Active Report Report ID: EDU-110547-2026

California State University-Dominguez Hills

Carson, CA 90747-0005

Acceptance rate93.30%Broad access
Tuition$7,449Published sticker
Avg. net price$8,615After aid
Graduation rate42.79%150% time
Median salary$57,16210yr post-entry

About California State University-Dominguez Hills

California State University-Dominguez Hills is a public research university in Carson, California, with about 12,538 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 93.30% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $57,162 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • California State University-Dominguez Hills charges 35% above the national public median tuition ($7,449).
  • Versus the California median, sticker tuition is 8% below.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 42.79%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $57,162.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at California State University-Dominguez Hills is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 1559% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

02

Finding

California State University-Dominguez Hills awards credentials across a wide program mix.

IPEDS completions cover more than 64 distinct degree programs at this campus.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: Institutional averages blend very different fields; program-level completions and earnings matter more than the campus mean alone.

Limitation: Completions counts are not enrollment demand and do not measure program quality.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
California State University-Dominguez Hills$7,449$8,6151
Public (national median)$5,5121,688
California (state median)$8,093$8,343287
Town (locale median)$9,600$14,9711,517
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

How expensive is California State University-Dominguez Hills really?

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • California State University-Dominguez Hills charges 35% above the national public median tuition ($7,449).
  • Versus the California median, sticker tuition is 8% below.
Published sticker

California State University-Dominguez Hills tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $7,449

Finding California State University-Dominguez Hills charges 35% above the national public median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $7,449. That is 35% above the national public median ($5,512). Versus the California median ($8,093), sticker tuition is 8% below. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is 37% below.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at California State University-Dominguez Hills versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at California State University-Dominguez Hills versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at California State University-Dominguez Hills is $8,615.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $8,615 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $272 above the California median net price. Versus town campuses, net price runs $6,356 below the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway At California State University-Dominguez Hills, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.

School guide

California State University-Dominguez Hills: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for California State University-Dominguez Hills—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

In-state tuition

$7,449

Out-of-state tuition

$20,049

Avg. net price

$8,615

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$7,303
$30,001–$48,000$8,090
$48,001–$75,000$8,855
$75,001–$110,000$12,323
$110,001+$18,947

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $29,796. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention73.7%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$46,827Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Admissions landscape

  • Broad access — most applicants are admitted.
  • Yield: 10% of admitted students enrolled.

See Admissions for the full funnel.

Is California State University-Dominguez Hills a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

California State University-Dominguez Hills is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for California State University-Dominguez Hills.

Campus

Location

Carson, CA

City / state

ZIP
90747-0005
NCES locale
Town

Compared with Town campuses nationally, net price is about 0.6× the median for Town campuses ($14,971 median).

Control

Institution type

Public

Control

Region
Far West
Carnegie
Master's Colleges and Universities: Medium Programs

Size

Enrollment

12,538

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
14,126
Graduate
2,550
Full-time share
77%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$13,807

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
63.33%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$34,460Estimated 4-year total cost
$8,615Average annual net price (after aid)
$29,7964-year in-state tuition
$80,1964-year out-of-state tuition
$18,444Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$1,152Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$27,045Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$108,180Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for California State University-Dominguez Hills.

Financial Aid by Income Level

63.33% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
19.65% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at California State University-Dominguez Hills was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for California State University-Dominguez Hills in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$6,100$17,260$3,698
2014$6,139$17,299$2,416
2015$6,213$17,373$3,537
2016$6,423$17,583$3,221
2017$6,837$18,717$4,655
2018$6,942$18,822$3,891
2019$6,946$18,826$4,215
2020$6,941$18,821$4,026
2021$7,060$18,940$3,724
2022$7,060$18,940$4,058
2023$7,064$18,944$3,659

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

93.30%Acceptance rate
19,040Total applicants
17,388Students admitted
1,721First-time students enrolled
9.90%Yield (enrolled ÷ admitted)

This institution has a moderate acceptance rate, accepting most qualified applicants.

Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.

Test Scores

Test score data is not available for this institution.

Score distribution is not available for this institution.

