Active Report Report ID: EDU-109907-2026

Barstow Community College

Barstow, CA 92311

Tuition$1,104Published sticker
Avg. net price$12,773After aid
Graduation rate38.78%150% time
Median salary$35,10410yr post-entry
ROI587%10yr vs net cost

About Barstow Community College

Barstow Community College is a public community college in Barstow, California, serving roughly 2,657 students. The college offers associate degrees, career certificates, and transfer pathways to four-year universities. Typical net price after grant aid is about $12,773 for students who receive it, compared with published tuition near $1,104. Student demographics in federal data include Hispanic or Latino (45.6%) and Black or African American (22.3%) among the largest enrollment groups.

Key findings

  • Barstow Community College charges about 0.2× the national public median tuition ($1,104).
  • Versus the California median, sticker tuition is about 0.1×.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 38.78%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $35,104.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at Barstow Community College is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 587% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Barstow Community College$1,104$12,7731
Public (national median)$5,5121,688
California (state median)$8,093$8,343287
Town (locale median)$9,600$14,9711,517
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

How expensive is Barstow Community College really?

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • Barstow Community College charges about 0.2× the national public median tuition ($1,104).
  • Versus the California median, sticker tuition is about 0.1×.
Published sticker

Barstow Community College tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $1,104

Finding Barstow Community College charges about 0.2× the national public median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $1,104. That is about 0.2× the national public median ($5,512). Versus the California median ($8,093), sticker tuition is about 0.1×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 0.1×.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at Barstow Community College versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at Barstow Community College versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at Barstow Community College is $12,773.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $12,773 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $4,430 above the California median net price. Versus town campuses, net price runs $2,198 below the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway At Barstow Community College, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.

School guide

Barstow Community College: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Barstow Community College—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

In-state tuition

$1,104

Out-of-state tuition

$9,744

Avg. net price

$12,773

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$12,239
$30,001–$48,000$11,957
$48,001–$75,000$14,229
$75,001–$110,000$17,963
$110,001+$20,351

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $4,416. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention67.3%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$30,462Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Is Barstow Community College a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Barstow Community College is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Barstow Community College.

Campus

Location

Barstow, CA

City / state

ZIP
92311
NCES locale
Town distant

Compared with Town campuses nationally, net price is 15% below the median for Town campuses ($14,971 median).

Control

Institution type

Public

Control

Region
Far West
Carnegie
Associate's Colleges: High Vocational & Technical-High Traditional

Size

Enrollment

2,657

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
4,635
Full-time share
47%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$3,500

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
49.25%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$51,092Estimated 4-year total cost
$12,773Average annual net price (after aid)
$4,4164-year in-state tuition
$38,9764-year out-of-state tuition
$22,086Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$1,062Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$24,252Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$97,008Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Barstow Community College.

Financial Aid by Income Level

49.25% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
12.31% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Barstow Community College was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Barstow Community College in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$1,104$5,400$9,214
2014$1,104$5,400$8,833
2015$1,104$5,400$7,425
2016$1,104$6,168$8,803
2017$1,104$6,720$7,923
2018$1,104$6,720$8,647
2019$1,104$7,464$9,518
2020$1,104$8,088$8,815
2021$1,104$8,952$9,250
2022$1,104$9,072$9,655
2023$1,104$9,936$12,347

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.

Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.

Test Scores

Test score data is not available for this institution.

Score distribution is not available for this institution.

