Active Report Report ID: EDU-490133-2026

Westcliff University

Irvine, CA 92614

Acceptance rate73.15%Broad access
Tuition$17,670Published sticker
Avg. net price$35,426After aid
Graduation rate62.20%150% time

About Westcliff University

Westcliff University is a private for-profit university in Irvine, California, enrolling about 2,363 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 73.15% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Student demographics in federal data include Race/ethnicity unknown (75.4%) and Non-Resident Alien (9.3%) among the largest enrollment groups.

Key findings

  • Westcliff University charges 6% above the national private for-profit median tuition ($17,670).
  • Versus the California median, sticker tuition is about 2.2×.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 62.20%.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Westcliff University$17,670$35,4261
Private For-profit (national median)$16,637477
California (state median)$8,093$8,343287
Urban (City) (locale median)$15,200$20,0531,346
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

How expensive is Westcliff University really?

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • Westcliff University charges 6% above the national private for-profit median tuition ($17,670).
  • Versus the California median, sticker tuition is about 2.2×.
Published sticker

Westcliff University tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $17,670

Finding Westcliff University charges 6% above the national private for-profit median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $17,670. That is 6% above the national private for-profit median ($16,637). Versus the California median ($8,093), sticker tuition is about 2.2×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is 48% above.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to private for-profit and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at Westcliff University versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at Westcliff University versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at Westcliff University is $35,426.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $35,426 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $27,083 above the California median net price. Versus urban (city) campuses, net price runs $15,373 above the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway At Westcliff University, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.

School guide

Westcliff University: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Westcliff University—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

High completion indicates students finish programs at scale; it does not alone measure instructional quality or labor-market fit.

Financial profile

Annual tuition

$17,670

Avg. net price

$35,426

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$24,253
$30,001–$48,000$33,829
$48,001–$75,000$35,913
$75,001–$110,000$36,031
$110,001+$40,799

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $70,680. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention71.6%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Admissions landscape

  • Broad access — most applicants are admitted.
  • Yield: 53% of admitted students enrolled.

See Admissions for the full funnel.

Is Westcliff University a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Westcliff University is a good school for those looking for high program completion rates.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Westcliff University.

Campus

Location

Irvine, CA

City / state

ZIP
92614
NCES locale
City

Compared with Urban (City) campuses nationally, net price is about 1.8× the median for Urban (City) campuses ($20,053 median).

Control

Institution type

Private For-profit

Control

Region
Far West
Carnegie
Tribal Colleges and Universities

Size

Enrollment

2,363

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
2,797
Graduate
5,323
Full-time share
68%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$23,750

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
5.99%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$141,704Estimated 4-year total cost
$35,426Average annual net price (after aid)
$70,6804-year tuition
$19,632Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$1,062Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$38,364Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$153,456Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Westcliff University.

Financial Aid by Income Level

5.99% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
6.09% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Westcliff University was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Westcliff University in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20172023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2017$7,020$7,020
2018$8,220$8,220$13,673
2019$8,700$8,700$19,907
2020$13,560$13,560$18,354
2021$16,593$16,593$25,243
2022$17,550$17,550$24,826
2023$21,000$21,000$26,455

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

73.15%Acceptance rate
1,458Total applicants
658Students admitted
352First-time students enrolled
53.50%Yield (enrolled ÷ admitted)

This institution has a moderate acceptance rate, accepting most qualified applicants.

Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.

Test Scores

Test score data is not available for this institution.

Score distribution is not available for this institution.

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Westcliff University reported total enrollment of about 2,363 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 63% male and 37% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes Race/ethnicity unknown (75.4%), Non-Resident Alien (9.3%), and White (5.4%). About 5.99% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

67.8% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Westcliff University in 2024 is 2,363 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 2,797 students. Graduate enrollment is about 5,323 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

71.6%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

75.4%Race/ethnicity unknown
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • Race/ethnicity unknown75.4%
  • Non-Resident Alien9.3%
  • White or Caucasian5.4%
  • Black or African American3.4%
  • Hispanic or Latino2.3%
  • Two or More Races2.2%
  • Asian1.4%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.4%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.2%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

33.01% 100% Completion Time

62.20% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 33.01% of students graduating from Westcliff University completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Business Administration and Management, General: 59% male / 41% female
  • Data Analytics, General: 41% male / 59% female
  • Information Technology Project Management: 68% male / 32% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

70White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian70
  • Hispanic or Latino44
  • Asian26
  • Two or More Races20
  • Black or African American14
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander3
  • American Indian or Alaska Native1

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

What do Westcliff University graduates earn—and in which programs?

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Westcliff University.

Evidence Median federal loan debt: $23,750. Average net price used in cost models: $35,426.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Return on Investment

$23,750Median student debt

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Westcliff University.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (25 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Law 76
  2. Engineering/Industrial Management 41

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Westcliff University.

Employment Outcomes

Employment outcome data is not available for this institution.

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Westcliff University graduates.

Institutional resources

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Westcliff University—instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 8.4%
    • California median 30.9 pp below median (39.3%)
    • Far West median 37.3 pp below median (45.7%)
    • U.S. median 49.5 pp below median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $7,591
    • California median 0.75× the median ($10,166)
    • Far West median 0.79× the median ($9,635)
    • U.S. median near the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $2,259
    • California median 0.35× the median ($6,474)
    • Far West median 0.32× the median ($7,030)
    • U.S. median 0.31× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Scorecard instructional metrics where reported.

Westcliff University at a glance

Institution snapshot

Westcliff University

Irvine, CA 92614 · Private For-profit · Far West

Westcliff University is a private for-profit institution in Irvine, CA, classified as Tribal Colleges and Universities.

Tuition$17,670
Avg. net price$35,426
Enrollment2,363
Acceptance rate73.15%
Completion (150%)62.20%
Pell Grant share5.99%
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Business Administration and Management, GeneralData Analytics, GeneralInformation Technology Project Management
Largest enrollment groups
Race/ethnicity unknown75.4%
Non-Resident Alien9.3%
White or Caucasian5.4%
Nearby

Schools near Westcliff University

Other campuses in Irvine, CA when available, plus nearby institutions in California.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade C-) within California, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Westcliff University located?

Westcliff University is located in Irvine, CA.

What is Westcliff University's acceptance rate?

The acceptance rate at Westcliff University is 73.2% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 1,458 applicants and 658 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.

What is Westcliff University's tuition?

Westcliff University tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $17,670 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $35,426 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does Westcliff University cost?

Reported tuition is $17,670 and average net price is $35,426 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $19,632 annually.

What is the student body demographics at Westcliff University?

Westcliff University reports undergraduate enrollment of about 2,797 students, Race/ethnicity unknown (75.4%), Non-Resident Alien (9.3%) in federal College Scorecard data.

What is the graduation rate at Westcliff University?

The 150%-time completion rate is 62.2% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do Westcliff University students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $23,750.

Is Westcliff University public or private?

Westcliff University is a private for-profit institution located in Irvine, CA.

Is Westcliff University an HBCU?

No. Westcliff University is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.

Is Westcliff University a tribal college?

No. Westcliff University is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.

Is Westcliff University a Hispanic-serving institution (HSI)?

Using a 25% Hispanic enrollment threshold on College Scorecard demographics, Westcliff University does not meet that proxy (reported share 2.3%).

Is Westcliff University religiously affiliated?

No religious affiliation is reported for Westcliff University in IPEDS institutional characteristics.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.