Active Report Report ID: EDU-198039-2026

Blue Ridge Community College

Flat Rock, NC 28731-4728

Tuition$2,660Published sticker
Avg. net price$5,756After aid
Graduation rate49.72%150% time
Median salary$36,32410yr post-entry
ROI1,478%10yr vs net cost

About Blue Ridge Community College

Blue Ridge Community College is a public community college in Flat Rock, North Carolina, enrolling about 1,758 students. The college offers associate degrees, career certificates, and transfer pathways to four-year universities. Typical net price after grant aid is about $5,756 for students who receive it, compared with published tuition near $2,660. Student demographics in federal data include White (69.8%) and Hispanic or Latino (17.6%) among the largest enrollment groups.

Key findings

  • Blue Ridge Community College charges about 0.5× the national public median tuition ($2,660).
  • Versus the North Carolina median, sticker tuition is about 0.4×.
  • Average net price runs below the North Carolina median net price.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 49.72%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $36,324.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at Blue Ridge Community College is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 1478% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Blue Ridge Community College$2,660$5,7561
Public (national median)$5,5121,688
North Carolina (state median)$6,906$6,820133
Rural (locale median)$14,160$18,7001,649
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

How expensive is Blue Ridge Community College really?

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • Blue Ridge Community College charges about 0.5× the national public median tuition ($2,660).
  • Versus the North Carolina median, sticker tuition is about 0.4×.
  • Average net price runs below the North Carolina median net price.
Published sticker

Blue Ridge Community College tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $2,660

Finding Blue Ridge Community College charges about 0.5× the national public median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $2,660. That is about 0.5× the national public median ($5,512). Versus the North Carolina median ($6,906), sticker tuition is about 0.4×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 0.2×.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at Blue Ridge Community College versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at Blue Ridge Community College versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at Blue Ridge Community College is $5,756.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $5,756 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $1,064 below the North Carolina median net price. Versus rural campuses, net price runs $12,944 below the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway At Blue Ridge Community College, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.

School guide

Blue Ridge Community College: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Blue Ridge Community College—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

In-state tuition

$2,660

Out-of-state tuition

$8,804

Avg. net price

$5,756

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$5,723
$30,001–$48,000$4,646
$48,001–$75,000$6,581
$75,001–$110,000$8,351

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $10,640. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention70.2%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$31,807Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Is Blue Ridge Community College a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Blue Ridge Community College is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Blue Ridge Community College.

Campus

Location

Flat Rock, NC

City / state

ZIP
28731-4728
NCES locale
Rural fringe

Compared with Rural campuses nationally, net price is about 0.3× the median for Rural campuses ($18,700 median).

Control

Institution type

Public

Control

Region
Southeast
Carnegie
Associate's Colleges: High Transfer-High Nontraditional

Size

Enrollment

1,758

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
4,000
Full-time share
27%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$12,000

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
35.05%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$23,024Estimated 4-year total cost
$5,756Average annual net price (after aid)
$10,6404-year in-state tuition
$35,2164-year out-of-state tuition
$9,826Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$2,450Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$14,936Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$59,744Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Blue Ridge Community College.

Financial Aid by Income Level

35.05% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
4.18% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Blue Ridge Community College was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Blue Ridge Community College in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$2,373$8,517$7,908
2014$2,389$8,533$8,477
2015$2,389$8,533$8,358
2016$2,601$8,745$8,288
2017$2,601$8,745$8,059
2018$2,601$8,745$7,059
2019$2,651$8,795$7,789
2020$2,651$8,795$6,878
2021$2,651$8,795$9,625
2022$2,648$8,792$6,849
2023$2,660$8,804$8,829

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.

Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.

Test Scores

Test score data is not available for this institution.

Score distribution is not available for this institution.

