Active Report Report ID: EDU-130776-2026

Western Connecticut State University

Danbury, CT 06810-6826

Acceptance rate87.01%Broad access
Tuition$13,401Published sticker
Avg. net price$17,604After aid
Graduation rate51.76%150% time
Median salary$59,11510yr post-entry

About Western Connecticut State University

Western Connecticut State University is a public research university in Danbury, Connecticut, serving roughly 3,511 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 87.01% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $59,115 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • Western Connecticut State University charges about 2.4× the national public median tuition ($13,401).
  • Versus the Connecticut median, sticker tuition is 36% below.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 51.76%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $59,115.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at Western Connecticut State University is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 740% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

02

Finding

Western Connecticut State University awards credentials across a wide program mix.

IPEDS completions cover more than 53 distinct degree programs at this campus.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: Institutional averages blend very different fields; program-level completions and earnings matter more than the campus mean alone.

Limitation: Completions counts are not enrollment demand and do not measure program quality.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Western Connecticut State University$13,401$17,6041
Public (national median)$5,5121,688
Connecticut (state median)$21,044$16,79833
Town (locale median)$9,600$14,9711,517
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

How expensive is Western Connecticut State University really?

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • Western Connecticut State University charges about 2.4× the national public median tuition ($13,401).
  • Versus the Connecticut median, sticker tuition is 36% below.
Published sticker

Western Connecticut State University tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $13,401

Finding Western Connecticut State University charges about 2.4× the national public median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $13,401. That is about 2.4× the national public median ($5,512). Versus the Connecticut median ($21,044), sticker tuition is 36% below. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is 13% above.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at Western Connecticut State University versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at Western Connecticut State University versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at Western Connecticut State University is $17,604.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $17,604 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $806 above the Connecticut median net price. Versus town campuses, net price runs $2,633 above the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway At Western Connecticut State University, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.

School guide

Western Connecticut State University: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Western Connecticut State University—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

In-state tuition

$13,401

Out-of-state tuition

$16,901

Avg. net price

$17,604

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$13,507
$30,001–$48,000$13,716
$48,001–$75,000$16,697
$75,001–$110,000$18,737
$110,001+$21,318

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $53,604. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention73.2%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$45,997Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Admissions landscape

  • Broad access — most applicants are admitted.
  • Yield: 16% of admitted students enrolled.
  • Average SAT: 1110

See Admissions for the full funnel.

Is Western Connecticut State University a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Western Connecticut State University is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Western Connecticut State University.

Campus

Location

Danbury, CT

City / state

ZIP
06810-6826
NCES locale
Town

Compared with Town campuses nationally, net price is 18% above the median for Town campuses ($14,971 median).

Control

Institution type

Public

Control

Region
New England
Carnegie
Master's Colleges and Universities: Small Programs

Size

Enrollment

3,511

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
4,327
Graduate
602
Full-time share
91%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$24,147

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
35.15%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$70,416Estimated 4-year total cost
$17,604Average annual net price (after aid)
$53,6044-year in-state tuition
$67,6044-year out-of-state tuition
$15,659Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$1,200Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$30,260Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$121,040Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Western Connecticut State University.

Financial Aid by Income Level

35.15% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
48.59% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Western Connecticut State University was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Western Connecticut State University in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$8,893$20,398$15,864
2014$9,077$20,812$17,269
2015$9,516$21,786$17,564
2016$10,017$22,878$18,237
2017$10,418$23,107$18,012
2018$10,859$23,367$19,124
2019$11,344$24,304$18,215
2020$11,781$25,185$18,166
2021$11,781$25,185$16,154
2022$12,345$25,239$16,707
2023$12,763$16,095$18,617

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

87.01%Acceptance rate
5,457Total applicants
4,440Students admitted
711First-time students enrolled
16.01%Yield (enrolled ÷ admitted)

This institution has a moderate acceptance rate, accepting most qualified applicants.

Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.

Test Scores

1110SAT average

Scores for enrollees who submitted tests (College Scorecard).

Academic Requirements

3.20Estimated median GPA
3.0–3.4Estimated GPA range

Estimated from admission selectivity and test scores. Scorecard does not publish admitted-student GPA for most institutions.

