Eastern Kentucky University
Richmond, KY 40475-3102
About Eastern Kentucky University
Eastern Kentucky University is a public research university in Richmond, Kentucky, with about 12,318 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 77.61% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $45,795 among students who received federal aid.
Key findings
- Eastern Kentucky University charges about 1.9× the national public median tuition ($10,320).
- Versus the Kentucky median, sticker tuition is 11% below.
- Completion within 150% of normal time is 50.04%.
- Median earnings 10 years after entry are $45,795.
Research findings
Finding
Modeled return on investment at Eastern Kentucky University is strong.
Estimated ROI reaches about 937% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.
Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.
Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.
Finding
Eastern Kentucky University awards credentials across a wide program mix.
IPEDS completions cover more than 119 distinct degree programs at this campus.
Interpretation: Institutional averages blend very different fields; program-level completions and earnings matter more than the campus mean alone.
Limitation: Completions counts are not enrollment demand and do not measure program quality.
Cost benchmarks
| Benchmark | Median Tuition | Median Net Price | Count |
|---|---|---|---|
| Eastern Kentucky University | $10,320 | $11,040 | 1 |
| Public (national median) | $5,512 | — | 1,688 |
| Kentucky (state median) | $11,652 | $5,762 | 53 |
| Town (locale median) | $9,600 | $14,971 | 1,517 |
| United States (national median) | $11,900 | $17,156 | — |
Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.
How expensive is Eastern Kentucky University really?
Key findings
- Eastern Kentucky University charges about 1.9× the national public median tuition ($10,320).
- Versus the Kentucky median, sticker tuition is 11% below.
Eastern Kentucky University tuition
Published undergraduate tuition $10,320
Finding Eastern Kentucky University charges about 1.9× the national public median tuition.
Evidence Published tuition is $10,320. That is about 1.9× the national public median ($5,512). Versus the Kentucky median ($11,652), sticker tuition is 11% below. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is 13% below.
Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.
Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.
Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.
Evidence: published tuition at Eastern Kentucky University versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.
Evidence: average net price at Eastern Kentucky University versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.
What undergraduates typically pay
Finding Average net price at Eastern Kentucky University is $11,040.
Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $11,040 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $5,278 above the Kentucky median net price. Versus town campuses, net price runs $3,931 below the locale median.
Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.
Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.
Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.
Key takeaway At Eastern Kentucky University, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.
Eastern Kentucky University: research record
Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Eastern Kentucky University—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.
Research findings
Interpretation
The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.
Financial profile
In-state tuition
$10,320
Out-of-state tuition
$21,230
Avg. net price
$11,040
Net price by family income
| Income bracket | Avg. annual net price |
|---|---|
| $0–$30,000 | $8,591 |
| $30,001–$48,000 | $8,005 |
| $48,001–$75,000 | $10,382 |
| $75,001–$110,000 | $14,384 |
| $110,001+ | $17,009 |
Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $41,280. See cost investigation.
Student outcomes
Share of first-year students returning the following fall.
Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.
What Eastern Kentucky University is known for
Top program completions
- Psychology, General286
- Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse215
- General Studies184
- Criminal Justice/Law Enforcement Administration161
- Business/Commerce, General136
See earnings & programs for more.
Admissions landscape
- Broad access — most applicants are admitted.
- Yield: 21% of admitted students enrolled.
- Average SAT: 1149
- Midpoint ACT: 21
See Admissions for the full funnel.
Is Eastern Kentucky University a good school?
Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.
Eastern Kentucky University is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.
EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.
More from the data
Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Eastern Kentucky University.
Campus
Location
Richmond, KY
City / state
- ZIP
- 40475-3102
- NCES locale
- Town distant
Compared with Town campuses nationally, net price is 26% below the median for Town campuses ($14,971 median).
Control
Institution type
Public
Control
- Region
- Southeast
- Carnegie
- Doctoral/Professional Universities
Size
Enrollment
12,318
Total enrollment
- Undergraduate
- 15,457
- Graduate
- 2,225
- Full-time share
- 86%
Student aid
Debt & aid
$22,500
Median federal loan debt
- Pell grant share
- 41.10%
Total Cost, Aid & Default
Total Cost of Attendance
Tuition vs average net price after aid for Eastern Kentucky University.
Financial Aid by Income Level
Financial aid distribution by income level.
Student Loan Default Rate
The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Eastern Kentucky University was 0.00%.
Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.
Tuition tracker
Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Eastern Kentucky University in that year.
Reporting years in the table below: 2013–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).
| Year | In-state tuition & fees | Out-of-state tuition & fees | Average net price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2013 | $7,536 | $16,608 | $10,496 |
| 2014 | $7,920 | $17,448 | $10,686 |
| 2015 | $8,150 | $17,640 | $11,647 |
| 2016 | $8,868 | $18,180 | $11,150 |
| 2017 | $9,366 | $18,250 | $11,892 |
| 2018 | $9,666 | $19,444 | $13,845 |
| 2019 | $9,876 | $19,948 | $14,149 |
| 2020 | $9,876 | $19,948 | $13,763 |
| 2021 | $9,752 | $20,024 | $13,821 |
| 2022 | $9,844 | $20,222 | $10,158 |
| 2023 | $10,130 | $20,820 | $9,962 |
Sticker tuition and net price over time
Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.
College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).
Net price by family income
Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).
Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.
How difficult is it to get in?
Acceptance Rate
This institution has a moderate acceptance rate, accepting most qualified applicants.
Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.
Test Scores
Average 1149 (middle 50% not reported)
Midpoint 21 (middle 50% not reported)
Scores for enrollees who submitted tests (College Scorecard).
Academic Requirements
Estimated from admission selectivity and test scores. Scorecard does not publish admitted-student GPA for most institutions.