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Blue Ridge Community College reported total enrollment of about 1,758 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 36% male and 64% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (69.8%), Hispanic or Latino (17.6%), and Black or African American (4.8%). About 35.05% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 45.9% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

26.7% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Blue Ridge Community College in 2024 is 1,758 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 4,000 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

70.2%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

69.8%White or Caucasian
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • White or Caucasian69.8%
  • Hispanic or Latino17.6%
  • Black or African American4.8%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown4.1%
  • Asian1.9%
  • Non-Resident Alien1.1%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.7%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.0%
  • Two or More Races0.0%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

28.25% 100% Completion Time

49.72% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 28.25% of students graduating from Blue Ridge Community College completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal Studies: 35% male / 65% female
  • Business Administration and Management, General: 24% male / 76% female
  • Accounting and Finance: 18% male / 82% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

588White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian588
  • Hispanic or Latino96
  • Black or African American34
  • Asian8
  • American Indian or Alaska Native5
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0
  • Two or More Races0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

Blue Ridge Community College graduates earn a median of $36,324 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Blue Ridge Community College.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $36,324. Median federal loan debt: $12,000. Average net price used in cost models: $5,756.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway Blue Ridge Community College graduates report median earnings of $36,324 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

1,478%Modeled return on investment
$12,000Median student debt
$36,324Median annual earnings (10 years)
33.04%Debt-to-earnings ratio
3.3 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Blue Ridge Community College.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (38 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Sign Language Interpretation and Translation 30
  2. Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions, Other 23

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Blue Ridge Community College.

Employment Outcomes

$36,324Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$31,807Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$32,900Median earnings (8 years after entry)
81.49%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Blue Ridge Community College graduates.

How financially powerful is this institution?

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Blue Ridge Community College—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Institutional endowment

$16M

End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023

Start of year: $16.7M

Year change: -$660,625

  • North Carolina median 1.3× the median ($12M)
  • Southeast median 0.83× the median ($19.4M)
  • U.S. median 0.61× the median ($26.4M)

Per FTE: $7,342

  • North Carolina median 0.90× the median ($8,184)
  • Southeast median 0.79× the median ($9,308)
  • U.S. median 0.61× the median ($12,100)

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 30.4%
    • North Carolina median 18.6 pp below median (49.1%)
    • Southeast median 29.0 pp below median (59.4%)
    • U.S. median 27.5 pp below median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $6,420
    • North Carolina median near the median ($6,566)
    • Southeast median 0.94× the median ($6,825)
    • U.S. median 0.84× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $6,934
    • North Carolina median 0.86× the median ($8,093)
    • Southeast median 1.1× the median ($6,602)
    • U.S. median near the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Blue Ridge Community College at a glance

Institution snapshot

Blue Ridge Community College

Flat Rock, NC 28731-4728 · Public · Southeast

Blue Ridge Community College is a public institution in Flat Rock, NC, classified as Associate's Colleges: High Transfer-High Nontraditional.

Tuition$2,660
Avg. net price$5,756
Enrollment1,758
Completion (150%)49.72%
Pell Grant share35.05%
First-generation45.9%
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal StudiesBusiness Administration and Management, GeneralAccounting and Finance
Largest enrollment groups
White or Caucasian69.8%
Hispanic or Latino17.6%
Black or African American4.8%
Nearby

Schools near Blue Ridge Community College

Other campuses in Flat Rock, NC when available, plus nearby institutions in North Carolina.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade D) within North Carolina, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Blue Ridge Community College located?

Blue Ridge Community College is located in Flat Rock, NC.

What is Blue Ridge Community College's tuition?

Blue Ridge Community College tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $2,660 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $5,756 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does Blue Ridge Community College cost?

Reported tuition is $2,660 and average net price is $5,756 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $9,826 annually.

What explains Blue Ridge Community College's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($5,756), completion (49.7% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($36,324). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at Blue Ridge Community College?

Blue Ridge Community College reports undergraduate enrollment of about 4,000 students, White (69.8%), Hispanic or Latino (17.6%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend Blue Ridge Community College?

About 45.9% of students at Blue Ridge Community College are first-generation college students.

What do graduates of Blue Ridge Community College earn?

Median earnings are $31,807 six years after entry and $36,324 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at Blue Ridge Community College?

The 150%-time completion rate is 49.7% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do Blue Ridge Community College students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $12,000.

Is Blue Ridge Community College public or private?

Blue Ridge Community College is a public institution located in Flat Rock, NC.

Is Blue Ridge Community College an HBCU?

No. Blue Ridge Community College is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.

Is Blue Ridge Community College a tribal college?

No. Blue Ridge Community College is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.