two or More Races11
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

University of Saint Joseph graduates earn a median of $59,908 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of University of Saint Joseph.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $59,908. Median federal loan debt: $27,000. Average net price used in cost models: $27,989.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway University of Saint Joseph graduates report median earnings of $59,908 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

435%Modeled return on investment
$27,000Median student debt
$59,908Median annual earnings (10 years)
45.07%Debt-to-earnings ratio
4.5 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for University of Saint Joseph.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (49 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Social Work 62
  2. Pharmacy 35
  3. Health Professions and Related Programs 23

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at University of Saint Joseph.

Employment Outcomes

$59,908Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$52,053Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$60,622Median earnings (8 years after entry)
9.69%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for University of Saint Joseph graduates.

How financially powerful is this institution?

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for University of Saint Joseph—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Institutional endowment

$46M

End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023

Start of year: $40.4M

Year change: $5.5M

  • Connecticut median 0.81× the median ($56.9M)
  • New England median 1.1× the median ($42.9M)
  • U.S. median 1.7× the median ($26.4M)

Per FTE: $25,990

  • Connecticut median 1.1× the median ($23,500)
  • New England median 1.1× the median ($23,268)
  • U.S. median 2.1× the median ($12,100)

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 95.7%
    • Connecticut median 27.7 pp above median (68.0%)
    • New England median 42.5 pp above median (53.3%)
    • U.S. median 37.8 pp above median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $8,639
    • Connecticut median 0.78× the median ($11,112)
    • New England median 0.93× the median ($9,262)
    • U.S. median 1.1× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $14,562
    • Connecticut median 1.9× the median ($7,608)
    • New England median 1.4× the median ($10,182)
    • U.S. median 2.0× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

University of Saint Joseph at a glance

Institution snapshot

University of Saint Joseph

West Hartford, CT 06117 · Private Non-profit · New England

University of Saint Joseph is a private non-profit institution in West Hartford, CT, classified as Master's Colleges and Universities: Medium Programs.

Tuition$47,278
Avg. net price$27,989
Enrollment838
Acceptance rate78.59%
Completion (150%)63.76%
Average SAT950
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Registered Nursing/Registered NurseSocial WorkSpecial Education and Teaching, General
Largest enrollment groups
White or Caucasian59.3%
Hispanic or Latino18.5%
Black or African American10.5%
Opportunity College (2025)
Higher access & higher earnings · Browse OCU directory
Nearby

Schools near University of Saint Joseph

Other campuses in West Hartford, CT when available, plus nearby institutions in Connecticut.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade C) within Connecticut, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is University of Saint Joseph located?

University of Saint Joseph is located in West Hartford, CT.

What is University of Saint Joseph's acceptance rate?

The acceptance rate at University of Saint Joseph is 78.6% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 1,778 applicants and 1,416 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.

What is University of Saint Joseph's tuition?

University of Saint Joseph tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $47,278 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $27,989 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does University of Saint Joseph cost?

Reported tuition is $47,278 and average net price is $27,989 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $14,426 annually.

Why is University of Saint Joseph's net price so much lower than tuition?

At University of Saint Joseph, published tuition is $47,278 while average net price is $27,989—about 41% lower. Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid (College Scorecard). Institutional aid therefore compresses sticker price into a lower typical undergraduate cost signal. The campus average still masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average. EDsmart Data treats the sticker–net gap as an analytical finding, not advice about individual aid offers.

What explains University of Saint Joseph's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($27,989), completion (63.8% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($59,908). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at University of Saint Joseph?

University of Saint Joseph reports undergraduate enrollment of about 1,072 students, White (59.3%), Hispanic or Latino (18.5%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend University of Saint Joseph?

About 42.2% of students at University of Saint Joseph are first-generation college students.

What test scores do students need for University of Saint Joseph?

Among enrolled students who submitted scores, University of Saint Joseph reports midpoint SAT about 950.

What do graduates of University of Saint Joseph earn?

Median earnings are $52,053 six years after entry and $59,908 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at University of Saint Joseph?

The 150%-time completion rate is 63.8% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do University of Saint Joseph students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $27,000.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.