Estimated range · median 3.20
Estimated GPA band from selectivity and test scores — not an official requirement.
Enrollment & Student Demographics
Eastern Kentucky University reported total enrollment of about 12,318 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 40% male and 60% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (79.7%), Black or African American (6.9%), and Hispanic or Latino (5.6%). About 41.10% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 40.0% of students are first-generation college students.
Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment
85.9% Full-Time Enrollment
The total enrollment at Eastern Kentucky University in 2024 is 12,318 students.
Undergraduate enrollment is about 15,457 students. Graduate enrollment is about 2,225 students.
Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.
Retention Rate over Time
76.9%
2024 Retention Rate
Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.
Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.
Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity
Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.
College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).
Do students complete their programs?
Time to Complete
40.94% 100% Completion Time
50.04% 150% Completion Time
In 2024, 40.94% of students graduating from Eastern Kentucky University completed their program within 100% "normal time".
Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.
Completions by Sex (Top Programs)
- Psychology, General: 15% male / 85% female
- Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse: 18% male / 82% female
- General Studies: 40% male / 60% female
IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).
Completions by Race & Ethnicity
Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.
Summed across program completion records in our extract.
Eastern Kentucky University graduates earn a median of $45,795 ten years after entry
Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Eastern Kentucky University.
Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $45,795. Median federal loan debt: $22,500. Average net price used in cost models: $11,040.
Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.
Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.
Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.
Key takeaway Eastern Kentucky University graduates report median earnings of $45,795 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.
Return on Investment
Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Eastern Kentucky University.
Top Programs by Completions
Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (119 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).
IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Eastern Kentucky University.
Employment Outcomes
Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Eastern Kentucky University graduates.
How financially powerful is this institution?
Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Eastern Kentucky University—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.
Institutional endowment
$87.9M
End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023
- Kentucky median 2.0× the median ($43.7M)
- Southeast median 4.5× the median ($19.4M)
- U.S. median 3.3× the median ($26.4M)
- Kentucky median 0.28× the median ($26,161)
- Southeast median 0.80× the median ($9,308)
- U.S. median 0.61× the median ($12,100)
Instructional Resources
- Full-time faculty share: 56.0%
- Kentucky median 24.5 pp below median (80.4%)
- Southeast median 3.5 pp below median (59.4%)
- U.S. median 2.0 pp below median (58.0%)
- Average faculty salary (monthly): $7,826
- Kentucky median 1.3× the median ($6,182)
- Southeast median 1.1× the median ($6,825)
- U.S. median near the median ($7,615)
- Instructional expenditure per FTE: $9,026
- Kentucky median 1.6× the median ($5,808)
- Southeast median 1.4× the median ($6,602)
- U.S. median 1.2× the median ($7,288)
Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.
Eastern Kentucky University at a glance
Eastern Kentucky University
Eastern Kentucky University is a public institution in Richmond, KY, classified as Doctoral/Professional Universities.
- Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
- Psychology, GeneralRegistered Nursing/Registered NurseGeneral Studies
- Largest enrollment groups
- White or Caucasian79.7%Black or African American6.9%Hispanic or Latino5.6%
- Opportunity College (2025)
- Higher access & higher earnings · Browse OCU directory
Schools near Eastern Kentucky University
Other campuses in Richmond, KY when available, plus nearby institutions in Kentucky.
Similar schools
Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade C-) within Kentucky, then by similar ownership and admissions.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where is Eastern Kentucky University located?
Eastern Kentucky University is located in Richmond, KY.
What is Eastern Kentucky University's acceptance rate?
The acceptance rate at Eastern Kentucky University is 77.6% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 17,082 applicants and 13,340 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.
What is Eastern Kentucky University's tuition?
Eastern Kentucky University tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $10,320 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $11,040 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.
How much does Eastern Kentucky University cost?
Reported tuition is $10,320 and average net price is $11,040 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $12,268 annually.
What explains Eastern Kentucky University's return on investment in EDsmart Data?
EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($11,040), completion (50.0% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($45,795). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.
What is the student body demographics at Eastern Kentucky University?
Eastern Kentucky University reports undergraduate enrollment of about 15,457 students, White (79.7%), Black or African American (6.9%) in federal College Scorecard data.
How many first-generation students attend Eastern Kentucky University?
About 40.0% of students at Eastern Kentucky University are first-generation college students.
What test scores do students need for Eastern Kentucky University?
Among enrolled students who submitted scores, Eastern Kentucky University reports midpoint SAT about 1149 and midpoint ACT about 21.
What do graduates of Eastern Kentucky University earn?
Median earnings are $38,611 six years after entry and $45,795 ten years after entry.
What is the graduation rate at Eastern Kentucky University?
The 150%-time completion rate is 50.0% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.
How much debt do Eastern Kentucky University students have?
Median federal loan debt among completers is $22,500.
Is Eastern Kentucky University public or private?
Eastern Kentucky University is a public institution located in Richmond, KY.
Data Sources
This page uses data from the following sources:
- College Scorecard - U.S. Department of Education
- Institutional characteristics, costs, completion rates, and earnings data
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)
- Employment and wage data by occupation
- Latest data: May 2024
- Source: bls.gov/oes
- O*NET Online - U.S. Department of Labor
- Occupational skills, knowledge, abilities, and work activities
- Database version: 28.0 (August 2023)
- Source: onetcenter.org
- IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) - National Center for Education Statistics
- Institutional data, completions, enrollment, and financial aid
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: nces.ed.gov/ipeds
- Census Bureau American Community Survey (ACS)
- Demographic and workforce data
- Latest data: 2023 ACS 5-Year Estimates
- Source: census.gov/acs
- Related geography & profiles
Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.
Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.
Methodology & Data Scope
This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.
Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.