Estimated GPA band from selectivity and test scores — not an official requirement.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Western Connecticut State University reported total enrollment of about 3,511 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 50% male and 50% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (47.4%), Hispanic or Latino (29.7%), and Black or African American (10.9%). About 35.15% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 38.0% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

90.6% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Western Connecticut State University in 2024 is 3,511 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 4,327 students. Graduate enrollment is about 602 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

73.2%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

47.4%White or Caucasian
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • White or Caucasian47.4%
  • Hispanic or Latino29.7%
  • Black or African American10.9%
  • Two or More Races5.7%
  • Asian4.3%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown0.8%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.6%
  • Non-Resident Alien0.6%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.0%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

32.80% 100% Completion Time

51.76% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 32.80% of students graduating from Western Connecticut State University completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Psychology, General: 28% male / 72% female
  • Criminal Justice/Police Science: 61% male / 39% female
  • Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse: 14% male / 86% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

547White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian547
  • Hispanic or Latino228
  • Black or African American67
  • Asian43
  • Two or More Races40
  • American Indian or Alaska Native10
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

Western Connecticut State University graduates earn a median of $59,115 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Western Connecticut State University.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $59,115. Median federal loan debt: $24,147. Average net price used in cost models: $17,604.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway Western Connecticut State University graduates report median earnings of $59,115 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

740%Modeled return on investment
$24,147Median student debt
$59,115Median annual earnings (10 years)
40.85%Debt-to-earnings ratio
4.1 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Western Connecticut State University.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (53 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Accounting 30

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Western Connecticut State University.

Employment Outcomes

$59,115Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$45,997Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$53,163Median earnings (8 years after entry)
14.33%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Western Connecticut State University graduates.

How financially powerful is this institution?

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Western Connecticut State University—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Institutional endowment

$25.1M

End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023

Start of year: $23.4M

Year change: $1.7M

  • Connecticut median 0.44× the median ($56.9M)
  • New England median 0.59× the median ($42.9M)
  • U.S. median near the median ($26.4M)

Per FTE: $6,788

  • Connecticut median 0.29× the median ($23,500)
  • New England median 0.29× the median ($23,268)
  • U.S. median 0.56× the median ($12,100)

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 100.0%
    • Connecticut median 32.0 pp above median (68.0%)
    • New England median 46.7 pp above median (53.3%)
    • U.S. median 42.0 pp above median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $11,406
    • Connecticut median near the median ($11,112)
    • New England median 1.2× the median ($9,262)
    • U.S. median 1.5× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $16,024
    • Connecticut median 2.1× the median ($7,608)
    • New England median 1.6× the median ($10,182)
    • U.S. median 2.2× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Western Connecticut State University at a glance

Institution snapshot

Western Connecticut State University

Danbury, CT 06810-6826 · Public · New England

Western Connecticut State University is a public institution in Danbury, CT, classified as Master's Colleges and Universities: Small Programs.

Tuition$13,401
Avg. net price$17,604
Enrollment3,511
Acceptance rate87.01%
Completion (150%)51.76%
Average SAT1110
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Psychology, GeneralCriminal Justice/Police ScienceRegistered Nursing/Registered Nurse
Largest enrollment groups
White or Caucasian47.4%
Hispanic or Latino29.7%
Black or African American10.9%
Nearby

Schools near Western Connecticut State University

Other campuses in Danbury, CT when available, plus nearby institutions in Connecticut.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade C-) within Connecticut, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Western Connecticut State University located?

Western Connecticut State University is located in Danbury, CT.

What is Western Connecticut State University's acceptance rate?

The acceptance rate at Western Connecticut State University is 87.0% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 5,457 applicants and 4,440 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.

What is Western Connecticut State University's tuition?

Western Connecticut State University tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $13,401 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $17,604 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does Western Connecticut State University cost?

Reported tuition is $13,401 and average net price is $17,604 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $15,659 annually.

What explains Western Connecticut State University's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($17,604), completion (51.8% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($59,115). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at Western Connecticut State University?

Western Connecticut State University reports undergraduate enrollment of about 4,327 students, White (47.4%), Hispanic or Latino (29.7%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend Western Connecticut State University?

About 38.0% of students at Western Connecticut State University are first-generation college students.

What test scores do students need for Western Connecticut State University?

Among enrolled students who submitted scores, Western Connecticut State University reports midpoint SAT about 1110.

What do graduates of Western Connecticut State University earn?

Median earnings are $45,997 six years after entry and $59,115 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at Western Connecticut State University?

The 150%-time completion rate is 51.8% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do Western Connecticut State University students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $24,147.

Is Western Connecticut State University public or private?

Western Connecticut State University is a public institution located in Danbury, CT.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.