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Barstow Community College reported total enrollment of about 2,657 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 36% male and 64% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes Hispanic or Latino (45.6%), Black or African American (22.3%), and White (19.6%). About 49.25% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 53.1% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

47.4% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Barstow Community College in 2024 is 2,657 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 4,635 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

67.3%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

45.6%Hispanic or Latino
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • Hispanic or Latino45.6%
  • Black or African American22.3%
  • White or Caucasian19.6%
  • Two or More Races7.2%
  • Asian2.4%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown1.6%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.6%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.6%
  • Non-Resident Alien0.1%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

23.47% 100% Completion Time

38.78% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 23.47% of students graduating from Barstow Community College completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Information Technology: 71% male / 29% female
  • Criminal Justice/Law Enforcement Administration: 29% male / 71% female
  • Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal Studies: 36% male / 64% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

409Hispanic or Latino
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • Hispanic or Latino409
  • White or Caucasian187
  • Black or African American144
  • Two or More Races71
  • Asian17
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander13
  • American Indian or Alaska Native9

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

Barstow Community College graduates earn a median of $35,104 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Barstow Community College.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $35,104. Median federal loan debt: $3,500. Average net price used in cost models: $12,773.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway Barstow Community College graduates report median earnings of $35,104 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

587%Modeled return on investment
$3,500Median student debt
$35,104Median annual earnings (10 years)
9.97%Debt-to-earnings ratio
1.0 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Barstow Community College.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (36 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Health Professions and Related Programs 51

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Barstow Community College.

Employment Outcomes

$35,104Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$30,462Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$31,793Median earnings (8 years after entry)
72.27%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Barstow Community College graduates.

How financially powerful is this institution?

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Barstow Community College—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Institutional endowment

$1M

End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023

Start of year: $919,514

Year change: $96,258

  • California median 0.05× the median ($19.7M)
  • Far West median 0.06× the median ($16.8M)
  • U.S. median 0.04× the median ($26.4M)

Per FTE: $477

  • California median 0.06× the median ($7,407)
  • Far West median 0.07× the median ($7,260)
  • U.S. median 0.04× the median ($12,100)

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 20.7%
    • California median 18.7 pp below median (39.3%)
    • Far West median 25.0 pp below median (45.7%)
    • U.S. median 37.3 pp below median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $11,382
    • California median 1.1× the median ($10,166)
    • Far West median 1.2× the median ($9,635)
    • U.S. median 1.5× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $4,716
    • California median 0.73× the median ($6,474)
    • Far West median 0.67× the median ($7,030)
    • U.S. median 0.65× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Barstow Community College at a glance

Institution snapshot

Barstow Community College

Barstow, CA 92311 · Public · Far West

Barstow Community College is a public institution in Barstow, CA, classified as Associate's Colleges: High Vocational & Technical-High Traditional.

Tuition$1,104
Avg. net price$12,773
Enrollment2,657
Completion (150%)38.78%
Pell Grant share49.25%
First-generation53.1%
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Information TechnologyCriminal Justice/Law Enforcement AdministrationLiberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal Studies
Largest enrollment groups
Hispanic or Latino45.6%
Black or African American22.3%
White or Caucasian19.6%
Nearby

Schools near Barstow Community College

Other campuses in Barstow, CA when available, plus nearby institutions in California.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade D) within California, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Barstow Community College located?

Barstow Community College is located in Barstow, CA.

What is Barstow Community College's tuition?

Barstow Community College tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $1,104 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $12,773 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does Barstow Community College cost?

Reported tuition is $1,104 and average net price is $12,773 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $22,086 annually.

What explains Barstow Community College's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($12,773), completion (38.8% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($35,104). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at Barstow Community College?

Barstow Community College reports undergraduate enrollment of about 4,635 students, Hispanic or Latino (45.6%), Black or African American (22.3%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend Barstow Community College?

About 53.1% of students at Barstow Community College are first-generation college students.

What do graduates of Barstow Community College earn?

Median earnings are $30,462 six years after entry and $35,104 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at Barstow Community College?

The 150%-time completion rate is 38.8% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do Barstow Community College students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $3,500.

Is Barstow Community College public or private?

Barstow Community College is a public institution located in Barstow, CA.

Is Barstow Community College an HBCU?

No. Barstow Community College is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.

Is Barstow Community College a tribal college?

No. Barstow Community College is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.