Wayland Baptist University
Plainview, TX 79072
About Wayland Baptist University
Wayland Baptist University is a private research university in Plainview, Texas, enrolling about 2,041 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 55.96% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $51,838 among students who received federal aid.
Key findings
- Wayland Baptist University charges 19% below the national private non-profit median tuition ($23,782).
- Versus the Texas median, sticker tuition is about 2.4×.
- Completion within 150% of normal time is 19.29%.
- Median earnings 10 years after entry are $51,838.
Research findings
Finding
Modeled return on investment at Wayland Baptist University is strong.
Estimated ROI reaches about 529% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.
Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.
Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.
Finding
Wayland Baptist University awards credentials across a wide program mix.
IPEDS completions cover more than 52 distinct degree programs at this campus.
Interpretation: Institutional averages blend very different fields; program-level completions and earnings matter more than the campus mean alone.
Limitation: Completions counts are not enrollment demand and do not measure program quality.
Cost benchmarks
| Benchmark | Median Tuition | Median Net Price | Count |
|---|---|---|---|
| Wayland Baptist University | $23,782 | $20,590 | 1 |
| Private Non-profit (national median) | $29,325 | — | 1,444 |
| Texas (state median) | $9,940 | $8,031 | 184 |
| Town (locale median) | $9,600 | $14,971 | 1,517 |
| United States (national median) | $11,900 | $17,156 | — |
Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.
Average net price is 13% below published tuition at Wayland Baptist University
Key findings
- Wayland Baptist University's average net price ($20,590) is 13% below published tuition ($23,782).
- Wayland Baptist University charges 19% below the national private non-profit median tuition ($23,782).
- Versus the Texas median, sticker tuition is about 2.4×.
Wayland Baptist University tuition
Published undergraduate tuition $23,782
Finding Wayland Baptist University charges 19% below the national private non-profit median tuition.
Evidence Published tuition is $23,782. That is 19% below the national private non-profit median ($29,325). Versus the Texas median ($9,940), sticker tuition is about 2.4×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 2.0×.
Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.
Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to private non-profit and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.
Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.
Evidence: published tuition at Wayland Baptist University versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.
Evidence: average net price at Wayland Baptist University versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.
What undergraduates typically pay
Finding Average net price at Wayland Baptist University is $20,590.
Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $20,590 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $12,559 above the Texas median net price. Versus town campuses, net price runs $5,619 above the locale median.
Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.
Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.
Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.
Key takeaway Wayland Baptist University’s published tuition substantially overstates typical undergraduate cost: average net price is about 13% lower after grants and scholarships.
Wayland Baptist University: research record
Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Wayland Baptist University—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.
Research findings
Interpretation
The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.
Financial profile
Annual tuition
$23,782
Avg. net price
$20,590
Net price by family income
| Income bracket | Avg. annual net price |
|---|---|
| $0–$30,000 | $20,070 |
| $30,001–$48,000 | $16,344 |
| $48,001–$75,000 | $19,949 |
| $75,001–$110,000 | $21,542 |
| $110,001+ | $25,435 |
Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $95,128. See cost investigation.
Student outcomes
Share of first-year students returning the following fall.
Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.
What Wayland Baptist University is known for
Top program completions
- Business Administration and Management, General270
- Criminal Justice/Law Enforcement Administration75
- Public Administration and Social Service72
- Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities, Other66
- Christian Studies34
See earnings & programs for more.
Admissions landscape
- Selective — about half of applicants (or fewer) are admitted.
- Yield: 27% of admitted students enrolled.
See Admissions for the full funnel.
Is Wayland Baptist University a good school?
Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.
Wayland Baptist University is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.
EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.
More from the data
Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Wayland Baptist University.
Campus
Location
Plainview, TX
City / state
- ZIP
- 79072
- NCES locale
- Town remote
Compared with Town campuses nationally, net price is 38% above the median for Town campuses ($14,971 median).
Control
Institution type
Private Non-profit
Control
- Region
- Southwest
- Carnegie
- Master's Colleges and Universities: Medium Programs
Size
Enrollment
2,041
Total enrollment
- Undergraduate
- 2,616
- Graduate
- 722
- Full-time share
- 70%
Student aid
Debt & aid
$23,106
Median federal loan debt
- Pell grant share
- 45.70%
Total Cost, Aid & Default
Total Cost of Attendance
Tuition vs average net price after aid for Wayland Baptist University.
Financial Aid by Income Level
Financial aid distribution by income level.
Student Loan Default Rate
The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Wayland Baptist University was 0.00%.
Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.
Tuition tracker
Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Wayland Baptist University in that year.
Reporting years in the table below: 2013–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).
| Year | In-state tuition & fees | Out-of-state tuition & fees | Average net price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2013 | $12,550 | $12,550 | $15,137 |
| 2014 | $12,960 | $12,960 | $16,452 |
| 2015 | $13,680 | $13,680 | $15,438 |
| 2016 | $15,060 | $15,060 | $15,294 |
| 2017 | $18,510 | $18,510 | $19,137 |
| 2018 | $20,070 | $20,070 | $21,855 |
| 2019 | $22,658 | $22,658 | $25,152 |
| 2020 | $21,304 | $21,304 | $23,430 |
| 2021 | $22,004 | $22,004 | $23,601 |
| 2022 | $22,368 | $22,368 | $23,065 |
| 2023 | $23,186 | $23,186 | $20,540 |
Sticker tuition and net price over time
Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.
College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).
Net price by family income
Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).
Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.
How difficult is it to get in?
Acceptance Rate
This institution is selective, accepting about half of all applicants.
Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.
Test Scores
Test score data is not available for this institution.
Score distribution is not available for this institution.
Academic Requirements
GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.
Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.