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

California State University-Dominguez Hills reported total enrollment of about 12,538 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 40% male and 60% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes Hispanic or Latino (70.8%), Black or African American (12.6%), and Asian (6.9%). About 63.33% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 59.1% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

76.8% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at California State University-Dominguez Hills in 2024 is 12,538 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 14,126 students. Graduate enrollment is about 2,550 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

73.7%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

70.8%Hispanic or Latino
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • Hispanic or Latino70.8%
  • Black or African American12.6%
  • Asian6.9%
  • White or Caucasian4.0%
  • Two or More Races2.3%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown2.3%
  • Non-Resident Alien0.9%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.2%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.0%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

19.70% 100% Completion Time

42.79% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 19.70% of students graduating from California State University-Dominguez Hills completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Business Administration and Management, General: 52% male / 48% female
  • Psychology, General: 21% male / 79% female
  • Early Childhood Education & Teaching: 5% male / 95% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

2,464Hispanic or Latino
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • Hispanic or Latino2,464
  • Black or African American427
  • White or Caucasian367
  • Asian331
  • Two or More Races101
  • American Indian or Alaska Native7
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander2

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

California State University-Dominguez Hills graduates earn a median of $57,162 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of California State University-Dominguez Hills.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $57,162. Median federal loan debt: $13,807. Average net price used in cost models: $8,615.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway California State University-Dominguez Hills graduates report median earnings of $57,162 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

1,559%Modeled return on investment
$13,807Median student debt
$57,162Median annual earnings (10 years)
24.15%Debt-to-earnings ratio
2.4 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for California State University-Dominguez Hills.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (64 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Early Childhood Education & Teaching 228
  2. Computer Science 152

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at California State University-Dominguez Hills.

Employment Outcomes

$57,162Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$46,827Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$53,788Median earnings (8 years after entry)
90.80%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for California State University-Dominguez Hills graduates.

How financially powerful is this institution?

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for California State University-Dominguez Hills—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Institutional endowment

$24.2M

End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023

Start of year: $22.5M

Year change: $1.7M

  • California median 1.2× the median ($19.7M)
  • Far West median 1.4× the median ($16.8M)
  • U.S. median 0.92× the median ($26.4M)

Per FTE: $1,845

  • California median 0.25× the median ($7,407)
  • Far West median 0.25× the median ($7,260)
  • U.S. median 0.15× the median ($12,100)

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 46.8%
    • California median 7.4 pp above median (39.3%)
    • Far West median 1.1 pp above median (45.7%)
    • U.S. median 11.2 pp below median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $11,789
    • California median 1.2× the median ($10,166)
    • Far West median 1.2× the median ($9,635)
    • U.S. median 1.5× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $9,329
    • California median 1.4× the median ($6,474)
    • Far West median 1.3× the median ($7,030)
    • U.S. median 1.3× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

California State University-Dominguez Hills at a glance

Institution snapshot

California State University-Dominguez Hills

Carson, CA 90747-0005 · Public · Far West

California State University-Dominguez Hills is a public institution in Carson, CA, classified as Master's Colleges and Universities: Medium Programs.

Tuition$7,449
Avg. net price$8,615
Enrollment12,538
Acceptance rate93.30%
Completion (150%)42.79%
Pell Grant share63.33%
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Business Administration and Management, GeneralPsychology, GeneralEarly Childhood Education & Teaching
Largest enrollment groups
Hispanic or Latino70.8%
Black or African American12.6%
Asian6.9%
Opportunity College (2025)
Higher access & higher earnings · Browse OCU directory
Nearby

Schools near California State University-Dominguez Hills

Other campuses in Carson, CA when available, plus nearby institutions in California.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade C-) within California, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is California State University-Dominguez Hills located?

California State University-Dominguez Hills is located in Carson, CA.

What is California State University-Dominguez Hills's acceptance rate?

The acceptance rate at California State University-Dominguez Hills is 93.3% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 19,040 applicants and 17,388 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.

What is California State University-Dominguez Hills's tuition?

California State University-Dominguez Hills tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $7,449 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $8,615 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does California State University-Dominguez Hills cost?

Reported tuition is $7,449 and average net price is $8,615 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $18,444 annually.

What explains California State University-Dominguez Hills's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($8,615), completion (42.8% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($57,162). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at California State University-Dominguez Hills?

California State University-Dominguez Hills reports undergraduate enrollment of about 14,126 students, Hispanic or Latino (70.8%), Black or African American (12.6%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend California State University-Dominguez Hills?

About 59.1% of students at California State University-Dominguez Hills are first-generation college students.

What do graduates of California State University-Dominguez Hills earn?

Median earnings are $46,827 six years after entry and $57,162 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at California State University-Dominguez Hills?

The 150%-time completion rate is 42.8% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do California State University-Dominguez Hills students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $13,807.

Is California State University-Dominguez Hills public or private?

California State University-Dominguez Hills is a public institution located in Carson, CA.

Is California State University-Dominguez Hills an HBCU?

No. California State University-Dominguez Hills is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.