Enrollment & Student Demographics
Wayland Baptist University reported total enrollment of about 2,041 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 50% male and 50% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (28.7%), Hispanic or Latino (28.2%), and Black or African American (18.6%). About 45.70% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 45.5% of students are first-generation college students.
Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment
69.8% Full-Time Enrollment
The total enrollment at Wayland Baptist University in 2024 is 2,041 students.
Undergraduate enrollment is about 2,616 students. Graduate enrollment is about 722 students.
Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.
Retention Rate over Time
44.5%
2024 Retention Rate
Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.
Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.
Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity
Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.
College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).
Do students complete their programs?
Time to Complete
9.32% 100% Completion Time
19.29% 150% Completion Time
In 2024, 9.32% of students graduating from Wayland Baptist University completed their program within 100% "normal time".
Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.
Completions by Sex (Top Programs)
- Business Administration and Management, General: 47% male / 53% female
- Criminal Justice/Law Enforcement Administration: 47% male / 53% female
- Public Administration and Social Service: 22% male / 78% female
IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).
Completions by Race & Ethnicity
Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.
Summed across program completion records in our extract.
Wayland Baptist University graduates earn a median of $51,838 ten years after entry
Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Wayland Baptist University.
Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $51,838. Median federal loan debt: $23,106. Average net price used in cost models: $20,590.
Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.
Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.
Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.
Key takeaway Wayland Baptist University graduates report median earnings of $51,838 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.
Return on Investment
Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Wayland Baptist University.
Top Programs by Completions
Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (52 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).
IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Wayland Baptist University.
Employment Outcomes
Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Wayland Baptist University graduates.
How financially powerful is this institution?
Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Wayland Baptist University—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.
Institutional endowment
$114.6M
End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023
- Texas median 3.2× the median ($35.8M)
- Southwest median 4.9× the median ($23.2M)
- U.S. median 4.3× the median ($26.4M)
- Texas median 4.1× the median ($13,085)
- Southwest median 5.3× the median ($10,113)
- U.S. median 4.4× the median ($12,100)
Instructional Resources
- Full-time faculty share: 100.0%
- Texas median 39.9 pp above median (60.1%)
- Southwest median 40.3 pp above median (59.7%)
- U.S. median 42.0 pp above median (58.0%)
- Average faculty salary (monthly): $5,999
- Texas median 0.84× the median ($7,150)
- Southwest median 0.85× the median ($7,078)
- U.S. median 0.79× the median ($7,615)
- Instructional expenditure per FTE: $11,561
- Texas median 2.3× the median ($5,060)
- Southwest median 2.0× the median ($5,699)
- U.S. median 1.6× the median ($7,288)
Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.
Wayland Baptist University at a glance
Wayland Baptist University
Wayland Baptist University is a private non-profit institution in Plainview, TX, classified as Master's Colleges and Universities: Medium Programs.
- Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
- Business Administration and Management, GeneralCriminal Justice/Law Enforcement AdministrationPublic Administration and Social Service
- Largest enrollment groups
- White or Caucasian28.7%Hispanic or Latino28.2%Black or African American18.6%
Schools near Wayland Baptist University
Other campuses in Plainview, TX when available, plus nearby institutions in Texas.
Similar schools
Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade D) within Texas, then by similar ownership and admissions.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where is Wayland Baptist University located?
Wayland Baptist University is located in Plainview, TX.
What is Wayland Baptist University's acceptance rate?
The acceptance rate at Wayland Baptist University is 56.0% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 1,974 applicants and 1,067 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.
What is Wayland Baptist University's tuition?
Wayland Baptist University tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $23,782 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $20,590 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.
How much does Wayland Baptist University cost?
Reported tuition is $23,782 and average net price is $20,590 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $9,654 annually.
Why is Wayland Baptist University's net price so much lower than tuition?
At Wayland Baptist University, published tuition is $23,782 while average net price is $20,590—about 13% lower. Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid (College Scorecard). Institutional aid therefore compresses sticker price into a lower typical undergraduate cost signal. The campus average still masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average. EDsmart Data treats the sticker–net gap as an analytical finding, not advice about individual aid offers.
What explains Wayland Baptist University's return on investment in EDsmart Data?
EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($20,590), completion (19.3% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($51,838). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.
What is the student body demographics at Wayland Baptist University?
Wayland Baptist University reports undergraduate enrollment of about 2,616 students, White (28.7%), Hispanic or Latino (28.2%) in federal College Scorecard data.
How many first-generation students attend Wayland Baptist University?
About 45.5% of students at Wayland Baptist University are first-generation college students.
What do graduates of Wayland Baptist University earn?
Median earnings are $44,159 six years after entry and $51,838 ten years after entry.
What is the graduation rate at Wayland Baptist University?
The 150%-time completion rate is 19.3% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.
How much debt do Wayland Baptist University students have?
Median federal loan debt among completers is $23,106.
Is Wayland Baptist University public or private?
Wayland Baptist University is a private nonprofit institution located in Plainview, TX.
Data Sources
This page uses data from the following sources:
- College Scorecard - U.S. Department of Education
- Institutional characteristics, costs, completion rates, and earnings data
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)
- Employment and wage data by occupation
- Latest data: May 2024
- Source: bls.gov/oes
- O*NET Online - U.S. Department of Labor
- Occupational skills, knowledge, abilities, and work activities
- Database version: 28.0 (August 2023)
- Source: onetcenter.org
- IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) - National Center for Education Statistics
- Institutional data, completions, enrollment, and financial aid
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: nces.ed.gov/ipeds
- Census Bureau American Community Survey (ACS)
- Demographic and workforce data
- Latest data: 2023 ACS 5-Year Estimates
- Source: census.gov/acs
- Related geography & profiles
Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.
Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.
Methodology & Data Scope
This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.
Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.